VW Golf 2017

therock

Thanks for the informative repy!

Main consideration is reliability and working within a budget and followed by the driving fun factor for the missus.

GTI brand new falls out of the budget to be frank. I looked in the used GTI market, alot of them highly modded...so is a turn off as reliability is a big worry coming from a 9yr old saab 9-3.

If I get the GTI...will throw my GLC for my wife to drive why let her have all the fun.... :D

The Mk7 1.0-1.4 is dry. Some say problems solved, some say problems persist. Personally, I would not touch the dry if given a choice. The Mk7.5 w 1.5L (not here yet) not too sure.

Actually, I like DSG. It’s quick, responsive n smooth. But my experience has been on the wet 6spd on the GTI and wet 7-spd on the A6.

That’s why I highly recommend the GTi instead of the 1.4tsi. You’ll love the drive n understand why journos still prefer it despite other hot hatches having more power, more torque, quicker 0-100. It’s simply a nicely balanced car for urban, everyday use (as I presume you’re not buying one to go tracking) and the DSG farts that it makes are heavenly....lol

The R-line is juz a trim level but mechanically still a regular Golf. Nothing wrong wif that as a Golf is still one of the better cars around but i think you’re looking for that something special in a hatch right?

Main consideration is reliability and working within a budget and followed by the driving fun factor for the missus.

GTI brand new falls out of the budget to be frank. I looked in the used GTI market, alot of them highly modded...so is a turn off as reliability is a big worry coming from a 9yr old saab 9-3.

If I get the GTI...will throw my GLC for my wife to drive why let her have all the fun.... :D

at least you can pass on your present car to her.

i told mine that she can try driving my loti car, kana @#%^&* by her. So zippeeeeeed.

If reliability is key and it’s a 2nd car, juz get something cheap n cheerful like a Jazz, K3, Elantra or Accent can liao.

Took CO to test drive the Jazz 1.5RS........immediately complain about too hight sitting position, light steering, loud revving yet no go, poor rear view.......I already got my answer...don't even need to try the rest you mentioned.

Golf 1.4 tsi she test drove too....more liveable (less complain)  than the japanese/korean counterpart, but no perfect.

I guess I got to work harder to boost the budget higher  <_<

If reliability is key and it’s a 2nd car, juz get something cheap n cheerful like a Jazz, K3, Elantra or Accent can liao.

Took CO to test drive the Jazz 1.5RS........immediately complain about too hight sitting position, light steering, loud revving yet no go, poor rear view.......I already got my answer...don't even need to try the rest you mentioned.

Golf 1.4 tsi she test drove too....more liveable (less complain) than the japanese/korean counterpart, but no perfect.

I guess I got to work harder to boost the budget higher <_<

Wahaha....ur CO high standard sia. But it’s true oso la, i test drove the Jazz 1.5 b4 and walked away w the same impressions. Oso tested the Swift Sport 1.6L when they were clearing at 89k, the CVT sibei CMI. Car lots of noise w no corresponding urgency in motion. Hopped back into my GTi n life was good again....lol

Every house also have their own difficult scripture to read. :D

She might be able to live with my present car, acceleration is decent and handling not too shabby....she complains that too big for her to park, not the right image....almost want to ask her what exactly she wants..... [rolleyes]  but that will be suicide.... :XD:

at least you can pass on your present car to her.

i told mine that she can try driving my loti car, kana @#%^&* by her. So zippeeeeeed.

Bro..that model is still using the infamous dry DSG

usually ppl mistake dry as problematic. The clutches just have a higher wear rate. it's however a cheaper part to replace. Many cars still use the dry, some single, most dual. 

The Mk7 1.0-1.4 is dry. Some say problems solved, some say problems persist. Personally, I would not touch the dry if given a choice. The Mk7.5 w 1.5L (not here yet) not too sure.

Actually, I like DSG. It’s quick, responsive n smooth. But my experience has been on the wet 6spd on the GTI and wet 7-spd on the A6.

That’s why I highly recommend the GTi instead of the 1.4tsi. You’ll love the drive n understand why journos still prefer it despite other hot hatches having more power, more torque, quicker 0-100. It’s simply a nicely balanced car for urban, everyday use (as I presume you’re not buying one to go tracking) and the DSG farts that it makes are heavenly....lol

The R-line is juz a trim level but mechanically still a regular Golf. Nothing wrong wif that as a Golf is still one of the better cars around but i think you’re looking for that something special in a hatch right?

dual clutch is too smooth for my liking. wet is even worse, however it's more durable. 

usually ppl mistake dry as problematic. The clutches just have a higher wear rate. it's however a cheaper part to replace. Many cars still use the dry, some single, most dual.

dual clutch is too smooth for my liking. wet is even worse, however it's more durable.

Why u no like smooth shifting tranny?

Every house also have their own difficult scripture to read. :D

She might be able to live with my present car, acceleration is decent and handling not too shabby....she complains that too big for her to park, not the right image....almost want to ask her what exactly she wants..... [rolleyes] but that will be suicide.... :XD:

Why not consider the 116d then? Almost the same depre as the Golf R-Line. RWD n dun hv to worry abt the dry box

Why u no like smooth shifting tranny?

cannot feel the kick. it's so smooth like cvt. The single dry clutch is my favorite. nice sounding too. 

hmmm thanks! can consider, but concern about the diesel when my wife only do short distances most of the week.

her trips are so short, sometimes have to ask her to driver longer or idle longer so as to keep her battery from losing too much charge.

Why not consider the 116d then? Almost the same depre as the Golf R-Line. RWD n dun hv to worry abt the dry box

Kick? you mean the engine power surge from a SC/Turbo? It's just a matter of holding the gear long enough for the RPM to get high enough for the peak torque in the power band.

Don't think that comes from the transmission shifting quality. Rough jerky shifting is different animal altogether.

cannot feel the kick. it's so smooth like cvt. The single dry clutch is my favorite. nice sounding too. 

Kick? you mean the engine power surge from a SC/Turbo? It's just a matter of holding the gear long enough for the RPM to get high enough for the peak torque in the power band.

Don't think that comes from the transmission shifting quality. Rough jerky shifting is different animal altogether.

I think he meant the jerk from upshifting.

Double clutch removes the jerk like TC AT.

But why would anyone want a jerky gearbox?...

i mean feeling the gearshifts. u get it from a single clutch. like driving a full manual car. it's more jerky though, which is not to everyone's taste. hence the dual clutch comes in. 

But why would anyone want a jerky gearbox?...

to feel the car more, in terms of shifting. The earlier Ferraris, from 355 to 430 all used a single clutch. F1 still uses a single clutch. The car im driving is using similar parts to those Ferraris. Old school, but feels great. 

Also to answer yr question, why would anyone want a car without power steering? something like tat. 

tats right. it's a slight jerk. 

here's a clip to illustrate my point. 

Thanks for the tips!

Yeah... beginning to feel like just getting the GTI...although kind of wasted cos CO will be driving

I known of many who bought a GTi but are retirees.

If you can buy something with Wet clutch in 1.4twin charge golf, slightly older like 09 or 10, that would work for you.

Check the VIN number under the passenger wiper view from outside.

Match it with this website 

https://vindecoder.eu/volkswagen

Should be able to list out what is the car build as

Edited by Sdf4786k

I'm quite worried about the dry clutch problem, else I may have gotten a Golf.  [laugh]

Hi, i am collecting the new golf 1.4 hl this week . Anything i should look out for ?