$100K to $130K car to consider

Sdf4786k

The annual car Depreciation for the Vezel vs Forester Premium is quite close of between $10K+ to 11K+. But the features and equipment level on the Vezel is lower than the Forester eg sun roof, AWD, paddle shifters, etc. Hence, i think Most Value for Money - Forester Premium

Forester XT maintenance cost maybe much higher than Vezel,

Insurance: TC vs NA,

FC: ADW vs FWD

Reliability: TC vs NA

Service: TC vs NA

Road Tax: 2.0L vs 1.5L

Yearly FXT may spend 2k more than Vezel in same drive condition

Not talking about FXT. I am comparing Forester 2.0i-L Premium (non-turbo) with Vezel. Both are NA.

Furthermore, for those who bought in July and earlier, MI was offering buyers with 5 years complimentary servicing package...good value for money that time.

Forester XT maintenance cost maybe much higher than Vezel,

Insurance: TC vs NA,

FC: ADW vs FWD

Reliability: TC vs NA

Service: TC vs NA

Road Tax: 2.0L vs 1.5L

Yearly FXT may spend 2k more than Vezel in same drive condition

Still don't know what is the difference between mini one and mini copper? Lol.

Mini One is 1.2-litre, 101bhp (Cat A). Slightly lower spec (no colour multimedia screen etc).

Mini Cooper is 1.5-litre, 134bhp (Cat B)

True, the joy of driving is priceless. Also, some conveniences cannot be counted in dollars and cents. Like deciding to go out for some late night supper. With a car, you can just drive out, don't think much about the fuel cost (maybe $3 for a short journey of 20km). If you wanna take a cab to and fro instead, flagging down the cab is already $3.20.

Taking cab is not an ussue...flagging down one successfully is...

Me too, was looking for car between 120k-13xK. Almost signed Mazda 3 2L hatch last month but last minute SE screw up my paperwork so now back look look. .

Have shortlisted the following (prefer sedan, none kimchi)

*New

- Mazda 3 2L hatch

- BMW 1 series

- A3 (maybe)

* Used (< 3 years)

- A4

- BMW 316

Me too, was looking for car between 120k-13xK. Almost signed Mazda 3 2L hatch last month but last minute SE screw up my paperwork so now back look look. .

Have shortlisted the following (prefer sedan, none kimchi)

*New

- Mazda 3 2L hatch

- BMW 1 series

- A3 (maybe)

* Used (< 3 years)

- A4

- BMW 316

The 1 series seems Damm worth it.

But back seat v cramp though. Centre got hump too.

Was considering between that and harrier. Hmm

I would take harrier...

Harrier too big for me as wife will be driving...

At that kind of price might as well get a Hyundai. More spacious and nicer looking.

how come end up comparing two different size, class, and price? [dizzy]

Have a lot of people telling me Subarus are costly to maintain. Spare parts are expensive being listed as the main reason. Some also opine that being TC is not as reliable.

1) Yes, the spare parts are a little more expensive than the normal Jap rides but not much. Being AWD also means a little more mechanical parts to take care of. What you get in return is the control of symmetrical AWD on wet roads or when you are in Genting/Cameron Highlands/ NS Highway etc.

2) Being TC is OK. Just needs more tender loving care of disciplined oil changes as TC engines run hotter. As long as you do not modify your car to a crazy extent (e.g. lineartronic CVT FA20 engines are best left to their own devices as the limitation is the gearbox, even though spec says "high torque box"-- even the US guys dare not do much for now), it should serve you well. Engines best left untouched. Simple mods like anti-roll bars, better brakes, air filters, after mkt exhaust should do the trick. Manual is a completely different ballgame as the gearbox can take much greater stress and respond better to tuning.

End of day, its one's preference. But I am convinced of Subaru's handling & reliability. On my 2nd Forester now. Will say its a very understated brand/car which shines in handling/safety if driven responsibly. My first one has brought me safely to Genting/Cameron/Malacca/KL/Ipoh (twice) in all road/weather conditions fully laden with wife/kids/luggage. The Forester, despite being a tall SUV, display solid handling. Take a test drive on the current model and try to "cup corner" at 80kmh - minimal roll and confidence inspiring performance.

The newer models' interiors are a big step up versus previous generations, which is a bonus. With the exception of the bread & butter Imprezas 1.6L, the rest all comes with 7 airbags, which is good for the family man.

Fuel consumption is pretty good. E.g. my XT with half a tank left has clocked 330km. This is on I mode and a tight engine (just 330km on the odo). So when driven normally, its decent, unlike the previous 4 speeders on the SH9 and SG9. However, if you whack, then stop asking about the fuel economy as that's silly. If you want power and fuel economy, go for the i8 at 500K.

Another comment --- there are expert Subaru 3rd party workshops in Singapore which can take good care of your rides at cheaper prices versus the agent. So this is a non concern here.

Only thing is poor Subaru in Spore has been tarnished by that Ah Beng advertisement --- pathetic branding and marketing. Don't know where their brains went. Also, with AWD, if your car unfortunately breaks down, you need to put it on a flat bed truck, which cost slightly more. Small price to pay for the handling.

So 100-130K --- not sure about you, but the choice is pretty obvious to me. :)

Edited by Mjklbkldl

Was at their showroom to check out their rides, but left without test driving

Their cars interior has very plasticky feel n there is a strong plasticky smell too

Chevy's car are priced reasonably though

It all depends on personal preference

Buying car can be a headache since there are so many choices available, do check out more before deciding

For me, as i drive about 80km daily, reliability was my top consideration

You drive one or test drove it?

Can share your view?

If it stays PI, hybrid car can be challenging to maintain or repair as it aged.

Locally may not have the spare parts / know-how to repair certain broken parts.

That may be the biggest folly in getting hybrid from PI. If not, I would have consider Vezel Hybrid.

What do you think?

Only thing is poor Subaru in Spore has been tarnished by that Ah Beng advertisement --- pathetic branding and marketing. Don't know where their brains went. Also, with AWD, if your car unfortunately breaks down, you need to put it on a flat bed truck, which cost slightly more. Small price to pay for the handling.

"their brains"? "ah beng"? i can only think of one ah sia kia leh... [sly][sly][sly]

Have a lot of people telling me Subarus are costly to maintain. Spare parts are expensive being listed as the main reason. Some also opine that being TC is not as reliable.

Insurance also high.

got a relative drive Subaru 1.5MT. Need pay about 1.6k even with 50% ncd.

Altis only need less than $600 to renew.

Was at their showroom to check out their rides, but left without test driving

Their cars interior has very plasticky feel n there is a strong plasticky smell too

Chevy's car are priced reasonably though

It all depends on personal preference

Buying car can be a headache since there are so many choices available, do check out more before deciding

For me, as i drive about 80km daily, reliability was my top consideration

me too...every work day around 72km..waste almost 2hrs/day on driving...kek sim...

I m probably doing about the same mileage as u during workday +-......2 hrs is assuming very good traffic le.....hee hee....if got accident or rain, even longer....it's really quite sian.....bo bian la.....all for a living, that's must save $$$

One thing good la, ur driving skills must be very very good by now [:p]