Poseidon 3rd Gear May 30 Share May 30 My W213 aircon has been wonky for the past year. After driving for around 20-30 minutes, the airflow will become lower and there will be a whistling sound coming from the aircon vents. Changed blower, thought I solved the problem, the same shit came back half a year later. One workshop told me to change cooling coil, another told me to change expansion valve. Damm sian, I am planning to get rid of this problematic car soon. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 8:45 AM, Gnahp said: my wife's car is a PI car from UK after you parked the car the car will use the residue heat from the coolant, blow gently into the cabin to keep it warm and toasty angmo like it I guess... One of the objectives of blowing hot air after parking is to dry out the condensation in the coil to prevent moldy smell. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 8:48 AM, Gnahp said: yeah just like inflating tyres we need to pump tyres doesn't mean there is a puncture or something wrong with the tyres just natural loss It's a closed system made of metal, like our fridge. If no leak never need to top up. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 6:15 AM, ER-3682 said: Later see Workshop to Top Up Gas..but i spoke to a Workshop Boss..yesterday..He told me most common is Cooling Coil gone. Check the pressure readings of the 2 gauges. Recently I wanted to just top up as the AC took a few minutes to cool down but ended up having to replace the compressor. The high side pressure was too low and low side too high. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 8:45 AM, Gnahp said: my wife's car is a PI car from UK after you parked the car the car will use the residue heat from the coolant, blow gently into the cabin to keep it warm and toasty angmo like it I guess... Is that what makes the subtle machine gun noise I hear in the cabin when engine is off? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 6:15 AM, ER-3682 said: Later see Workshop to Top Up Gas..but i spoke to a Workshop Boss..yesterday..He told me most common is Cooling Coil gone. If it's cooling coil, will have some smells. If its sometimes cold sometimes not cold, usually is compressor+condenser. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 8:33 AM, Mkl22 said: I don’t like conti Aircon. Piss weak in our climate. But hearsay it was purposely designed like this as ang mo don’t like chilly air and they also don’t like gusty aircon. mazda also follows this conti design to some extent. Also weak blower. I like strong wind and cold. Bring down the cabin temp especially when parked outdoors quickly. also don’t need simi climate control. Extra heater block to leak and impede air flow for me. 🤣 Conti cars usually can code to tropical country mode. I did for my Skoda and it works. Anyone can help to do for merc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 9:29 AM, badlammy said: Is that what makes the subtle machine gun noise I hear in the cabin when engine is off? our car makes that sound too, sometimes can hear from outside when it is parked quite random, don't know what it that like typewriter sound, sending morse codes to my phone i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 30 Share May 30 (edited) On 5/30/2026 at 8:54 AM, Poseidon said: My W213 aircon has been wonky for the past year. After driving for around 20-30 minutes, the airflow will become lower and there will be a whistling sound coming from the aircon vents. Changed blower, thought I solved the problem, the same shit came back half a year later. One workshop told me to change cooling coil, another told me to change expansion valve. Damm sian, I am planning to get rid of this problematic car soon. Which lousy workshop you went? mechanic mkl22 give you advice. 🤣 Weak airflow is either blower or the internal vent flaps go haywire. The vent flaps are used to blend air and also direct air to the windscreen or floor etc. 20-30mins sounds about right when external air is brought in. Maybe your external aircon filter is blocked? go to L&Kim. Unless he was the one who gave you the suggestions. Edited May 30 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 30 Share May 30 (edited) On 5/30/2026 at 9:24 AM, Volvobrick said: It's a closed system made of metal, like our fridge. If no leak never need to top up. Not true for car aircon. Many joints with o rings and also the rubber tube to handle the engine movements. Surely will have slight loss over 7-8years. fridge is different. All welded copper pipes and hermetically seal compressor. Zero joints. If leak means got pin hole. If not cold probably compressor is worn. If all the vents are not iced up. Or with fancy fridges these days. Likely the control unit spoil. Edited May 30 by Mkl22 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 Aiyoh...ac not cold bring up the fan speed lah...still not cold bring down the temp lah...still cannot...change tyres lah...oopppsss...that's for resident hantu and a few others to partake...😁 Seriously, check whether the two ac pipes got any condensation ornot...if not, check compressor plate/disc engagement...ac/aux belt condition...those can also undermine operation...go shop check the hi and lo pressure with a gauge, top up gas when necessary and monitor for a week...back to not cold means there's an obvious leak somewhere...if it's ok, leave it till not cold again...then go inject a kind of pinhole leak sealant to try seal small slow leak...but maybe by then the leak no longer a pinhole liao...😅 I'd do refrigerant and sealant at the same time...to save time...and for prayer 🤞🙏😁 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 7:07 AM, ER-3682 said: I felt Conti Cars Aircon not very strong even when 1st Day out from Showroom..My Hybrid Camry & my Brother's Hybrid Vezel,set to 24c already enough even Hot Sun Shining outside. I won’t say all conti lar. euro ford (focus) - cold like freezer, guarantee glasses fog every time exit car. fiat, Alfa - cool and comfortable. bmw (through multi gen) - consistently not very cold, more like fan kinda temp unless outside raining. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 Fog focus...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 Ohhh...forgot to add...spray some electronic contact cleaner onto the temp sensor...wowo ones can be found near the centre curvature console...lust time i discovered it's very dusty on one wowo i had...sprayed and the ac temp was good again...current one I sprayed but no effect...needed to top up ac refrigerant...crossed for u...🤞😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 30 Share May 30 @Gnahp just ask,most Cooling Coil now Made of Aluminium or Copper.?I understand earlier Models of W126 Made of Copper,could lasts a long time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic May 30 Author Share May 30 +1 for L&K aircon pros Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 12:16 PM, ER-3682 said: @Gnahp just ask,most Cooling Coil now Made of Aluminium or Copper.?I understand earlier Models of W126 Made of Copper,could lasts a long time. I guess most, if not all are made of "use and throw away" aluminium now can you still find copper radiator in new car? 🤭 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 30 Share May 30 On 5/30/2026 at 12:28 PM, Gnahp said: I guess most, if not all are made of "use and throw away" aluminium now can you still find copper radiator in new car? 🤭 My YOM 2002 BMW 520 already alu ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...