Edited by Vratenza

in theory, it’s fair because ves rebate is used to knock down the arf

lower arf collected means lower parf rebate

but the ves rebate kena makan by dealer as part of profit margin

it’s not dollar to dollar reduce in car price when there is a ves rebate

sibei song ah! ... lol

ha ha... ok ok. I also thought Govt where got so good...

really chao kuan hor... for VES rebate, they will minus it off when calculating the PARF.

then for surcharge, they will not add it back when calculating PARF...

The 20K VES penalty is used to enhance our MRT system's reliability so that less people will drive cars to reduce the environmental pollution.

Then the stupid MRT keep breaking down and overcrowding until people go back driving their cars, but greener cars.

based on ah gong theory, then ves need to increase 200% to help the poor and improve PT ... lol

Then the stupid MRT keep breaking down and overcrowding until people go back driving their cars, but greener cars.

based on ah gong theory, then ves need to increase 200% to help the poor and improve PT ... lol

Nothing is enough for them.

Even GST increase to 15% also not enough for them.

Is VES subject to 7% GST too?

For that matter, apart from OMV, are:

- ARF

- excise

- registration fee

- COE

subject to GST?

The 20K VES penalty is used to enhance our MRT system's reliability so that less people will drive cars to reduce the environmental pollution.

That is when there is 20k VES penatly. What about thr 20k bonus for green car? When sold, they take back like CEV or they dont take back? Edited by Lotr8445r

Next time nobody can scrap early especially those with high VES ... more polluting on the road lo !

Of course they take back... In fact just look at your one motoring car details, you will know how much is your "paper value" when you scrap. Meaning ah gong need to return you much less  from their coffers when you scrap your car.

Buy green car, you kenna jiak by the dealers.... Buy non-green car you contributing to mrt reliability servicing. 

Best is to buy VES neutral cars.  :D

That is when there is 20k VES penatly. What about thr 20k bonus for green car? When sold, they take back like CEV or they dont take back?

Of course they take back... In fact just look at your one motoring car details, you will know how much is your "paper value" when you scrap. Meaning ah gong need to return you much less from their coffers when you scrap your car.

Buy green car, you kenna jiak by the dealers.... Buy non-green car you contributing to mrt reliability servicing.

Best is to buy VES neutral cars. :D

Then we are back to MPI engine again...

Actually ves rebate eat into parf is good if you dont drive full 10 years? You get the straight discount.

Then again it probably affect resale price.

So neutral band cars still the best.

Actually ves rebate eat into parf is good if you dont drive full 10 years? You get the straight discount.

Then again it probably affect resale price.

So neutral band cars still the best.

VES rebate is good for buyers even if the amount is offset against the PARF.

For example, the Honda Jazz 1.3 with OMV at say $15,500 and VES rebate at 10K. Selling price for Jazz is say $75K.

AD's cost to bring in the car is about 35K including custom duty and GST. 

Including the VES tax rebate of 10K and COE at say 30K, AD's actual cost is 35K + 30K - 10K = 55K; hence AD makes 20K profit.

If the Jazz is at VES 0, AD may price the Jazz at 85K to maintain their profit of 20K. 

So, you save 10K with VES rebate but your scrap value will be reduce from $7,750 (50% of OMV) to $2,750 (50% of 15500-10K) which is exactly 5k less. So effectively, with VES rebate for the Jazz, you save 5K even if you keep the Jazz up to 10 years.

AD includes the rebate in the final sale price. If there is no VES rebate, you are likely to pay 10K more upfront even though your actual saving for the Jazz is only 5K.

can someone advise whether VES scheme is applicable for COE renew car? thanks

Will happen

VES only applicable for new car and is to encourage dealers to bring in more eco-friendly cars. 

For new cars only.