Darryn Turbocharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Thanks. I travel between my parent and in-laws house during weekend. I try to convince myself public transport's sufficient, but unfortunately both locations a distance from the nearest train station. If it's once a week - taxi probably better. But public is a hassle once baby gets big enough to need a pram. Until then, carry can already. Yesterday I received my last road tax bill for the current car....just over 6 months left to go. COE better drop or I will be out of a car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 But no one say anyone force anyone to buy. It just means that a willing but not-so-knowledgable buyer can be tricked by very willing seller and so the "willing buyer" is only willing under false understanding. If the buyer choose not to do any research and be tricked by the seller ... the buyer deserved it then. Cost are so transparent via the "One motoring" website, the margin for the ADs is clearly known to all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Surprised to see that many people dun know how Coe bidding works.... No wonder AD n gahmen can treat us like fools Why u surprised? I remember in one of the Volvo v40 thread, some signed on the dotted line for good deal but doesn't even know what is guaranteed or non guaranteed coe package....hehe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carwoman 3rd Gear December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 The flaw lies at how dealers market their package. The term of COE rebate should be discourage. We all know that, unless sudden catastrophe hits Singapore economy, there would not be sudden jump on COE. COE rebate set by AD for customer discourages them to bit lower than that.. Yes, it is in their interest to bit lower, but not lower than their preset COE rebate.. A lot of customers have poor understanding of how COE bidding works.. And AD capitulatize on this.. Thats why we have forums...for knowledgeable pp like you to share ideas. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 If the buyer choose not to do any research and be tricked by the seller ... the buyer deserved it then. Cost are so transparent via the "One motoring" website, the margin for the ADs is clearly known to all. To be fair, buying a vehicle in Singapore is much more complicated compared to other countries. You have stuff like COE, ARF, PARF, CEVS, OMV < $20K can loan 60% etc etc. Then dealers add in more to it, with guaranteed bids, with/without top ups, rebate at $XX. In other countries, if the listed sale price of a car is $10,000 ... that's all a buyer needs to know. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 But buyer demand can be seasonal. I feel the current system more stable. Else CNY bids can be 80K and after 30K. Not necessarily better as people will also complain. We not scared people complain. People will always complain. If idiots want to bid $80k and pay $80k, its their choice. You dont get it do you? Policies must be steady, must be right. Not about playing to the gallery. You want a system that plays to the gallery? You want our country to go downhill? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 To be fair, buying a vehicle in Singapore is much more complicated compared to other countries. You have stuff like COE, ARF, PARF, CEVS, OMV < $20K can loan 60% etc etc. Then dealers add in more to it, with guaranteed bids, with/without top ups, rebate at $XX. In other countries, if the listed sale price of a car is $10,000 ... that's all a buyer needs to know. Thats why we always advocate simplicity here. Look at CPF , HDB , property etc etc, all so complicated to say the least. My suggestion has always been to fix COE prices according to category and move prices according to inflation. COEs to be paid in full cash. Car price can take loan. Anyone found to hanky panky the system, to be fined 100x the amount of what they try to hanky pank. In my example, COE will be very stable if our country's inflation is stable. If inflation drops, COE to drop accordingly. Every month COEs to be the same quantity, building up to the year's quota accordingly. Those who want and can afford to buy a car, simply go and buy COE and buy car to register. Coe not transferable and expires within a month without value. So only those who hv the meAns and want the car will buy. Simple queuing system for COEs. Anyway, quota is controlled by authorities to begin with. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Right now we are also discussing due to complains or unhappiness? No matter how we tweak the system, the overall unhappiness across the population will be the same. Why bother? This is because the quota is limited and the price will ultimately equalise to the inherent and existing demand dependent on the incomes and needs of people. What stops people obtaining $2 COE from jacking up prices to background COE of $50k? Nothing... Can we stop resales of cars? We can't. We not scared people complain.People will always complain.If idiots want to bid $80k and pay $80k, its their choice.You dont get it do you?Policies must be steady, must be right.Not about playing to the gallery.You want a system that plays to the gallery?You want our country to go downhill? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Most people are really complaining about the cost of COE, not the system. If current COE system produces COE at $99, would anyone complain? Truth is people want to buy, cannot afford, then come up with many new methods or ideas that hope will lower the cost of the COE. The problem is not the system, is the cost. Right now we are also discussing due to complains or unhappiness? No matter how we tweak the system, the overall unhappiness across the population will be the same. Why bother? This is because the quota is limited and the price will ultimately equalise to the inherent and existing demand dependent on the incomes and needs of people. What stops people obtaining $2 COE from jacking up prices to background COE of $50k? Nothing... Can we stop resales of cars? We can't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 Most people are really complaining about the cost of COE, not the system. If current COE system produces COE at $99, would anyone complain? Truth is people want to buy, cannot afford, then come up with many new methods or ideas that hope will lower the cost of the COE. The problem is not the system, is the cost. Then why must they buy? If the system makes it such a way that the majority cannot afford a new car,I am proud of it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 Thats why we always advocate simplicity here. Look at CPF , HDB , property etc etc, all so complicated to say the least. My suggestion has always been to fix COE prices according to category and move prices according to inflation. COEs to be paid in full cash. Car price can take loan. Anyone found to hanky panky the system, to be fined 100x the amount of what they try to hanky pank. In my example, COE will be very stable if our country's inflation is stable. If inflation drops, COE to drop accordingly. Every month COEs to be the same quantity, building up to the year's quota accordingly. Those who want and can afford to buy a car, simply go and buy COE and buy car to register. Coe not transferable and expires within a month without value. So only those who hv the meAns and want the car will buy. Simple queuing system for COEs. Anyway, quota is controlled by authorities to begin with. Wan to praise u but cannot... End of the day , we still LLST 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 It is tough to get people who are 'left out' in the process to understand the bigger picture. We all know car population if left unchecked, will eventually paralyse the roads like our neighbours. They feel victimised and develop conspiracy theories like govt wants cash cow, etc so as to feel better about themselves. They then proposed new ideas that most likely have only one aim - so that they can afford a car. This is why there are calls for ideas like: Fixed COE price Increase tax for people who have more than 1 car Only buyers bid for COE Give COE rebates for people who have elders or big family Then why must they buy? If the system makes it such a way that the majority cannot afford a new car,I am proud of it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 It is tough to get people who are 'left out' in the process to understand the bigger picture. We all know car population if left unchecked, will eventually paralyse the roads like our neighbours. They feel victimised and develop conspiracy theories like govt wants cash cow, etc so as to feel better about themselves. They then proposed new ideas that most likely have only one aim - so that they can afford a car. This is why there are calls for ideas like: Fixed COE price Increase tax for people who have more than 1 car Only buyers bid for COE Give COE rebates for people who have elders or big family None of these suggestions will even be considered. We should never take the populist route to win over the people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 Hahaha... In that case, the group of people who cannot afford COE will continue to populate this thread every 2 weeks and complain about government wants more money than solving problem. Blame heaven, blame sky, blame friends and everyone else except themselves. None of these suggestions will even be considered. We should never take the populist route to win over the people. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 Hahaha... In that case, the group of people who cannot afford COE will continue to populate this thread every 2 weeks and complain about government wants more money than solving problem. Blame heaven, blame sky, blame friends and everyone else except themselves. Correct. Then there are be so called experts who come in with graphs and stats to analyse all sorts of nonsense. And the whole story starts again..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 I think there are some merits to the current situation. I feel that dealers clear their backlogs during increased quota supply and reduce bids when the numbers are smaller than expected. If there is any dip, it should be achieved via a soft landing. The previous quota and prices up till 2010 are just not sustainable unless there is sufficient disincentive to drive as compared to owning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SSky 2nd Gear December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 Correct. Then there are be so called experts who come in with graphs and stats to analyse all sorts of nonsense. And the whole story starts again.....At least the expert mention something in April 16 which haven prove wrong yet.....m still waiting for yr call on 70k coe 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 12, 2015 Share December 12, 2015 If I was a politician, I wouldn't give a hoot about COE. Cars are for the rich, they can still afford them even if COE were to go up to 100k, as already proven in the past. Number of bids ALWAYS exceeds number of quota, regardless of price. I would spend my time and effort on fixing the public transport, building sheltered walkways, cleaning the common area. That is going to win over maybe 70-80% of the population who take public transport and live in public housing. For the other 20-30% of rich people, they are here cos of the good and stable government, low tax rates for personal and business, no ridiculous taxes like capital gain tax. They are insulated from policy changes cos of their wealth, a 100k car just means they buy 1 a year, if it's 50k they buy 2 for their kids instead. In fact I would even say we are almost like Thailand, where Thaksin made policies that benefited the rural majority, thus winning their votes and keeping him in power. Over here the government tries to maintain a good balance, but there is still more bias towards the lower income Singaporeans. So 30k COE and more quota released? Wait long long guys! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...