2015 Dec, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

It is not about low priority. You do realised almost all the suggestions and ideas benefit the people who proposed them?

Almost but not mine

If you go through my suggestion, its just about "fairness" overall played within the rules of engagement for an effective policy

Not for the particular benefit of myself of any particular group.

Like i posted before. Nothing is about fairness. Who needs a car more is not determined by who has a family, aged patents and what not. It is determined by who has $. Lots of $ in our context.

And nobody says if one needs a car, it has to be a new car.

All this talk about tweaking the coe system and making it fairer and what not, is certainly not feasible.

There are many options out there.

There are restaurants. There are kopi tiams. You decide.

Yes correct.

And a cheaper COE does not mean fairer.

Its the administration and implementation methods that can be improved.

Edited by Throttle2

If I was a politician, I wouldn't give a hoot about COE. Cars are for the rich, they can still afford them even if COE were to go up to 100k, as already proven in the past. Number of bids ALWAYS exceeds number of quota, regardless of price.

I would spend my time and effort on fixing the public transport, building sheltered walkways, cleaning the common area. That is going to win over maybe 70-80% of the population who take public transport and live in public housing.

For the other 20-30% of rich people, they are here cos of the good and stable government, low tax rates for personal and business, no ridiculous taxes like capital gain tax. They are insulated from policy changes cos of their wealth, a 100k car just means they buy 1 a year, if it's 50k they buy 2 for their kids instead.

In fact I would even say we are almost like Thailand, where Thaksin made policies that benefited the rural majority, thus winning their votes and keeping him in power. Over here the government tries to maintain a good balance, but there is still more bias towards the lower income Singaporeans.

So 30k COE and more quota released? Wait long long guys!

Based on latest election results the govt needs to fix nothing. COEs can go up to 100k and trains continue breaking down, they will still get their 60-70% of votes.

Time is very bad. We may see 40 k plus after new year. retrentment on the way

Times are bad but for big bosses and rich people with new PRs who are cash rich, this is not a factor of consideration.

Therefore, Coe may weaken but nt much from current levels.... +- 10k

All this talk about tweaking the coe system and making it fairer and what not, is certainly not feasible.

You sound like a certain politician with a girl's name... are you him?

Like i posted before. Nothing is about fairness. Who needs a car more is not determined by who has a family, aged patents and what not. It is determined by who has $. Lots of $ in our context.

And nobody says if one needs a car, it has to be a new car.

Precisely.

The current system is already the simplest and most straightforward.

Any technical exercise to change will no doubt lead to same outcomes.

Honestly, if you guys are so pissed off with TS with his coe thread, just avoid or even add him into the ignore list.

There is no need to impose your full cash theory or reply with sarcasm. Good to see a new layout but sadlythe quality of post remained.

wah kao.... COE tkss can go to 16 pages.... want to buy, got the $$$, go ahead and buy..... buy car keep thinking this thinking that, then don't buy, why make life so miserable....

Buy car is the feel... you know, u touch, caress, lick, rub, feel.... if it talks to you, that's your ride.... if it dont, cheap cheap u also wont buy..... [laugh]

Based on latest election results the govt needs to fix nothing. COEs can go up to 100k and trains continue breaking down, they will still get their 60-70% of votes.

How are votes related to this? Please do not link every unhappiness to votes.

Precisely.

The current system is already the simplest and most straightforward.

Any technical exercise to change will no doubt lead to same outcomes.

*facepalm*

Aiyoh aiyoh

again fail to comprehend the post and then throw in own understanding as though that was the same.

*shake head*

Really dont know whether to laugh or cry....

Edited by Throttle2

*facepalm*

Aiyoh aiyoh

again fail to comprehend the post and then throw in own understanding as though that was the same.

*shake head*

Really dont know whether to laugh or cry....

There are many different aspects with different angles presented by different people.

Combine all the considerations, the status quo method is still the best and easiest and most practical to implement.

Want new car, pay the dealer the amount with COE. Dealer bids whether it's $2, $30k or $60K. Find your way to finance it. Leave the business and some profits to professionals. As simple as it gets.

Heaven and earth can be my witness. My conscience is clear, and if I were the clone of any other nick used in this forum (Sabbie or Leepie or whatever), I welcome any admin or moderator to please ban me.

Then pls take off ur mask ( I meant ur avatar) ..

...Clone nick not clone Avatar lah. Avatar limited sure got similar choices.

I like this Avatar leh. Looks like the cartoon character in a comic book.

动感超人! bi bi bi bi bi。。。

Then pls take off ur mask ( I meant ur avatar) ..

Some people follow hwz edmw, everything also attribute to the 70% vote for this nonsense.

How are votes related to this? Please do not link every unhappiness to votes.

Some people follow hwz edmw, everything also attribute to the 70% vote for this nonsense.

Look here  [shocked]  

When I think it is not reasonable or it don't make any sense of the main objective for the cause of vehicle regulatory measures ?

I will tell or says "It's absolutely Nonsense" to any big marter farker..........be it a [scholar]  minister  !

COE is implemented to regulate vehicle population and road congestions, WTF of having a "Open Cat." to invite non-transferable COE cert's. competition from AD in both B&B and Luxurious categories and offering WTF of "package deals" in such a simple regulating vehicle purchasing scheme ?    :a-no:

...Clone nick not clone Avatar lah. Avatar limited sure got similar choices.

I like this Avatar leh. Looks like the cartoon character in a comic book.

动感超人! bi bi bi bi bi。。。

Bro dearly,

Speaks your mind out and no fear anybody  [nod]

There are many different aspects with different angles presented by different people.

Combine all the considerations, the status quo method is still the best and easiest and most practical to implement.

Want new car, pay the dealer the amount with COE. Dealer bids whether it's $2, $30k or $60K. Find your way to finance it. Leave the business and some profits to professionals. As simple as it gets.

I am concern of the real objective of implementing COE, nothing else in my concern as cheap or expensive, cash or loan !

Bro, I cannot really understand what you are saying because of your punctuation. You make a statement and then have a question in one sentence.

I guessing you are unhappy about the Open Category COE?

I do not have the background information about the COE system so I cannot explain why Open Category exist. Asking LTA may give you a start. Sometimes, we cannot jump to conclusion without a full picture.

For example, a student may think that a teacher's life is good because he only needs to teach for 4 hours a day and get to enjoy his life thereafter. Because he doesn't know the depth of work involved, he concluded that teachers' job is the best in the world. But if we know more, we realised that is not the truth.

We live in a society and therefore are blinded by laws and society expectations. Everyone who wants to speak their mind must also know that they have to face the consequences whenever necessary. Case in point - Amos Yee.

I am an advocate for speaking the truth but we must be careful to separate truth from opinions and do our research and critical thinking before we speak up.

Look here  [shocked]  

When I think it is not reasonable or it don't make any sense of the main objective for the cause of vehicle regulatory measures ?

I will tell or says "It's absolutely Nonsense" to any big marter farker..........be it a [scholar]  minister  !

COE is implemented to regulate vehicle population and road congestions, WTF of having a "Open Cat." to invite non-transferable COE cert's. competition from AD in both B&B and Luxurious categories and offering WTF of "package deals" in such a simple regulating vehicle purchasing scheme ?    :a-no:

Bro dearly,

Bro, I cannot really understand what you are saying because of your punctuation. You make a statement and then have a question in one sentence.

I guessing you are unhappy about the Open Category COE?

I do not have the background information about the COE system so I cannot explain why Open Category exist. Asking LTA may give you a start. Sometimes, we cannot jump to conclusion without a full picture.

For example, a student may think that a teacher's life is good because he only needs to teach for 4 hours a day and get to enjoy his life thereafter. Because he doesn't know the depth of work involved, he concluded that teachers' job is the best in the world. But if we know more, we realised that is not the truth.

We live in a society and therefore are blinded by laws and society expectations. Everyone who wants to speak their mind must also know that they have to face the consequences whenever necessary. Case in point - Amos Yee.

I am an advocate for speaking the truth but we must be careful to separate truth from opinions and do our research and critical thinking before we speak up.

WTF !

You are reminding of this picture !

ENOUGH SAID   [speechless]

post-62943-0-54249200-1450023396.jpg

Edited by 2BDriver

Thanks bro @2BDriver.

I find this brother's explanation reasonable for open cat e COE(post #4).

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2643274-coe-cat-e/

The overall objective of COE should be obvious but there are always some provision for practical reasons. 

Look here  [shocked]  

Bro dearly,

I am concern of the real objective of implementing COE, nothing else in my concern as cheap or expensive, cash or loan !