Foreigners take away our job and lower down wages?

Yewheng

i think banking is one of the industries that has no restriction or affected by quota or levy thing, most of them if not all are under employment pass or gotten PR in less than a year working here.

as international financial hub, people come and go including Sporean working as FT in other country.

Very interesting. Let me tell you banking is not alone.

Do you happen to know the rstio and are these data available? Many such establishments seem to be very much FT. Either their locals are hiding somewhere or i don't seem to see them

Lots of hearsay. The ratio is applicable to all Singapore registered companies. But unfortunately not for branches of foreign companies operating in SG. For example, a foreign company could have a Singapore registered company (subsidiary) and at the same time have a foreign branch operating in SG. Guess who they hire who and where ? Foreign branch you cant touch la...the ratio I mean..

By the way the rant by AH TOM KOH also a bit kaput la.. majority of SMEs would balk at the idea of minimum wage and hiring just Sporeans. Worse still these same bosses and owners will Kao Peh about too many FW/FT in spore in public and yet in private will only want to hire cheap work force as well as CB the gov for the property cooling measures.. already cant sell to foreigners and CB sporeans so Low price..

Edited by BenTong

You are talking about different level of FTs:

One level of FT is those who stay sentosa cove and river valley.

Another level of FT/FW is those who stay dormitories and cluster-F hdb flats.

Lots of hearsay. The ratio is applicable to all Singapore registered companies. But unfortunately not for branches of foreign companies operating in SG. For example, a foreign company could have a Singapore registered company (subsidiary) and at the same time have a foreign branch operating in SG. Guess who they hire who and where ? Foreign branch you cant touch la...the ratio I mean..

By the way the rant by AH TOM KOH also a bit kaput la.. majority of SMEs would balk at the idea of minimum wage and hiring just Sporeans. Worse still these same bosses and owners will Kao Peh about too many FW/FT in spore in public and yet in private will only want to hire cheap work force as well as CB the gov for the property cooling measures.. already cant sell to foreigners and CB sporeans so Low price..

Today, not all FT get such treatments but on local terms. However, they are still a direct threat to our local simply because they have short term commitments here. Pack and go when things turn bad but we pack and jump into the sea?

https://news.efinancialcareers.com/sg-en/326448/standard-chartered-singapore-job-cuts?utm_source=GLOBAL_ENG&utm_medium=SM_FB&utm_campaign=FANS&utm_term=7e353743-9293-41f7-a33c-41d23483e9c8

45 SC people called me in two weeks,” says recruiter as Stan Chart Singapore staff look to move

A growing number of senior Standard Chartered staff in Singapore are contacting recruiters about moving jobs before the axe falls, as concern mounts about redundancies at the bank under a new cost-cutting drive.

Stan Chart is considering trimming headcount, having made little progress since May in meeting its $10.2bn external cost target for 2018, according to an October 5 email from CFO Andy Halford to management that was seen by eFinancialCareers. But speculation that jobs will be lost in Singapore actually started in July/August when 2018 cost pressures began to bite, say insiders.

Looks; like many AMDK and even more CAVA maybe leaving us soon.

Heard 1 year one month may become one yr half month and cap to 10 years because of the larger than large salary of these top guys.. who are average people who draw GBP 499K a year ...

Jialat.

Their mgmt sharing internal emails?

You are talking about different level of FTs:

One level of FT is those who stay sentosa cove and river valley.

Another level of FT/FW is those who stay dormitories and cluster-F hdb flats.

These 2 levels not the issue. Those stay in SC look down on sporeans while those in dorm and cluster sporeans wont do their work.

The level I think is the middle level FTs. This group, some foreign entities get around the ratio, is by hiring them out of the branch..ie their contract is with a foreign entity.. not subject to local/FT ratio. While the local registered will hire sporeans. The branch could have 100 FT :1 local while the sub could have 30local:1 foreign.Total 101 foreign: 31 local. Think that’s what happening.

But to ah gong, all got to pay local income tax, all pay gst, foreign go Shenton Parkway or Raffles see doctor, local go poly,...

Can’t win la.. left die right also die..

Today, not all FT get such treatments but on local terms. However, they are still a direct threat to our local simply because they have short term commitments here. Pack and go when things turn bad but we pack and jump into the sea?

you should teach them a lesson.. they come your country snatch jobs.. you go their country snatch jobs too.....

A foreign company setup in Sg and hire foreigner is consider snatch jobs?

That’s what the public majority thinks though in their hearts they Kao Peh when their properties no sporeans rent..

These 2 levels not the issue. Those stay in SC look down on sporeans while those in dorm and cluster sporeans wont do their work.

The level I think is the middle level FTs. This group, some foreign entities get around the ratio, is by hiring them out of the branch..ie their contract is with a foreign entity.. not subject to local/FT ratio. While the local registered will hire sporeans. The branch could have 100 FT :1 local while the sub could have 30local:1 foreign.Total 101 foreign: 31 local. Think thatâs what happening.

But to ah gong, all got to pay local income tax, all pay gst, foreign go Shenton Parkway or Raffles see doctor, local go poly,...

Canât win la.. left die right also die..

Yes FT no need gov support

Spend more

Don't complain when transport fare increase

Improve rental market and indirectly propped property market.

Bring extended family when they visit SG improve tourism sector.

Pay higher tax and no tax rebate.

If I do the maths I will also choose the bigger contributor.

A foreign company setup in Sg and hire foreigner is consider snatch jobs?

In a simplistic example, a china cleaning agency set up a golf club here.they employ all their people to run it. Yes, housing re tal will benefit, maybe transportation also. Is this the model we like to see?

Sorry not cleaning, wanted to use cleani g as an example but decided golf club better. Hehe

In a simplistic example, a china cleaning agency set up a golf club here.they employ all their people to run it. Yes, housing re tal will benefit, maybe transportation also. Is this the model we like to see?

Sorry not cleaning, wanted to use cleani g as an example but decided golf club better. Hehe

Give real example la.. then can hantam mah. This hypothetical example .. machiam say like no say..

Wow you very bad hor, draw tiger must include bones. I am sure most can relate what industry and where the most FT. How these people can contribute to our economy. They are here to spend like tourists?

If Facebook did not choose SG to locate their data centre, the land will sit idle.

Look at town area and see how many buildings were developed by foreign entities. These foreign companies should not use foreign mangement staff in SG?

Not trying to stir shit but a large part of SG development was undertaken by foreign monies.

If Facebook did not choose SG to locate their data centre, the land will sit idle.

Look at town area and see how many buildings were developed by foreign entities. These foreign companies should not use foreign mangement staff in SG?

Not trying to stir shit but a large part of SG development was undertaken by foreign monies.

Of course we encourage foriegn investment. It is not only Sg but all countries including USA. By 'investing' what do we want these companies to contribute? Just using our land and everything else foreign? Why government is setting quota and why wavie some? I am sure they have their reasons but please open up and let us know.