Samsung Note7

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Samsung 'blocks' exploding Note 7 parody videos

Samsung appears to have filed copyright claims against YouTube videos mocking its recalled Galaxy Note 7 handset.

Many gamers have showcased a modification to video game Grand Theft Auto V, in which sticky bombs were switched with exploding Samsung phones.

But some have reported that their videos have been blocked on YouTube following a copyright complaint.

Samsung has not yet responded to repeated BBC requests for comment.

Critics have warned that trying to remove gamers' videos will only draw more attention to them.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-37713939

The problem with Sony and similar ones is that they do not hold the value if you want to trade in after one year.

Its ok lah, I am quite lazy to change phones too often. So just something well built and lasting will suit me.

Anyways, nowadays handphone subsidies for recontract also not very attractive already.

well, if you really must have a guide, this is what i would base my criteria on (based on past experience testing and using some of these phones)

if you want clear graphics for those movie buffs and gamers --> Fruit, Samsung, Oppo

if you want clear audio, for those audiophiles and music lover --> Asus, LG, Sony

if you want the better camera phones --> Samsung, Oppo, LG

these are the general observations and experience i have with the different brands.
last time HTC was one of the better best-of-both world phones, esp with their large screens flag shipped models.
now, i not so sure liow.
The other best-of-both-world phone was the Nokia, esp those with the symbian OS. but windows killed it. Looking forward to the new Nokia Android base model, actually, to see if Nokia will be the comeback kid.

:grin:

well, if you really must have a guide, this is what i would base my criteria on (based on past experience testing and using some of these phones)

if you want clear graphics for those movie buffs and gamers --> Fruit, Samsung, Oppo

if you want clear audio, for those audiophiles and music lover --> Asus, LG, Sony

these are the general observations and experience i have with the different brands.

last time HTC was one of the better best-of-both world phones, esp with their large screens flag shipped models.

now, i not so sure liow.

The other best-of-both-world phone was the Nokia, esp those with the symbian OS. but windows killed it. Looking forward to the new Nokia Android base model, actually, to see if Nokia will be the comeback kid.

I gotten myself a xiaomi note 3 at $270 yesterday. So far so good. Cheap cheap.

now, i not so sure liow.

Sony phones dun have good cameras ah? I thought most phone makers are using their cameras?

some how, comparing the pictures they take, vs the ones by LG or OPPO, not so nice leh.

some how, other phones using their CMOS and their lenses can produce better pictures. at least in my opinion.

some how, comparing the pictures they take, vs the ones by LG or OPPO, not so nice leh.

some how, other phones using their CMOS and their lenses can produce better pictures. at least in my opinion.

The sensor and lens is only half the story... you also need a good Image Processor... and for whatever reason... Sony hasn't been able to provide a decent solution for their mobiles.

Yeah, but it's really surprising since Sony is supposed to be one of the premium brands for digital cameras as well.

Sony has always sucked with software. From the Connect software to the mess that was with the PS3 Cell processor to crazy DRM and backend root with their music and games distributed online or through CDs.

It's one of the major failings of that company. They could have / should have been like Apple ... if only they'd figured out software

Edited by ins1dious

Camera comparison between Sony XZ, iphone 7 and Samsung S7. Eventually went to purchase my S7 edge yesterday. Almost everywhere out of stock and price has increased to $880.

https://recombu.com/mobile/article/sony-xperia-xz-camera-review-test-comparison-vs-iphone-7-vs-galaxy-s7

Edge would be my choice if they had the 64 GB model.

My current phone has 16gb only and it gets frustrating as I have to clear stuff all the time otherwise I can't even install it update apps. 32gb doesn't sound like it is enough as well.

I've sort of decided on the lg v20 but quite worried about lgs vaunted bootlooping.

Camera comparison between Sony XZ, iphone 7 and Samsung S7. Eventually went to purchase my S7 edge yesterday. Almost everywhere out of stock and price has increased to $880.

https://recombu.com/mobile/article/sony-xperia-xz-camera-review-test-comparison-vs-iphone-7-vs-galaxy-s7

iPhone 7 Plus has better camera than iPhone 7. S7 Edge is quite good already.

Nope sony has good scores generally.

BUT my personal opinion after wanting to buy a z3 vs a S6 and owning an xperia is that Sony's auto settings are not as good as Samsung's.

https://www.dxomark.com/Mobiles/Column-right/Mobile-Scores

King now is google's pixel. 

Actually I've seen some photos taken by Sony phones on manual mode. really good. But my opinion is that the auto mode is inferior to Samsung's for example. I'm sure Samsung and apple spend lots of money on improving their software. Probably Sony doesn't have the cash to match. Their HP division is losing $ after all.

I can't consider pixel even though I like it because it isn't being sold here in SG. I need to get a phone on contract as my coy pays for the bill. Getting a contract free plan is really Bo hua for me and I'm also quite lazy to get a phone and then sell it.