Ender Hypersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 You dun There.... Creative anot This for @mockngbrd too Should check out the one at Science Centre.. Got to pay money to go thru the human digestive system all the way to the end. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Chao guppy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 (edited) Got three pictures one with fourth frame ? Something about doting grandma, boy always walk home from school with her, he ask her to buy toy, she say no because no money then he tantrum and run out in front of car... What happen next Well, while this kind suggests narrative/creative essay writing, surely you could see that the primary focus of the question is the relationship between the grandson and his doting grandma. So, what's there to answer if you decide to turn the boy into ketchup right away har? . Edited April 17, 2015 by Toothiewabbit 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 Chinese after simplification is still not as "modern" as English. There are no simple rules. Why you mocking at people with PG card ? Write fan ti means chauvinist ? What stereotype ? Already told you I wrote traditional Chinese during primary school without even knowing the difference. They were all Chinese to me, and teachers didn't bother to educate me on the difference. Now I read/write both Simplified, Traditional as well as Japanese kanji and kana, learnt from society university and talking to experienced scholars. Many jian ti words were taken from "cao shu", or cursive scripts used in ancient Chinese calligraphy. They have their place in history other than to improve literacy. The Japanese were the first to adopt it to simplify Kanji especially after Meiji restoration, and ROC/PRC learnt from the Japanese adaptation after they saw the rapid progress in a small island country over just a few decades. i am mid 40s and i use both but i still prefer the tradition since early year. The school teach the simplified but i learn the traditional from books and started to use it. I can still write in the simplified form if those who couldn't recognise the traditional form. I find beauty in the traditional form Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliamY 4th Gear April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sw8lnMbNHI8&feature=em-share_video_user Very touching Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 i am mid 40s how come everyone say you are in your 70s? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 how come everyone say you are in your 70s? Oops! ok i pretend to be mid 40s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 Very touching I got two question to ask you. 1) why u post the YouTube which got totally no related to topic?? 2) u join for 1 month how come u know so much about Daryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 (edited) Actually, since you brought this up... the topic on creativity became an "argument" between wifey and me... I know the school wants conformity and wifey believes in creativity... So I shared, creativity is used during "enrichment" class e.g. drawing, music, swimming but school can't accept simply because teachers are giving guidelines and as typical Singaporeans, NO TEACHER dares to STEP OUT and address it... SPEAK OUT and SHOUT hey the schools are killing creativity... The good point is we created "Robotic" citizens - move when you are told, write only facts. Back to the argument, in the end we compromise... study conformity in school and have fun with creativity at home In a sense, our orderly and efficient society is only possible through a certain level of conformity. If u have dealt with these creative types when they are stressed, then u will know what big a**holes they can be. I agree. with the approach. Edited April 17, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 In a sense, our orderly and efficient society is only possible through a certain level of conformity. If u have dealt with these creative types when they are stressed, then u will know what big a**holes they can be. How u think I Hv to handle some of them here in mcf... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 My O-leber English compo developed into a swashbuckling adventure in Africa, involving diamond smuggling and mysterious tribes. Ended up I was the only person to score a 1 for O-leber English in the entire school (yeah it was a pretty crap school). Even my stut stut nerdy classmates who were expected to do as well didn't live up to expectations. You think those O-level angmoh markers wanna read the same old formulaic crap over and over and over? I also pulled one of those "suddenly she got run over by a car, the end." stunts during regular compo classwork but my teacher just laughed. My English teachers were never worried about me. I used to blast through the English exam papers and since I couldn't leave the exam hall in the first hour or whatever I'd write up articles or poems (gaaaay) for the school newletter and submit them with my exam paper when I was finally released. True. My best English compositions were all written during O and A levels. I actually wrote two compositions during my A levels GP. I did one, did the comprehension part. With 40mins left, found the original one unsatisfactory. I actually went for broke and tore the original one up (not a smart decision retrospectively). Went on a limb and rewrote another one in 35mins. And the rest is history. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 Went on a limb and rewrote another one in 35mins. And the rest is history. the marker recommended a medical career for you after going blind trying to read your handwriting? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 In a sense, our orderly and efficient society is only possible through a certain level of conformity. If u have dealt with these creative types when they are stressed, then u will know what big a**holes they can be. I agree. with the approach. Actually, I have dealt with those a**holes before and I must admit they are really creative but seriously having low EQ... Having said that, nobody can be 100% perfect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 Actually, I have dealt with those a**holes before and I must admit they are really creative but seriously having low EQ... Having said that, nobody can be 100% perfect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 image.jpg wah boss +1 for you but can't praise you liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 (edited) the marker recommended a medical career for you after going blind trying to read your handwriting? My written english is like a primary school kid. The truth. No cursive writing for me. I pride my handwriting being 100% readable by anyone. But just that win zero awards for style. Looks like primary school handwriting In my entire life, no one has ever asked me to verbally check a written instruction/phrase. But of course can't write as fast as those who scribble. Think I've mentioned it before, i would have went down a different path if i i didn't get A1 for GP, and A2 for my AO chinese levels. Wouldn't have made it to the interview, since i only had 2A, 2B for A levels. Edited April 17, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 You dunimage.jpg There.... Creative anot This for @mockngbrd too Lmao... Congrats. They are twins!!! ! . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliamY 4th Gear April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 I believe I don't have a baggage but being realistic. We have an education system that may not be perfect but has served it purpose and it is still work in progress as it needs to keep up with the times. My "baggage" which you mentioned perhaps it comes from personal experience, that few FTs (be it single or married to local girl), often have opinions which on its own there is nothing wrong. But what is difficult to understand is they often criticise our local system for every small thing and that begs the question why are they here or why not move back or how critical are they with their own native country's system. If I were to be working in a foreign country or staying in a foreign country with a local spouse, would I openly criticized the foreign country in a forum. In Vietnam, Laos or even China, you may not live to see daylight. Doesn't that speaks well of our education system in general in teaching tolerances. If they are truly wanting to improve the system and have a stake, then don't be a PR and show their genuine love their adoptive country and be a citizen. Don't try and get the best of both worlds so to speak. Don't wait until the obligation to do NS lapse than convert PR to Citizen. The passing of LKY made me realize that as Singaporeans we need to get up from our slumber and be ready to protect ourselves, our families, our systems and our country. We DON'T defend senselessly. On occasion when we are wrong we need to accept and change. LKY is no longer here to look over us. Just like LKY once mentioned, you want to criticize than have a stake especially when criticisms and their subsequent consequences may affect everyone. I am not being over-zealous patriotic or defensive but somewhere along the line, we must politely remind everyone what is at stake here. A poison seed sow can lead to a revolution. What disturbs me about is just for a single Chinese composition, one becomes disappointed with our local school system. There is a need to put things in their proper perspective. Peace. Thank you Darryn for creating this discussion.Yeah William Y is looking at it a little off, he has his baggage. Take it that Darryn is reasonable, maybe eccentric with a taste for dark German ale....I'd buy him the marche jug anytime.Now. Darryn, did you realize that the Chinese language is pictographic. Actually they are drawings, not a b c, but little pictures in itself.From what little post schooling in Mandarin, in the United States of all places, Singaporeans have this paucity of ability in their mother tongue. I think only a small number of Singaporeans in SPH, NUS and NTU can be certifiably acknowledged as competent in said language...mother tongue.Most of us think we boleh, actually we appear as ostriches to other 'pro' users.I do not wish to get into political discussion about Mandarin. Chung Cheng off Mountbatten is not strange to me. I do know that the complexities of the language make it easier for Mandarin to have layers of meaning in a single sentence, much more elegant than English. I fear the SPH fellows using it. Causes me to be priapic, it does. I seek to qualify the perceived elegance of mandarin versus English in that I do not know or use the two languages well as I should.The form of the language has evolved, mandarin, with who is in charge. Yup, different groups, even they look the same (Europeans too) modified and transformed the so called Mandarin. The NUS permanent head damage fellows not here? This living language is the extension of the power of the native speakers. We must use the language of the speaker, sure, when we are learning the language we can fool/play with it. It makes learning much more meaningful and fun. We all know the fun of elitist scribbles...But, I am sure you boys and girls know when playtime ends and that we need to abide by social norms and discretions. We need to use the language as the native speaker to gain legitimacy. With it, we can conduct our business of rice and water.By bracketing the composition pictorially, there is studied relevance and application. Yes, it did occur to the tender me so long ago, why the frack was chinese 老师 was giving us picture composition when the English teacher has stopped. Frustrating right, I have to be creative with pictures, not words...then epiphany, actually it is because of the language used.Then I found out about this Gay guy called Andy Warhol. He reads in pictures. I like his junk, no not that junk, you know what I mean.You see Darryn, it is how you 'SEE' your...issue's quandary. Why did you mention one to have the role of PM wife and second one to be PM? Incest? Not at the same time you mean? Haha...I digress.I do not wish to write more as to quote " what we do in life, echoes in eternity..." Picha our collective lobang.I do know that the thinkers would realize that the pragmatic fellow that they were and our agrarian and shopkeeper backgrounds.It is just that, people get sacrificed, as the Roadrunner mentioned. Some struggle so hard because they lack, in their environments to be power like Darryn daughter or Super son.I dunch noe about Africa like you with the impossible name. Diamonds sparkling. No hab la. Only got catching ants, hardy boys, Nancy Drew and the famous five. Enid Blyton contributed seriously to my English development as did Mr Duncan Watt (the newsreader).Nothing Singapore does is stupid. As a signature from Ktlgc???, supposedly by Albert Einstein....I gather this, a fish can never understand why it is effortless for the monkeys to climb trees. The monkeys will never understand how fishes can stay underwater for so long.So many ways to bite an ankle...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...