Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Curious. How come the attitude to this news is generally orbi good or nonchalance whereas other retrenchment news are usually met with sympathy? Anyway, business is business. When your business is parroting govt propaganda and sensationalising stories, I guess the business case just doesn't exist anymore when we can just visit blogs or forums for the same or better info. Similarly, who would buy fhm when you can get better quality photos of better quality girls on Instagram and Facebook? ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Part and parcel of company restructuring. People have to be flexible and learnt to be resilient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 There are no royal family or high profile celebs here, so what can the tabloid papers write? I wonder. "Free Sheet"?! LoL... What a description. What's next? "The Sheet"? Or "Holy Sheet" if it decides to go religious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Unlikely lah... They will keep the profits for emergency cash I think you misunderstood me. Whether the keep or not, cost cut is good for shareholders So i am happy that they cut costs. However, it may cause some hardship for some people. Thats unfortunate so hope that these people are prepared Hope they didnt go about buying cars or property with huge loans Will die very ugly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 10% of whole SPH or 10% of the newpaper division? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 (edited) Anyone got insider news?Ok lah ANZ last year oct 2015 to end Sep 2016 retrench 400 leh or 20% of Singapore workforce go Google ANZ under news and you can read the article No need Google I cut and copy link for you guys to read http://www.todayonline.com/business/more-400-retrenched-anz-spore-over-past-year Edited October 12, 2016 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Curious. How come the attitude to this news is generally orbi good or nonchalance whereas other retrenchment news are usually met with sympathy? Anyway, business is business. When your business is parroting govt propaganda and sensationalising stories, I guess the business case just doesn't exist anymore when we can just visit blogs or forums for the same or better info. Similarly, who would buy fhm when you can get better quality photos of better quality girls on Instagram and Facebook? dude, tell that to LKY. (Hint* - read my signature quote..) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Curious. How come the attitude to this news is generally orbi good or nonchalance whereas other retrenchment news are usually met with sympathy? Obviously most don't agree with their way of running their 'business', so of course we cheer when bad news befalls them. Would probably be the same reaction if Temasek or GIC announce such news (or maybe even worse). Sad for those affected but they're just incidental collateral I guess. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 "Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday." KNN when they come to you with speculations, they expect you to comment since the "pubic has a right to know"!! Some bull crap reasoning that journalists use to blabber when they are met with reticence. When it involves themselves, the pubic suddenly has no right to know! Yah right!! Farking double standards...PHUI!! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 "Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday." KNN when they come to you with speculations, they expect you to comment since the "pubic has a right to know"!! Some bull crap reasoning that journalists use to blabber when they are met with reticence. When it involves themselves, the pubic suddenly has no right to know! Yah right!! Farking double standards...PHUI!! TNP style the reporter will twist that statement saying that SPH was contacted and did not deny the rumors. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 dude, tell that to LKY. (Hint* - read my signature quote..) Actually, his logic wasn't quite right either. If there is no business case for playboy at that point of time, why did he need to ban it? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 Similarly, who would buy fhm when you can get better quality photos of better quality girls on Instagram and Facebook? I subscribe to FHM Taiwan on my IPAD. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 "Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday." Any monopoly business is good business...In fact you can save more cost by removing the top management since it is monopoly. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 Any monopoly business is good business...In fact you can save more cost by removing the top management since it is monopoly. If you remove top management, where to park retired civil servant? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 i dun think it is major, probably very small headcount. 10% of headcount still not major? "Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday." KNN when they come to you with speculations, they expect you to comment since the "pubic has a right to know"!! Some bull crap reasoning that journalists use to blabber when they are met with reticence. When it involves themselves, the pubic suddenly has no right to know! Yah right!! Farking double standards...PHUI!! hahaha good point 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 Actually, his logic wasn't quite right either. If there is no business case for playboy at that point of time, why did he need to ban it? I think this is more of a legacy from Singapore strict law against pornography, especially before the Internet became ubiquitous. With today's online "free shows", one can see LKY himself accept that time has changed and no amount of censorship is gonna keep out adult-oriented content from being so accessible. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 I think you misunderstood me. Whether the keep or not, cost cut is good for shareholders So i am happy that they cut costs. However, it may cause some hardship for some people. Thats unfortunate so hope that these people are prepared Hope they didnt go about buying cars or property with huge loans Will die very ugly. Perhaps u shld start a tv show Will be bigger than suze orman I'm sure anyone will have phobia for debt after taking to u 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 13, 2016 Share October 13, 2016 Not only ANZ, i just heard ABN AMRO is going into cuts very soon. To be completed by year end. Ooooohhhhh......scary ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...