2016 Recession Year? Gloom and doom 2017!

Scion

Agree. I have some things to say about the suburbs but I better not do so in case I get banned or being politically incorrect. Those are some really nasty things I can say :D

You always so nasty. Aiyo

redmart? the bigger disruptor is qoo10 and taobao ... China FTW !!!

another one is iherb [thumbsup] ... simi GNC and many other joints selling health foods in shopping mall can go fly kite liao

i think the bigger disruptor is redmart

online delivery is really very good. buy all the heavy stuff and send to your house.

then no need to search aisle by aisle for the stuff you want.

quite good.

I feel that the efforts to decentralise downtown activities have paid off well.

Miss the HMV, Kinokuniya and Borders experience though.

Even Takashimaya may not continue to be around in the future due to rental dispute.

i hope not.

The only reason i go to orchard road sometimes is go to taka.

He jialat liao

don't worry about him lah

can sell more watches and even cigar collection if needed

don't worry about him lah

can sell more watches and even cigar collection if needed

You mean there's another person who likes watches and cigars in here?

Maybe i should meet him?

Heh heh

another one is iherb [thumbsup] ... simi GNC and many other joints selling health foods in shopping mall can go fly kite liao

Yeah.

iherb is very good as well. I buy my kids snacks from there as well. 

Yeah.

iherb is very good as well. I buy my kids snacks from there as well.

My kid loves the gummy bear vitamins.

I also kena scold by Wife when I snitch a few. Hahaha

My kid loves the gummy bear vitamins.

I also kena scold by Wife when I snitch a few. Hahaha

my kids drink the fish oil. 

My wife still breastfeeding, so taking multivitamins and fish oil also.

Gerber's cereal puffs and happy yogi's yogurt melts for snacks.

40 usd free delivery is quite achievable when u buy such stuff.

http://themiddleground.sg/2016/05/06/vacant-malls/

Last week, we visited five malls to see how business was doing and saw no lack of vacant shop units.

1. Far East Plaza

MG_2420.jpg

On our rounds, we bumped into one of Far East Plaza’s many property agents, Ms Josephine Chan from Orange Tee. She said that tenants faced demands of “sky high prices” from their landlords and some were just unable to sustain their businesses.
Another problem she pointed out was “picky” landlords who refused potential tenants based on their businesses or brands. Tenants also faced manpower issues, such as difficulty in hiring staff, she added. Ms Chan said that rental costs have since dropped from $50 per square foot (psf) to $12 psf to attract more tenants.

2. Mandarin Gallery

MG_2604.jpg

Landlords are claiming a 94 per cent occupancy rate, but the number of boarded or empty units seemed incongruous with the statistic.
Unlike the front facing units which announced new tenants, the hoardings within the mall had ambiguous signage that stated “OMG we can’t wait to show you the best!”. Some ex-tenants, like The Denim Store, had moved to other locations along Orchard Road.

3. Orchard Central

MG_4369.jpg

Ms Fong, the manager of one of the shops that has been situated on that floor for two years, told us that the boutique stores on the fifth floor have been shuttered for close to a year. She thought they were likely to remain so.
There haven’t been any prospective buyers eyeing the spaces, she said. She said shoppers who visit actually “come here for a purpose” – classes at the gym or school. Plus, rent was another factor. “The rents increase annually, so if there is no customer flow, it is hard to survive,” she said.

4. Orchard Gateway

MG_2989.jpg

The mall officially opened its doors a mere two years ago, and the landlord claims that the occupancy rate is at 98 per cent, but the vacant shop units in parts of the mall showed otherwise.

5. Pacific Plaza

MG_4716.jpg

It was an even more dismal scene at Pacific Plaza, located beside Shaw Centre, where more than half of the units on the first floor were covered by hoarding.

An Adidas Original store and Starbucks were the only two units that were operating on the first floor of the mall. You couldn’t tell that the mall used to house high fashion brands Miu Miu and Prada.

i think the bigger disruptor is redmart

online delivery is really very good. buy all the heavy stuff and send to your house.

then no need to search aisle by aisle for the stuff you want.

quite good.

Have you ever bought from redmart or not?

Not cheap leh.

The problem with online grocery shopping in SG is that people without maids have no one to collect the goods for us and postmen cannot just leave the stuff outside our HDB. The new singpost (and govt sanctioned) postboxes might solve that soon tho.

http://themiddleground.sg/2016/05/06/vacant-malls/

Last week, we visited five malls to see how business was doing and saw no lack of vacant shop units.

1. Far East Plaza

MG_2420.jpg

On our rounds, we bumped into one of Far East Plaza’s many property agents, Ms Josephine Chan from Orange Tee. She said that tenants faced demands of “sky high prices” from their landlords and some were just unable to sustain their businesses.

Another problem she pointed out was “picky” landlords who refused potential tenants based on their businesses or brands. Tenants also faced manpower issues, such as difficulty in hiring staff, she added. Ms Chan said that rental costs have since dropped from $50 per square foot (psf) to $12 psf to attract more tenants.

2. Mandarin Gallery

MG_2604.jpg

Landlords are claiming a 94 per cent occupancy rate, but the number of boarded or empty units seemed incongruous with the statistic.

Unlike the front facing units which announced new tenants, the hoardings within the mall had ambiguous signage that stated “OMG we can’t wait to show you the best!”. Some ex-tenants, like The Denim Store, had moved to other locations along Orchard Road.

3. Orchard Central

MG_4369.jpg

Ms Fong, the manager of one of the shops that has been situated on that floor for two years, told us that the boutique stores on the fifth floor have been shuttered for close to a year. She thought they were likely to remain so.

There haven’t been any prospective buyers eyeing the spaces, she said. She said shoppers who visit actually “come here for a purpose” – classes at the gym or school. Plus, rent was another factor. “The rents increase annually, so if there is no customer flow, it is hard to survive,” she said.

4. Orchard Gateway

MG_2989.jpg

The mall officially opened its doors a mere two years ago, and the landlord claims that the occupancy rate is at 98 per cent, but the vacant shop units in parts of the mall showed otherwise.

5. Pacific Plaza

MG_4716.jpg

It was an even more dismal scene at Pacific Plaza, located beside Shaw Centre, where more than half of the units on the first floor were covered by hoarding.

An Adidas Original store and Starbucks were the only two units that were operating on the first floor of the mall. You couldn’t tell that the mall used to house high fashion brands Miu Miu and Prada.

Time to short retail mall REITs?

can do in sg ?

If you can borrow enough scrips and if the borrowing costs do not accumulate faster than the price decline.

Totally agree I never bought any single thing from such

it is during such difficult times that one has to see clearly who are the employer you would wish to work for. You never know when will be the next time that company you work so hard will bite you when you need them most.

Unfortunate but reality. Loyalty doesn't pay but surely joining a right company is very important. Of course, we must also be a responsible employee. If company cannot make money, they will not operate like a charity organization, would you?