Recommendation for Spectacles

Atrecord

3 hours ago, serenade said:

Transitions turns dark very fast, but revert to light very slowly. The problem is when go into buildings from outside, not the other way around. See everything dark due to the double whammy of less light and the darkened lenses.

yup... i work outdoors often, tried once, gave up.

at construction job sites etc, getting partially blinded when going from the hot sun to a darkened or covered area was a risky thingy.

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

At risk of being high myopia >600 degrees eventually. Increased risk of glaucoma and retinal detachment associated. He's already 375/350 and he's primary one! 

Eye deg so high at pri 1 liao! It is a common eye problem happen to most small kids nowadays ah? Now i see many kids not even reach pri one already wearing specs?! [dizzy]

Got prescription from EYE. went to my  spectacle shop in yishun, wonderlens optical. 

Always good service from Mindy, the optometrist. 

She recommended this photochromic lens brand, Sunsensor by mitsui chemicals. 

My wife also got a new pair of glasses. Lol she has presbyopia already. 

On 8/17/2022 at 12:59 PM, Lala81 said:

Thanks. But his myopia jumped 200+ degree in one year.

So hence the concern and if he's on atropine drops, his pupils will be dilated all the time. So worried got uv damage to his retina. 

I would prefer transitions as his school is well lit and our lift lobby is also not dark etc. I do understand the issues with transitions. But our carpark at home and at school has outdoor light. So I think more suitable for him. 

Thanks for the recommendation. 

Have you considered magnetic clipped ons with dark polarised shades? 

When indoor just remove the (very dark) shades. I have them in my car. Very functional but not the best looking. Hard to find here but cheap cheap on TB.

On 8/17/2022 at 3:36 PM, 13177 said:

Eye deg so high at pri 1 liao! It is a common eye problem happen to most small kids nowadays ah? Now i see many kids not even reach pri one already wearing specs?! [dizzy]

Handphones, computers are the culprits. 

7 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Handphones, computers are the culprits. 

Digital screen time for my kids is in the lowest quartile compared to most families.

He does like to read more than his sister. 

10 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Have you considered magnetic clipped ons with dark polarised shades? 

When indoor just remove the (very dark) shades. I have them in my car. Very functional but not the best looking. Hard to find here but cheap cheap on TB.

Think the photochromic progressives so far working OK. He started on atropine drops last week. Initially he took them off probably cos he's not used and the atropine drops take time to work. Now this week, he can use them in school to read. 

Kids lah. This atropine drops is going to be for many years, maybe even until post NS. Best to have an automatic function. He's not going to be outdoors when it's super hot also. 

This sunsensor one is not as dark as transitions brand. The optometrist showed a comparison. 

My prescription sunglasses are 13 years old. The frame the screw is loose, so the lens can sometimes drop out. Tightening only solves the problem for one or two weeks. Very annoying when driving. 

Thinking might as well get a pair of glasses with clip ons. Since they are magnetic and look better than last time. 

Anyone tried lenskart? 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

My prescription sunglasses are 13 years old. The frame the screw is loose, so the lens can sometimes drop out. Tightening only solves the problem for one or two weeks. Very annoying when driving. 

Thinking might as well get a pair of glasses with clip ons. Since they are magnetic and look better than last time. 

Anyone tried lenskart? 

Ya, used lenskart for my latest glasses. Cheap and decent quality. I have their apps , they do have very good offer for their paid membership. Like 1 for 1. Got two pairs of glasses for my daughter at $48.

Mine was $68 for two pairs during promo.

1 minute ago, Ender said:

Ya, used lenskart for my latest glasses. Cheap and decent quality. I have their apps , they do have very good offer for their paid membership. Like 1 for 1. Got two pairs of glasses for my daughter at $48.

Mine was $68 for two pairs during promo.

Did u go the physical shops to try? 

11 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Did u go the physical shops to try? 

Only for eye check up to get the prescription numbers on the card. And also to measure the pd distance the two eyes.  The confusing part is getting the right size frame for your face. I guess it's better to try at the physical shop.  

I used lenskart for the current pairs, member got 1 for 1 only for frame. Me and wife did the progressive lens which came out around $1k for 2 pairs.

The frame not branded but super light and couple with the thin lens (the thinnest i have made for all my spec) I can't feel anything on my face.

The price a bit steep if not for the lens, my last pairs was Oakley cost about $500+ but given the light weight I think still ok.

Service was not as good as ownday.

23 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

I used lenskart for the current pairs, member got 1 for 1 only for frame. Me and wife did the progressive lens which came out around $1k for 2 pairs.

The frame not branded but super light and couple with the thin lens (the thinnest i have made for all my spec) I can't feel anything on my face.

The price a bit steep if not for the lens, my last pairs was Oakley cost about $500+ but given the light weight I think still ok.

Service was not as good as ownday.

1 for 1 means u can get two pairs of the frame? 

My wife just made glasses late last year. But her sunglasses are also non prescription from 2010 when we went to nz and really need sunglasses (she wore contacts then). And now she drives also. So maybe jioh her to get one just for the clip ons for driving glasses lol.

I don't want to spend too much as ultimately it's just for driving use mostly. I seldom run in outdoor.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

1 for 1 means u can get two pairs of the frame? 

My wife just made glasses late last year. But her sunglasses are also non prescription from 2010 when we went to nz and really need sunglasses (she wore contacts then). And now she drives also. So maybe jioh her to get one just for the clip ons for driving glasses lol.

I don't want to spend too much as ultimately it's just for driving use mostly. I seldom run in outdoor.

the one for one deal from lenskart is different from ownday, lenskart allow 2 frame of different lenses, mean for 2 people., whereas ownday have to be the same power.

dun have to die die take the offer as the frame is not like expensive type, at most $150, mostly less than $100.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Thanks guys for the reviews. Think I may try it out. 

I don't trust the skills of the young staff to take measuraActually I used back the degree from my own glasses, just asked the lenskart staff to take readings from my existing glasses. The only measurement they did was to measure my PD between the eyes. Then they can write all the numbers on the card to be use for online order. Most of the good deals like one for one comes from online or membership. 

6 minutes ago, Ender said:

I don't trust the skills of the young staff to take measuraActually I used back the degree from my own glasses, just asked the lenskart staff to take readings from my existing glasses. The only measurement they did was to measure my PD between the eyes. Then they can write all the numbers on the card to be use for online order. Most of the good deals like one for one comes from online or membership. 

Membership? How does it work? Got fee? 

Hmm actually I saw eye doctor few months ago. So yeah I don't need the optometrist measurements.