Scholesy 4th Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 I wont disagree that COE may drop further but it will only be for CAT A ,and if any, it will not drop too much. CAT B has lesser influence from PHV, so regardless PHVs have excess car or not, there would be no impact to CAT B COE price. This is fact. The recent CAT B slight decline seems to be due to lack of new model in that range to attract buying interest. This is my personal view. in my view both will drop la. cat a def from phv reduction. in the very first place, to do PHV, why even need new cars and pay 10k depn? a 9yo 6k depn does the job as well. using U/G merely as exchange platform, all maintenance on driver. but can understand also la, that time they have too much investor money to spend, now after so many years of losses, time has come to consolidate and show investors the money. for cat b, i dare say its due to the stock market chiong. all the huat goes into the not so high value luxury goods temporary driving it. i dun know abt the gurus but even if i suddenly find $10, i wont put $1 into stocks now. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 Just to have a scale of things for those waiting for 35K COE, which is a drop of 7k from current levels. The ADs may drop price by 5K max if that happens. If that 5-7K makes or breaks a decision to buy a car, then probably one shouldn't even consider owning. If the majority think it will continue to slide and hold back, it will slide more. 1. LCR need to let go "some" stock. Some buyers removed. 2. UG stop bidding for new COE... 3. New models can't meet the demand for the next few months. So, mid term out look, COE should be heading down. For those who has car with <1 year, sell now already can't get much back. Might as well drive till scrap. With potential of saving when get new car? $10k saved, maybe could get a better brand or model. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 http://m.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/promo.php?CarCode=11832&PID=8241 31k coe promo? I joy for this, was hoping and praying to see Cat A coe hovering at this amount.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 I joy for this, was hoping and praying to see Cat A coe hovering at this amount..How much is this cheaper than before? I am more of a pessimistic.perso , i read it as , if coe does not drop below 31k, dont expect to get a single cent rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 (edited) That's true. But it will also be doubly furious when it bounces back due to pent up demand. Why should new consumers (for example new graduates who start work in 2016) who just saved enough to buy cars in 2018-2020 pay much more because of demand shifted backwards from 2017 due to buyers who delay their move just to pip the price minimally lower? There are also personal risks to those who delay, regulatory risks being one of them. There are very good and valid reasons to delay, but holding back solely on the hope of that 5K reduction is not a good one in my opinion. In other words, I am also saying that if one can't buy at 42-45K COE, he/she should also not buy at 35K COE. If the majority think it will continue to slide and hold back, it will slide more.1. LCR need to let go "some" stock. Some buyers removed.2. UG stop bidding for new COE...3. New models can't meet the demand for the next few months.So, mid term out look, COE should be heading down.For those who has car with <1 year, sell now already can't get much back. Might as well drive till scrap. With potential of saving when get new car? $10k saved, maybe could get a better brand or model. Edited August 28, 2017 by Showster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 Hi my car mileage is more than 130,000 and due end sep. I travel more than 70km on weekdays. Car condition is ok. I will certainly need a car. Would like to seek advice if is wiser to renew a 5yr coe and get a new car later or get a new one now. Will coe be cheaper in the next few yrs?Hey, your mileage similar to my but I left 1.5 yearsMy thought; Renew or not depend on type of car... Your mileage definitely worth renew... if renew, go for 10 years...scarp/10 instead of 5... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 Hi my car mileage is more than 130,000 and due end sep. I travel more than 70km on weekdays. Car condition is ok. I will certainly need a car. Would like to seek advice if is wiser to renew a 5yr coe and get a new car later or get a new one now. Will coe be cheaper in the next few yrs? COE will definitely be cheaper next year. But COE will probably be more expensive in 5 years time unless the Lehmans strike again and there is a collapse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 I wont disagree that COE may drop further but it will only be for CAT A ,and if any, it will not drop too much. CAT B has lesser influence from PHV, so regardless PHVs have excess car or not, there would be no impact to CAT B COE price. This is fact. The recent CAT B slight decline seems to be due to lack of new model in that range to attract buying interest. This is my personal view. I noticed there are numerous car 'used' car ( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 (edited) Ha... Our coe have been through all sorts of negative interntional m local crisis for these past 2 yrs. The only way to cause the coe to drop, I think is world war 3 Edited August 28, 2017 by Kia7200 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 Ha... Our coe have been through all sorts of negative interntional m local crisis for these past 2 yrs. The only way to cause the coe to drop, I think is world war 3 If WW3 comes.....i dont think anybody will scrap their car.......we will be in the thick of action and who would give a dank about coe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 Ha... Our coe have been through all sorts of negative interntional m local crisis for these past 2 yrs. The only way to cause the coe to drop, I think is world war 3 Slow global growth, not into recession. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 I noticed there are numerous car 'used' car (ð± A&B) that are few months old, very low mileage... Wonder if PI register because COE due liao If yes, another sign of weak market??? Cheaper next year ð³ How do you read the impact of cev and ves? Those salesmen said car with high cev now will cost more next year. Make sense? You might be right. Maybe everybody is scared of PI scam. Only dare to buy when the car is ready. One hand pay money, one hand collect car. No more put deposit and let the PI run road. VES will slap $10k to many models. Car price will go up. But if many cannot afford the extra $10k, COE might adjust lower. But hard to predict the net effect. I am sure, there will be a mad rush to register cars in Nov Dec. COE might go up for that period. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 (edited) I noticed there are numerous car 'used' car ( Edited August 28, 2017 by andrewyewkc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahpan 1st Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 I think COE may go up next year. Even if COE drop, car price may increase. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 At the end, lppl, coe down, car price up, neutralise the benefit of lower coe... wrf... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 You might be right. Maybe everybody is scared of PI scam. Only dare to buy when the car is ready. One hand pay money, one hand collect car. No more put deposit and let the PI run road. VES will slap $10k to many models. Car price will go up. But if many cannot afford the extra $10k, COE might adjust lower. But hard to predict the net effect. I am sure, there will be a mad rush to register cars in Nov Dec. COE might go up for that period. That mean good to buy such 'new' used car lei, no risk of dp kana Makan...But must get significant discount from New car price... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perspectivism 3rd Gear August 28, 2017 Share August 28, 2017 If the majority think it will continue to slide and hold back, it will slide more. 1. LCR need to let go "some" stock. Some buyers removed. 2. UG stop bidding for new COE... 3. New models can't meet the demand for the next few months. So, mid term out look, COE should be heading down. For those who has car with <1 year, sell now already can't get much back. Might as well drive till scrap. With potential of saving when get new car? $10k saved, maybe could get a better brand or model. According to some.. no matter what happens. COE will never drop. Reason is because: they recently bought their COE ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...