Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 15 minutes ago, Jman888 said: for son I just go own ownday make one for $138, add another pair spare at 50% of the price, total still below $290 Maybe we went to the wrong Owndays outlet. The optometrist CMI, take wrong readings They had this 50% off the second pair that time but lucky I did not take it. Wife upon putting on the new glasses, said "why mong mong" one. They did another reading and found the one they prescribed was off the mark. Damn jialat! They buay paiseh and said "oh, we will redo a new pair for you but no more redo after this" "Hey! Your mistake leh, not my fault you know?" They "---------" ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 6 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Yes Oakley is good and cheap. I tried Tag Heuer before. Ex and doesn’t last. The frame broke in 1 year, never drop it or hit it. FUBAR and boycott! I thought oakleys the paint strips off fast? That's what I observed last time when a lot of people wear them in the late 2000s. Are they cheap? I never owned one. Just my impression. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 5 hours ago, Voodooman said: I like Linbberg titanium frame, very lasting. Oh I heard about this brand. Recommended by both optometrist plus those hwz guys. But out of my budget. My current pair is about 400-440 I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I thought oakleys the paint strips off fast? That's what I observed last time when a lot of people wear them in the late 2000s. Are they cheap? I never owned one. Just my impression. Hmmm, after a few years the paint does strip off but it’s ok. It’s $300+ for the Oakley frame that I have. The Tag Heuer is the whole temple arm broke off from the frame during my holiday trip...knn. Anyway, I need frame size of 54 - 18 and Oakley has it. I cannot wear Asian Fit. Edited April 20, 2021 by Fcw75 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 6 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Hmmm, after a few years the paint does strip off but it’s ok. It’s $300+ for the Oakley frame that I have. The Tag Heuer is the whole temple arm broke off from the frame during my holiday trip...knn. Anyway, I need frame size of 54 - 18 and Oakley has it. I cannot wear Asian Fit. Haha I dunno what's that. I only know I need long temple arm cos my ear is bit far back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Haha I dunno what's that. I only know I need long temple arm cos my ear is bit far back. Here bro: You will see the size printed on your frame. Mine is 54 18. 😁 Edited April 20, 2021 by Fcw75 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 6 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Here bro: Cool. Thanks I only remember temple length. Cos I minimum need 140. The others I leave it to the shop pple to recommend. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 Anyone with experience on the different brands zeiss, Hoya etc for progressive lens? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: Oh I heard about this brand. Recommended by both optometrist plus those hwz guys. But out of my budget. My current pair is about 400-440 I think. Typo. It should read as Lindberg. I think my current pair is $200-300 more than your current frame. If it is durable and comfortable, it is money well spent. I recommend to buy their ultralight titanium frame with no plastic parts, as there are no screws, rivets or welded parts and the coloring doesn't go away for years, it can really last a long long time. Disclaimer: I have no vested interest in Lindberg, just sharing good stuff. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 11 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Typo. It should read as Lindberg. I think my current pair is $200-300 more than your current frame. If it is durable and comfortable, it is money well spent. I recommend to buy their ultralight titanium frame with no plastic parts, as there are no screws, rivets or welded parts and the coloring doesn't go away for years, it can really last a long long time. Disclaimer: I have no vested interest in Lindberg, just sharing good stuff. Thanks. I never try before cos I find it out of budget when the optometrist recommend. Think I read its like 600-700 without lenses which is around what u mention? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 1 hour ago, Mkl22 said: Anyone with experience on the different brands zeiss, Hoya etc for progressive lens? On zeiss progressive now. First pair. Clear but need to retrain the brain to see near, intermediate and far. Peripheral vision is a little blur, same as what I had read as how progressive lenses behave. When I look at the side mirrors when driving, I have to turn my head more instead of relying on my peripheral vision. Previous pair was a pair KS called digital lens. Between normal lenses and progressive lenses. Googled but can't find anything on it. Also zeiss. That pair was much easier to get used to. Used for 4 years and still doing great. No scratches. Coating intact. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: I thought oakleys the paint strips off fast? That's what I observed last time when a lot of people wear them in the late 2000s. Are they cheap? I never owned one. Just my impression. The Oakley frames I tried this time round all below $250 before 20% discount. I don't recall seeing painted parts. Just saw parts with rubber grips which will disintegrate within 1 to 1.5 years if you sweat excessively in it. But can replace those rubber parts. My old pair of Oakley used for 3 to 4 years also did not have paint stripping off. Maybe because it is just black? Edited April 20, 2021 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 8 hours ago, Kangadrool said: Yup, get the Jap made titanium frame if longevity is important. Most MIJ frames are designed for Asian face also. I wear Seiko titanium frame with real glass lens, after 10 years also no problem. Glass heavy right? I never have spectacle frame sliding down complaints at all on me. In fact, I appreciate the heaviness especially when in the open with strong winds. I had my first titanium frame in early 90s and it was a Seiko frame. So damn light. Not sure if this brand is carried anymore in sg. From then on, all my frames are titanium except for the Oakley. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 4 hours ago, Count-Bracula said: Just came home from KS. Served by a lady with multi-coloured hair. Son made a spare pair of glasses as insisted by his mom. $290 for his and mine with Hoya premium lenses, $900. 😢 I was asking for their cheapest on the Hoya range but they advised against it. Collection is one week from now. YAY! AND they were quite curious how the coating on my Crizal deteriorated. Wah, and I thought my progressive lenses zeiss were expensive at $810. Almost fainted when they told me the price. How come your lenses even more ex? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 4 hours ago, Jman888 said: for son I just go own ownday make one for $138, add another pair spare at 50% of the price, total still below $290 If you have the prescription, look out for Lenskart online promo. Nothing beats them in prices during promo. $68 for 2 pairs for my son and myself. I would say quality similar to ownday, I chose TR90 frames since both of us are into sports, coz they are light and bendy, 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 28 minutes ago, Kxbc said: Wah, and I thought my progressive lenses zeiss were expensive at $810. Almost fainted when they told me the price. How come your lenses even more ex? No idea 🤔 They said something about my old Crizal lenses being from the premium range. So not advisable to get normal lenses as my eyes already conditioned to them. But I see that these Hoya lenses mid-range thia and already so ex. My eyeballs nearly drop to the counter and bounce off like ping pong balls when I saw the price list. 😢 💰 💸 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 10 minutes ago, Count-Bracula said: No idea 🤔 They said something about my old Crizal lenses being from the premium range. So not advisable to get normal lenses as my eyes already conditioned to them. But I see that these Hoya lenses mid-range thia and already so ex. My eyeballs nearly drop to the counter and bounce off like ping pong balls when I saw the price list. 😢 💰 💸 Sup sup water for u la. 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 20, 2021 Share April 20, 2021 I also opted against high index lenses but again advised to go for it. "Your lenses will be very thick you know?" "Yah but wallet will also be thick" HAHAHAHA 🤣🤣 We had a good laugh. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...