Darryn Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Author Share April 16, 2015 Amos thought too highly of himself and he felt that he was too "talented" to conform with the school system... and he strayed because he was the higher "being" compared to his classmates... I read his appeal for money and laff and laff and laff - unfortunately all too many students are taught to use bombastic words this way without understanding their meaning - I have lost count of the number of times a "clever sounding word" is used to upz the writer but used wrongly... (there is a word for this, that I can't be bothered googling right now) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 I read his appeal for money and laff and laff and laff - unfortunately all too many students are taught to use bombastic words this way without understanding their meaning - I have lost count of the number of times a "clever sounding word" is used to upz the writer but used wrongly... (there is a word for this, that I can't be bothered googling right now) So far my most enjoyable short story read and novel are from those that use normal words. Even for Chinese novel and short story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Author Share April 16, 2015 the truth is out... He worry his children become a worker instead of elite.😝 Heh---- I want my elder daughter to end up with Ho Ching's job, and the younger one with Lee Hsien Loongs's Anything wrong with that? So far my most enjoyable short story read and novel are from those that use normal words. Even for Chinese novel and short story. yes - I keep telling kid - You don't need to use clever words to write a clever story Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Heh---- I want my elder daughter to end up with Ho Ching's job, and the younger one with Lee Hsien Loongs's Anything wrong with that? yes - I keep telling kid - You don't need to use clever words to write a clever story Nothing. But I won't want them to be those two. How to travel for holiday?? No holiday for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Amos thought too highly of himself and he felt that he was too "talented" to conform with the school system... and he strayed because he was the higher "being" compared to his classmates... hence you want creativity then you have to think if the country have enough room for them to grow in the society, you may create a monster that you can't control, or maybe we dun need to. There are in fact more and more sadist compare to the past as they are able to access and read in the internet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 By then the creativity will be squeezed out - and she will be a worker drone and that's... a bad thing? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Author Share April 16, 2015 and that's... a bad thing? In all seriousness - worker no problem - she will be what she is drone - dun want, that is a bad thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 hence you want creativity then you have to think if the country have enough room for them to grow in the society, you may create a monster that you can't control, or maybe we dun need to. There are in fact more and more sadist compare to the past as they are able to access and read in the internet. Want creative.. Come post in Mcf.. We go so many creative ppl here.😂😂 In all seriousness - worker no problem - she will be what she is drone - dun want, that is a bad thing Here most of us are raise in same environment. But u don't see us as drone leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Author Share April 16, 2015 Want creative.. Come post in Mcf.. We go so many creative ppl here.😂😂 Here most of us are raise in same environment. But u don't see us as drone leh. MCF are all elites mah... That's why I come here - to surround myself with the people I want to be more like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 If creative is only found in violent writing.. Then I am worry about creative people.😓😓 As long adult writers on dark themes is ok. I guess most of us do enjoy some dark stories. But when they are primary school kids and having dark thoughts, then kinda worrying. Machiam Damien Thorn. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 My sprog is in Primary 5, for the first time so far - last night I was truly disappointed in the school system. By and large, I find the schools are doing a pretty decent job - so far the education has been going pretty well, I haven't always agreed with what they teach. But hey, I don't need to - they have been doing it rather well. Last night, chatting with the kid - it is the first time I have been seriously upset at what they are doing. Just had the "Chinese Composition" exam for first semester, and we were chit chatting about what she wrote. Apparently they were given picture prompts - about a boy bullying his grandma, running into the road and almost getting run over. Well ok, putting aside the rather ham fisted and heavy handed moralising - we talked about what she said next... I suggested a story line of... Seeing the boy in danger, Superman came flying out of the sky, and stopped the car just in time, lifting it up to protect the boy. But then, when he found out what had happened, he said "Nah - you don't deserve to be rescued" where upon he dropped the car onto the boy, turning him into ketchup. Crotch spawn informed me that if she wrote that, she would be marked down for "going out of context" - WTF????? Out of context? No wonder the kids are so boring - they have to tell a predictable and "moral" story - In my day, we were encouraged to try and shock / surprise the teacher. Not write stories to some freaking boring formula!!! Blardy hell - how to move forward like that? Not to mention how schools teach people to be honest and do the right things all the time. In reality, if you really do all the RIGHT THINGS in life (like me), you get nowhere in your career 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 hence you want creativity then you have to think if the country have enough room for them to grow in the society, you may create a monster that you can't control, or maybe we dun need to. There are in fact more and more sadist compare to the past as they are able to access and read in the internet. That is because we failed in giving adequate moral and civics education e.g. 好公民... More importantly, since we know internet is a dangerous place the more we need to enforce the value of civic-mindedness and the right moral values. It has nothing to do with creativity. He was in the era where 好公民 was scrapped... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Not to mention how schools teach people to be honest and do the right things all the time. In reality, if you really do all the RIGHT THINGS in life (like me), you get nowhere in your career that's true, Maybe sometime cheat a little.. Green day also say nice guys finish last. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 As long adult writers on dark themes is ok. I guess most of us do enjoy some dark stories. But when they are primary school kids and having dark thoughts, then kinda worrying. Machiam Damien Thorn. Agree. that's true, Maybe sometime cheat a little.. Green day also say nice guys finish last. Not cheat. More like how to advertise ur work. Number 1 problem with good people who don't get just reward is because we don't know how to show our boss our contribution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 (edited) Edited April 16, 2015 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Not to mention how schools teach people to be honest and do the right things all the time. In reality, if you really do all the RIGHT THINGS in life (like me), you get nowhere in your career Hmmmm............ once a while, must 'under-table' a bit .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Hmmmm............ once a while, must 'under-table' a bit .... Under table or under the table. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 My sprog is in Primary 5, for the first time so far - last night I was truly disappointed in the school system. By and large, I find the schools are doing a pretty decent job - so far the education has been going pretty well, I haven't always agreed with what they teach. But hey, I don't need to - they have been doing it rather well. Last night, chatting with the kid - it is the first time I have been seriously upset at what they are doing. Just had the "Chinese Composition" exam for first semester, and we were chit chatting about what she wrote. Apparently they were given picture prompts - about a boy bullying his grandma, running into the road and almost getting run over. Well ok, putting aside the rather ham fisted and heavy handed moralising - we talked about what she said next... I suggested a story line of... Seeing the boy in danger, Superman came flying out of the sky, and stopped the car just in time, lifting it up to protect the boy. But then, when he found out what had happened, he said "Nah - you don't deserve to be rescued" where upon he dropped the car onto the boy, turning him into ketchup. Crotch spawn informed me that if she wrote that, she would be marked down for "going out of context" - WTF????? Out of context? No wonder the kids are so boring - they have to tell a predictable and "moral" story - In my day, we were encouraged to try and shock / surprise the teacher. Not write stories to some freaking boring formula!!! Blardy hell - how to move forward like that? hahaha!! when i was a kid, i was already writhing these type of superman stories in my primary school compo of course didnt get good marks my friend added sex story in the compo, kena called up super funny days ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...