flashbang Turbocharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 If you do read properly, I am unhappy with the way Merc SA do their warranty. their warranty for batt supposed to be 30k/2 yrs. i went in 1st time and informed them about the prob at 29900Km. they told me to come back the following week due to their busy schedule( i had a appt with them). a week later, my mileage is more than 30k, they refuse to honor the warranty. If its you, you du lan not? Next time check your warranty until when lah... you rely on the SA to tell you, but he doesn't care cos it's not his car and not his wallet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 (edited) Next time check your warranty until when lah... you rely on the SA to tell you, but he doesn't care cos it's not his car and not his wallet. He did highlight mah. And he didn't know it was due to the battery then. It's the workshop checked and replaced without informing him later on the 2nd servicing. At the very least, i think a discount on the battery (granted his fault occured at 29k km) and free labour should be part of it. Edited October 20, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 He did highlight mah. And he didn't know it was due to the battery then. It's the workshop checked and replaced without informing him later on the 2nd servicing. At the very least, i think a discount on the battery (granted his fault occured at 29k km) and free labour should be part of it. Like that I sure kpkb like mad lah... supposed to be under warranty, become void. I will demand free battery and labour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 He did highlight mah. And he didn't know it was due to the battery then. It's the workshop checked and replaced without informing him later on the 2nd servicing. At the very least, i think a discount on the battery (granted his fault occured at 29k km) and free labour should be part of it. Worst is that when i told him about the start stop system stop working and that he say reschedule to the following week, he still tell me not to worry. my car warranty till 2018. any problem they will settle. next thing i know, battery is not part of the warranty till 2018. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 You mean your start stop system stops the air-con? Really? I guess some ss systems do suck...! $400+ for 4.5 years is damn cheap man. Most of us pay more. Far more... Engine stop A/C not cold,Mazda battery costed $250 outside,$350 in agent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 still hv not change leh.....hahha....hand itchy to change as almost time up and duwan to be caught w no battery But last check, still was fine Time to change lah. I mean change car. :p 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 20, 2017 Share July 20, 2017 But Mazda's i-Stop as far as I recall does not require the use of starter motor to restart the engine right? Honda uses the starter motor I understand Mazda position 1 piston ready to fire during stop mode. it does not use electric starter to kicks start engine. This sound logical but one MCF member here says his battery last only 18 months. So, it is due to his driving or the i-stop? Where to read more on this subject and feedback? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 20, 2017 Share July 20, 2017 I understand Mazda position 1 piston ready to fire during stop mode. it does not use electric starter to kicks start engine. This sound logical but one MCF member here says his battery last only 18 months. So, it is due to his driving or the i-stop? Where to read more on this subject and feedback? My Battery lasts 18 Months,i used Start/Stop alot,mainly City Driving,got a Friend battery lasts 26 Months,always do long distance...there are a few Cases,lasts less than a Year,due to 24 Hours Camera on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 sounds like it got at least some level of fuzzy logic and won't just keep trying to shut off. Some systems seem to try to take every possible moment to shut off... like when you're coasting and then shut off at like 15km/h...Sound dangerous. Will loose power steering and brake boost? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 I am driving a merc CLA. My start stop system stop working last month. I sent in my car for 2nd servicing ( 30k) 2 month ago at 29900+km and inform the SA about the system. he told me workshop too busy, cannot finish servcing and checking within 1 day. So he booked another appt for me the following week. The following week, i sent in the car at 30150km. after servicing i was shocked that my bill had a additional $400+ for battery and $60 or $80 for battery replacement labour. My car was 1 year 8 months old. SA told me battery weak, thats why no Start stop. so they changed the battery without my consent. Worst is he told me battery warranty only for 2yrs or 30k, which ever is lower. damn du lan. die die tell me mine cross 30k mark, cannot claim warranty. I told him it was unfair that he told me the week b4 was too busy and ask me come back 1 week later. when it was 29+k , i already told him about the problem. bo bian , after much kpkb, he only wavied the labour and 50% discount on battery. if i know start stop gg to cost me $400 for battery, i will tell them not to bother replacing. my fuel saving over 1+ yrs also dunno got $200+ not. Bro is a special battery why cost 400 so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 Bro is a special battery why cost 400 so much? AGM battery lor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 AGM battery lorLast longer than our COE. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Privacy 5th Gear July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 i've been manually disabling my engine start/stop function since day 1. maybe i should try out for a few days by controlling the pressure i apply on my brakes. Say, if i approach a traffic light that just turned red, i depress my brake harder to activate the engine stop function. if i know my stop won't be long, just tap on my brake lightly so as not to activate that function. my only concern is if i am light on my brake & a car rear-end me, my car could rear-end the car in front, or worse, run over the pedestrian(s) crossing the road if i'm the first car at the light. i seriously doubt it increases fuel economy to a significant level i disabled mine via ECU reconfiguration 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 Bro is a special battery why cost 400 so much? Most modern Mercedes Benz got 2 Batteries,this one is the small one..for the Start/Stop System. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 Bro is a special battery why cost 400 so much? AGM or special stop/start battery called enhanced flooded battery, EFB, with thicker plate material to cater to stop/start requirement. If the merz use DIN100 size, then the battery price is very high, esp at AD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 21, 2017 Share July 21, 2017 IMO to compensate for the additional wear and tear caused by frequent SS, it's not only the battery and starter assembly needs to be more durable, the whole setup from mounting to electrics need to be enhanced as well. The most obvious is the shake before starting. How many times cycle before they mountings start to give way and vibrate prematurely? The replacement costs will be more than the measly amount of fuel saved.. besides, mine is a diesel.. My sop is to disable it whenever I start my car. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 22, 2017 Share July 22, 2017 to me this is just something to satisfy the euro regulator. how much petrol can people save out of this. mine dont have this but i would think it will be irritating no matter how smooth it claim and spend more to maintain. to each his own. Most modern Mercedes Benz got 2 Batteries,this one is the small one..for the Start/Stop System. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 i disable it everytime i start my car after trying it out for less than hour. i think they should look into allowing owner to switch on or off this feature manually instead of each time you start the engine as default. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...