SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 I think we both have read that some of the ministers are more old looking than their actual age.. Surely they feel the pressure and surely got KPI lar.. My sister in law works for a government agency, the Minister policy and decision always leans toward the voters at the expense of the staffs working for that ministry. From her view, she thinks its is unfair. As a Minister and also the big boss, it is also his job to take care of the interests of the staffs. But why is he not doing it? Cold it be related to KPIs and Criticism (less complaint the better)? . So I was thinking are our expectations of the government a bit too unreasonable? Imagine if we are one of the unreasonable complainers, our complaint can be a direct impact on the staff working for the ministry. That staff could be your wife or someone close to you. So I always say, Be careful of what we wish. http://www.asiaone.com/singapore/smrt-maintenance-staff-bonuses-will-be-affected-following-system-failure https://asia.nikkei.com/Politics-Economy/Policy-Politics/Taiwan-minister-resigns-over-massive-power-outage Very different outcomes don't you think?? Again... pls dont infer i want the transport minister to resign... I dont want to blindly criticize... not as much as you blindly defend... ** with regards abt the expectation of the gahmen part.... you think the rate of breakdown in public transport is reasonable? Or do you actually think the system is on the road to improvement?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
grandis123 4th Gear October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 http://www.asiaone.com/singapore/smrt-maintenance-staff-bonuses-will-be-affected-following-system-failure https://asia.nikkei.com/Politics-Economy/Policy-Politics/Taiwan-minister-resigns-over-massive-power-outage Very different outcomes don't you think?? Again... pls dont infer i want the transport minister to resign... I dont want to blindly criticize... not as much as you blindly defend... ** with regards abt the expectation of the gahmen part.... you think the rate of breakdown in public transport is reasonable? Or do you actually think the system is on the road to improvement?? Yes I agreed that the MRT system is a big issue now. The transport ministry are looking into it and surely they are not sitting and pushing away responsibilities. Going forward, there will still be breakdowns because which MRT in the world does not break down? But I agree, the breakdown rates must be reduced. I told my colleagues that we are also human being. We also cock up but we cannot tolerate government cock up just because the ministers are getting very high salaries so they must ensure this and that. Are we a bit unreasonable in our expectation I asked my colleague? I told my children, dont join the politics even though you make the cut because it is quite an unappreciative job. You do wrong you kena, you do right, it is part of the job. Actually, in life it is like but at least we are not criticise publicly. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 Yes I agreed that the MRT system is a big issue now. The transport ministry are looking into it and surely they are not sitting and pushing away responsibilities. Going forward, there will still be breakdowns because which MRT in the world does not break down? But I agree, the breakdown rates must be reduced. I told my colleagues that we are also human being. We also cock up but we cannot tolerate government cock up just because the ministers are getting very high salaries so they must ensure this and that. Are we a bit unreasonable in our expectation I asked my colleague? I told my children, dont join the politics even though you make the cut because it is quite an unappreciative job. You do wrong you kena, you do right, it is part of the job. Actually, in life it is like but at least we are not criticise publicly. If today.. this debate is after 1-2 mths... I’m unreasonable... now it’s 2-3 YEARS... sorry Bro.. my confidence diluted liao... no signs of any improvements.. only worsening... and I’m unappreciative? Ok lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 17, 2017 Author Share October 17, 2017 (edited) If today.. this debate is after 1-2 mths... Iâm unreasonable... now itâs 2-3 YEARS... sorry Bro.. my confidence diluted liao... no signs of any improvements.. only worsening... and Iâm unappreciative? Ok lor... Agree, every few days we see one fault except their fault, i see no end to the problem. Right from day one the decision to privatise the largest national mass rapid transit was already wrong. Every CEO will focus on top line, build more shops around MRT stations to collect rents, cut on maintenance cost to maximise profit, sweeping all the problems under the carpet and pass on the problems to another CEO before he/she parachutes out with a huge bonus. The elite scholars fail to see this coming ? I dont think so. Now the system is inherited with so much problems because lack of maintenance, whose fault to begin with? Edited October 17, 2017 by Ct3833 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 (edited) Yes I agreed that the MRT system is a big issue now. The transport ministry are looking into it and surely they are not sitting and pushing away responsibilities. Going forward, there will still be breakdowns because which MRT in the world does not break down? But I agree, the breakdown rates must be reduced. I told my colleagues that we are also human being. We also cock up but we cannot tolerate government cock up just because the ministers are getting very high salaries so they must ensure this and that. Are we a bit unreasonable in our expectation I asked my colleague? I told my children, dont join the politics even though you make the cut because it is quite an unappreciative job. You do wrong you kena, you do right, it is part of the job. Actually, in life it is like but at least we are not criticise publicly. A few things. 1) criticism of the minister is not the same as criticising the rank and file. Highest pay demands the highest result. Imagine if I demand the highest pay because I claim to be best of best and when I get criticised for not delivering I say I am a human only. I know there are online critics who also blast the rank and file but that's just life. No one is exempt. 2) one reason why there is so much criticism is cos of lack of accountability. If Desmond returned his bonuses or say no bonus for him of breakdowns persist there will be a lot of goodwill for him. Unfortunately he is still taking his bonuses, MIA during crucial periods and so on so there is criticism. 3) if ministers were paid average salaries maybe we won't say so much. Not talking about peanuts but just roughly the same pay as the rest of the world leaders in developed countries. 4) all leaders, which include political office holders, must be willing to be criticised and take responsibility when needed. That is why they are leaders. Cos they are to be at the forefront while the rest follow behind. If you cannot handle it, resign. 5) lastly, should you advice your children to join politics? No comments. I ever thought of just going for it but i don't think I can handle then pressure of even the election campaign. Heck I can't even wait out the SE and topped up for my car. So I don't join. I don't think we are unreasonable. Extra ordinary pay, extra ordinary expectations. I do realise that they also face a lot of stress but they can choose to step down after a term or two. But they don't. So that's their problem. It's like the CEO refuse to step down after many years then still tell the shareholders he is very stressed... BTW making the cut for politics also mean able to handle to pressure of politics as well. Not just scoring in exams. So if your children can make the cut for politics it means they can handle to critics. If they can't it means they are not cut out to be politicians. Edited October 17, 2017 by Philipkee 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 Yes I agreed that the MRT system is a big issue now. The transport ministry are looking into it and surely they are not sitting and pushing away responsibilities. Going forward, there will still be breakdowns because which MRT in the world does not break down? But I agree, the breakdown rates must be reduced. I told my colleagues that we are also human being. We also cock up but we cannot tolerate government cock up just because the ministers are getting very high salaries so they must ensure this and that. Are we a bit unreasonable in our expectation I asked my colleague? I told my children, dont join the politics even though you make the cut because it is quite an unappreciative job. You do wrong you kena, you do right, it is part of the job. Actually, in life it is like but at least we are not criticise publicly. Erhhh.. if u got inside info on the maintenance programs during Sxx's reign , I think u will have a diff. take on the current MRT fiascos..U can never imagine how inept a CEO can be n yet drawing millions every year... I rest my case.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 Why not? If they expect netizens to be merciful to them also.That’s why u are not a politician and they are. U likely also think opposition are saints while pap are devil when actually both are the same. A few things. 1) criticism of the minister is not the same as criticising the rank and file. Highest pay demands the highest result. Imagine if I demand the highest pay because I claim to be best of best and when I get criticised for not delivering I say I am a human only. I know there are online critics who also blast the rank and file but that's just life. No one is exempt. 2) one reason why there is so much criticism is cos of lack of accountability. If Desmond returned his bonuses or say no bonus for him of breakdowns persist there will be a lot of goodwill for him. Unfortunately he is still taking his bonuses, MIA during crucial periods and so on so there is criticism. 3) if ministers were paid average salaries maybe we won't say so much. Not talking about peanuts but just roughly the same pay as the rest of the world leaders in developed countries. 4) all leaders, which include political office holders, must be willing to be criticised and take responsibility when needed. That is why they are leaders. Cos they are to be at the forefront while the rest follow behind. If you cannot handle it, resign. 5) lastly, should you advice your children to join politics? No comments. I ever thought of just going for it but i don't think I can handle then pressure of even the election campaign. Heck I can't even wait out the SE and topped up for my car. So I don't join. I don't think we are unreasonable. Extra ordinary pay, extra ordinary expectations. I do realise that they also face a lot of stress but they can choose to step down after a term or two. But they don't. So that's their problem. It's like the CEO refuse to step down after many years then still tell the shareholders he is very stressed... BTW making the cut for politics also mean able to handle to pressure of politics as well. Not just scoring in exams. So if your children can make the cut for politics it means they can handle to critics. If they can't it means they are not cut out to be politicians. Extra ordinarily pay because u don’t earn a lot. Talk to those TOP earner. They call our minister stupid. Do so much for pitiful pay. I use to think they earn a lot until I talk to those real rich people. They consider minister pay pitiful. Hard to believe?? Yes. I also cannot believe until I heard it with my own ear. Culture Shock I tell u. But it’s very true. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocy Hypersonic October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 Yes I agreed that the MRT system is a big issue now. The transport ministry are looking into it and surely they are not sitting and pushing away responsibilities. Going forward, there will still be breakdowns because which MRT in the world does not break down? But I agree, the breakdown rates must be reduced. I told my colleagues that we are also human being. We also cock up but we cannot tolerate government cock up just because the ministers are getting very high salaries so they must ensure this and that. Are we a bit unreasonable in our expectation I asked my colleague? I told my children, dont join the politics even though you make the cut because it is quite an unappreciative job. You do wrong you kena, you do right, it is part of the job. Actually, in life it is like but at least we are not criticise publicly. What we think a chief's responsibilities should be when the national transportation system he is in charge of keeps breaking down especially his remuneration is best among his counterparts around the world. Your thoughts? Some things can afford screw-up but few can in the public office. AirAsia almost screwed up just some days back and MAS lost a plane and many innocent lives when it screwed up some years ago. In public office, if NK Pui Pui were to screw up with his command on nuclear ....... probably hundreds of millions ppl would varnish. These may be extreme examples. When our MRT screwed up, tens of thousands ppl were late and how you count the man hours lost. It is also a loss to the nation economically not to mention the loss/ consequence of each individual were to suffer. Your thoughts? 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 17, 2017 Author Share October 17, 2017 (edited) .... I need CSCBB to enlighten me with a breakthrough summary after so many opinions posted. Edited October 17, 2017 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 (edited) That’s why u are not a politician and they are. U likely also think opposition are saints while pap are devil when actually both are the same. Extra ordinarily pay because u don’t earn a lot. Talk to those TOP earner. They call our minister stupid. Do so much for pitiful pay. I use to think they earn a lot until I talk to those real rich people. They consider minister pay pitiful. Hard to believe?? Yes. I also cannot believe until I heard it with my own ear. Culture Shock I tell u. But it’s very true. Told you MCF $500k pa is middle income, right?Told you $5kpm salary is the poor of today, right? Now you believe me huh... Next time, whatever i say, you better believe. Muayhahaha Edited October 17, 2017 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 17, 2017 Share October 17, 2017 I need CSCBB to enlighten me with a breakthrough summary after so many opinions posted. i really cant believe some people would rather gives a blank cheque to others thinking what the other do would benefit the general public.The AIM saga, the thrash bin centre and the public family squabble shows what is going wrong with our country. No doubt there are good leaders giving their best so that our country will prosper and survive in this already competetive world but there are hang-arounds who rides on the success of their counterparts drawing obscene salaries and making gaffe after gaffe during their speech which actually challenged the audience's oratory functions. Do our leaders hold sway to the peace and security of the world like those from the west or the far east....no! Do they hold the economy of the world by it's neck in an economic stranglehold.....no? Do they have the clouts to hold the rest of the world by the ears and say 'you all must listen to us, period'...no! We are just a small nation and a middleman at best where the citizens are squeezed on a daily basis and squeezed till we are like a prune shrivelled and dried. Many cant even afford to retire and most just lives life day by day waiting for the next paycheck and we are supposed to be the highest in the world in per capita income. How we came to this stage.......no scapegoat please! 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 I think we both have read that some of the ministers are more old looking than their actual age.. Surely they feel the pressure and surely got KPI lar.. My sister in law works for a government agency, the Minister policy and decision always leans toward the voters at the expense of the staffs working for that ministry. From her view, she thinks its is unfair. As a Minister and also the big boss, it is also his job to take care of the interests of the staffs. But why is he not doing it? Cold it be related to KPIs and Criticism (less complaint the better)? . So I was thinking are our expectations of the government a bit too unreasonable? Imagine if we are one of the unreasonable complainers, our complaint can be a direct impact on the staff working for the ministry. That staff could be your wife or someone close to you. So I always say, Be careful of what we wish. Just curious, r u the sub con for CCB? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 Told you MCF $500k pa is middle income, right? Told you $5kpm salary is the poor of today, right? Now you believe me huh... Next time, whatever i say, you better believe. Muayhahaha When have I ever don’t believe u. U recognise me for another person ah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 re: convictions and ideals should come first... This is why gahmen bashers think Chee is a hero. He got sweet tongue but LKY call him a charlatan. All rhetoric and not able to deliver. Promise the citizens USA liberalism at whatever cost. He had his mind to empty the reserves just to provide welfare to his own cronies (while using the 'oppressed poor' as pawns and bargaining chips before the western nations. "Ideals" have also led the US into this partisan standoff. LKY says that pragmatic socialism is the better middle ground for now. If it does not result in better life for all communities, change. The oppies and you like to mouth empty slogans searching for moral high ground but you are parroting idiots. re: ...we should not use the criteria of the private sector... And yet you use private sector AGM for stock holders as example? See how lousy you are? "blindly defend"? Grandis has reasoned arguments to rebutt you. On the other hand, you stick with your demand for "accountability" despite the Minister going on record to give solid completion dates. And you admit you drive to work! You hardly use public transport. What satisfaction does it give you to be counted among the Hypocrite Complainers here? So in the 2-3 years since got rid of Phiak, all the train lines and stations closed and unused? DTL phases 2 and 3 not completed? Kids left in fear to use the trains? How can you insist on "no signs of any improvement"? Besides, you admitted you drive to work. This is truly a case of middle class white collar senior adult worker citizen just jumping on the bandwagon of gahmen bashers. Plse show some class lah since your discourse with me started so strong. So... becoz im a guy... i shld not give care about if my wife has maternity leave?? I drive so .. i dont need to care of my colleagues get in late for work? im hardly old btw.... and im not gahmen basher... nor am i a gahmen supporter... I also pointed out repeatedly i am in general agreement with wat you said.... and at no point did i say i wont bash the government... can improve= can improve! period. its not purely black and white... to the greys... both colours are deluded... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 Since I demolished Philipkee's fake history, it also means those who praised his post know even less than him! And since they are Hypocrite Complainers, it proves that empty vessels make the most noise. As a public service here are their nicks: Theoldjaffa, DACH, Aaronlkl, Vratenza, ALTK, Staff69, Ct3833 and 6 other members praised this. Remember that stupidity is infectious. Stay away from them. And since they are empty vessels, their input is less value. You can insult all you want because I know it's your form of defence. Your bloated ego is shamelessly high. You are the perfect negative example of how we should not conduct ourselves. I pity you just like how I pity mentally deranged persons. You can carry on your verbal diarrhoea because I understand it is stressful for you and you need to vent. Just to remind you, like plot twists, you are the game and we are the players. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey2011 5th Gear October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 (edited) The non-whites were not citizens so they did not bother. They were not demanding and banging table to be allowed to establish their own defence force, as you imply. When Peoples Defence Force was allowed in late 1930s, ranks were filled. Singapore fell in Feb 1942 but it was not Republic of Singapore which fell to Imperial Japan. Lim Bo Seng did not set up resistance movement for the Republic of Singapore. Firstly you assumed and accused all non-whites were not interested defending Singapore during WW2. But now you have admit there were non-white, like our Hero Mr. Lim Bo Seng who died defending Singapore. Who got it wrong at first? Another thing, you argued with this point there were no Republic of Singapore during WW2, so to you Singapore history only count after Republic of Singapore was formed, anything before that don't count as part of history of Singapore not worth to consider? Is this what LKY and his teammates had taught you about Singapore's history? By your theory separating Republic of Singapore from the Singapore history, Republic of Singapore had never lose a War Battle in fact, then that downfall of Singapore during WW2 appear not important to you? Edited October 18, 2017 by Odyssey2011 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 The difference between the great managers and the managers who think they are great, The truly great managers listen and understand. The ones who are great only in their own minds talk and assume. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugimoto 6th Gear October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 (edited) Firstly you assumed and accused all non-whites were not interested defending Singapore during WW2. But now you have admit there were non-white, like our Hero Mr. Lim Bo Seng who died defending Singapore. Who got it wrong at first? Another thing, you argued with this point there were no Republic of Singapore during WW2, so to you Singapore history only count after Republic of Singapore was formed, anything before that don't count as part of history of Singapore not worth to consider? Is this what LKY and his teammates had taught you about Singapore's history? By your theory separating Republic of Singapore from the Singapore history, Republic of Singapore had never lose a War Battle in fact, then that downfall of Singapore during WW2 appear not important to you? You can insult all you want because I know it's your form of defence. Your bloated ego is shamelessly high. You are the perfect negative example of how we should not conduct ourselves. I pity you just like how I pity mentally deranged persons. You can carry on your verbal diarrhoea because I understand it is stressful for you and you need to vent. Just to remind you, like plot twists, you are the game and we are the players. C016EE71-91D1-4A8F-AC7D-58C64390C65C.jpeg Guys, dun talk to him so much lah. He can link our WW2 heroes with his senior chinese hypocrites insults has already showed his poor taste. The heroes will visit him at nite to give him endless party sooner or later. Edited October 18, 2017 by Sugimoto ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...