22 patients in SGH renal ward infected with hepatitis C

Showster

I don't belong to the institution in question (not any more), but I would strongly caution against making unfounded allegations and insinuations, especially ones that could get you into serious legal trouble. They've made a police report, true, but don't jump to conclusions just because of it. My two cents'.

ohhh you witch doctor also ? WOW  :want:

right.......and @porker is female :a-happy:

i thought he interchangeable ? [:p]

Edited by Angcheek

This ish not sho simpur.. [lipsrsealed]

this is odd. One only reports to police if one has reason to believe foul play in involved, but issue is the Hospital do not know, so they are asking the police to be Private Investigators ??????? 

Like that if my company loses some belongings but I got totally no clue, can I poh mata ? 

this is odd. One only reports to police if one has reason to believe foul play in involved, but issue is the Hospital do not know, so they are asking the police to be Private Investigators ???????

Like that if my company loses some belongings but I got totally no clue, can I poh mata ?

Poh mata is one way to signal there is no internal cover up. In this case, it is to accord full transparency to account for the situation.

For example, you signed a HP plan with a telco and a month later, you need to get another one as the handphone was lost. Telco not sure if you are telling the truth will ask whether you have reported to police.

Edited by Seohster

lets say the result is just the carelessness of 1 nurse eg. will it be a criminal offence?? 

cos death is resulted from it, many death in fact.

That will depend on the law... up to the DPP to see if it is chargeable. and you know lah... that one I don't have to say..

SGH is the affected party so they have to make the police report.

The police do not have the expertise to investigate.

the police will wait for the IRC report and use that conclusion to determine if action is to be taken.

Thas's what I presume will happen (2 cents)

Poh mata is one way to signal there is no internal cover up. In this case, it is to accord full transparency to account for the situation.

For example, you signed a HP plan with a telco and a month later, you need to get another one as the handphone was lost. Telco not sure if you are telling the truth will ask whether you have reported to police.

Which telco/plan are you on?

Very odd indeed.

And will there be evidence left behind so many months later?

Maybe MOH do not want to tie down nurses doing investigations cause a lot of sick peoples in hospital need to be taken care off.

Since police have farm out most of their works to private firms (road parking summon, escorts, lock-up duties... etc,) they have plenty of time to look into it.....   :XD:    :XD:  

Edited by Picnic06

Maybe MOH do not want to tie down nurses doing investigations cause a lot of sick peoples in hospital need to be taken care off.

Since police have farm out most of their works to private firms (road parking summon, escorts, lock-up duties... etc,) they have plenty of time to look into it..... :XD::XD:

My opinion is too many guesses by the public of who and who is responsible. Never ending. So it's right of MOH to report to d police to make full investigation.

this is worrying...

2 more patients screened by SGH test positive for Hepatitis C

Tests are still being carried out to determine if they are part of a cluster of 23 patients from the Singapore General Hospital's renal ward infected with Hepatitis C.

• POSTED: 23 Oct 2015 20:01
hepatitis.jpgFile picture of a person being tested for hepatitis virus. (AFP/FRANCOIS NASCIMBENI)
  •  
    •  
      •  
        •  Email
        •  More
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

SINGAPORE: Two more people screened by the Singapore General Hospital (SGH) for Hepatitis C have tested positive, the hospital announced on Friday (Oct 23).

"Genotyping and phylogenetic studies are still being carried out to determine if the patients are part of the affected cluster," SGH said in a statement. SGH first announced a cluster of 22 infections on Oct 6 and since then, it has been proactively screening all patients warded in its renal wards 64A and 67 from January to June. It has screened 601 patients so far, of whom 543 tested negative. A total of 55 results are still pending.

Prof Fong Kok Yong, chairman of SGH's Medical Board said: “Both patients are currently well. While we are still in the process of determining whether they are part of the cluster, our priority is to ensure that the patients can access timely and appropriate medical care. We will monitor their conditions closely and provide them with assistance if necessary."

He added: “In our continued efforts to contact patients for screening, we are saddened to learn that one of them had passed away in a palliative care setting due to advanced cancer. Based on our review of the patient’s medical history, we have ruled out Hepatitis C as a contributing cause.”

SGH has said HCV may have been a contributing factor in up to five deaths. On Wednesday, it announced that one patient screened as a precaution had tested positive, bringing the number of people infected in the cluster to 23. It is offering full support and facilitating treatment for the person.

The hospital added on Friday that a total of 309 staff have been screened, of which 305 results are ready. All of those tested negative and four test results are pending.

The hospital is conducting an internal probe into how the infections came about and the Ministry of Health has appointed independent review committee to investigate as well. SGH has also filed a police report to ascertain if there is foul play involved.

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong has said it is important that there is transparency in the probe into the Hepatitis C cases. "If there are gaps, we will close them. If there are weak areas, we will correct them. And if there are shortcomings, we will improve," he said.

- CNA/ly

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong has said it is important that there is transparency in the probe into the Hepatitis C cases. "If there are gaps, we will close them. If there are weak areas, we will correct them. And if there are shortcomings, we will improve," he said.

Talk so much still dunno what is the cause leh. Is SGH going to be like the SMRT trains, signalling lights, rail network etc etc? All failing?

Ownself check ownself system good sia. Kekeke....

But seriously, the symptoms are showing one by one. I think we comprain also futile. If one big one comes, dunno how many will suffer? Hope the day doesn't come.

Nothing in the news about how many kidneys from those who passed away and wanted to donate their kidneys went to waste because SGH had suspended kidney transplant ops. Guess no journalist dared to ask.

SGH: 2 patients who tested positive as revealed on Oct 23 confirmed part of affected hepatitis C cluster. Bringing total affected patients to 25. Result of remaining 12 tested still pending.

2 patients who tested positive as revealed on Oct 23 confirmed part of affected hepatitis C cluster: SGH

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/2-patients-who-tested-positive-as-revealed-on-oct-23-confirmed-part-of-affected?xtor=CS3-20

my initial theory was kinda right.  There must hv been some lapse so much so that the spread went on like that.  Thru the dialysis machines

post-547-0-97197700-1446786534_thumb.jpg

my initial theory was kinda right.  There must hv been some lapse so much so that the spread went on like that.  Thru the dialysis machines

attachicon.gifdialysis.JPG

This type of lapses has very serious consequences. Life at stake. Don't think a warning is enough?

Edited by Ender

This big question: why they still can't identify what or where the lapses are, despite the urgency to put a stop to this outbreak several months ago.... :(