BenTong Turbocharged January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 COE crashed to $10k. I go renew my old pok car with high pollutant. please take cue number.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 new technology is always expensive at first. hoping that the technology and local infrastructure can improve with time so that one day all cars on the road are electric cars ððI just hope hydrogen powered engine technology will accelerate within the next five years. It has a big potential as a viable alternative energy option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 with this confusion.. letâs hope more ppl stay sideline donât book car.. COE not pressured upwards..It also means SEs hv another 6 mths to play the ‘buy now if not price go up’ scare tactic 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 It also means SEs hv another 6 mths to play the âbuy now if not price go upâ scare tacticWhy u pour cold water? Hate u.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 I won't drive a hydrogen car and I also don't allow other to drive a hydrogen car lor ..... Just imagine, moving explosives all over the place. Hydrogen will explode one leh ....... I just hope hydrogen powered engine technology will accelerate within the next five years.It has a big potential as a viable alternative energy option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 I won't drive a hydrogen car and I also don't allow other to drive a hydrogen car lor ..... Just imagine, moving explosives all over the place. Hydrogen will explode one leh ....... Friend, technologies advanced already. Not 20th century liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 Hydrogen is hydrogen lor ....... remember that science experiment in school ....... pop lor Friend, technologies advanced already. Not 20th century liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 BMW i3 and i8i8 is not electric car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 i8 is not electric car Ok, my mistake. It's a plugin hybrid car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 I won't drive a hydrogen car and I also don't allow other to drive a hydrogen car lor ..... Just imagine, moving explosives all over the place. Hydrogen will explode one leh ....... Toyota Mirai is the only fuel cell hybrid vehicles Fuel cell is the best alternative to fossil fuel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwee85 5th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 from my crude understanding. The Lightest body weight, plus, the lightest wheel/rims combo, plus, the narrowest least resistance tyres, plus,the leanest engine set-up(dont care about engine life), plus, start stop system, plus, cylinder deactivation, plus, no-aircon, etc. I think Kei car will be favourable to get $20k rebate.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 More than half of new Norway car sales now electric or hybrid http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/more-than-half-of-new-norway-car-sales-now-electric-or-hybrid-9830068 Now this is the way forward which should not be too difficult for a small country. But alas ..... everyone here knows the story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 (edited) Exactly lor, left Toyota ....... last time a lot of manufacturer did spend on R&D fuel cell ....... I think Merc spent a lot lor ?? Just imagine, as my precious Diesel Kia stopping at a junction and the car beside infront behind a Mirai exploded ....... yalor ..... Toyota Mirai is the only fuel cell hybrid vehiclesFuel cell is the best alternative to fossil fuel Edited January 3, 2018 by Apple-Tree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 (edited) Hydrogen is hydrogen lor ....... remember that science experiment in school ....... pop lorPetrol will also pop. But people are still so crazy about buying it all around the world. Edited January 3, 2018 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 (edited) Toyota Mirai is the only fuel cell hybrid vehicles Fuel cell is the best alternative to fossil fuel That's true. But again, it comes down to infrastructure and tax incentives for it to have any chance of widespread adoption. Was watching a Consumer Reports episode about most hated cars in 2017, and one of the guys cited the Toyota Mirai. Not because it was a bad car, but because the nearest hydrogen filling station was 30 miles away. If the government is serious about it, its not rocket science to put in effective policies because many countries have done so effective, and not to mention that Singapore is in a perfect position for efficient infrastructure build out because its a rich city state with high population density. So big question is whether the political will to allocate the necessary budget is there - in order to build up the infrastructure and to give significant tax incentives like Norway to promote clean cars - OR does the government simply look at private transport as a cash cow, where clean cars are good to have as long as they are cost neutral ? Looking at the half hearted measures to date, I suspect its the latter. Link - Edited January 3, 2018 by Fungyee77 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 Exactly lor, left Toyota ....... last time a lot of manufacturer did spend on R&D fuel cell ....... I think Merc spent a lot lor ?? Just imagine, as my precious Diesel Kia stopping at a junction and the car beside infront behind a Mirai exploded ....... yalor ..... BMW is still doing R&D on it LPG car will also pop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 That's true. But again, it comes down to infrastructure and tax incentives for it to have any chance of widespread adoption. Was watching a Consumer Reports episode about most hated cars in 2017, and one of the guys cited the Toyota Mirai. Not because it was a bad car, but because the nearest hydrogen filling station was 30 miles away. If the government is serious about it, its not rocket science to put in effective policies because many countries have done so effective, and not to mention that Singapore is in a perfect position for efficient infrastructure build out because its a rich city state with high population density. So big question is whether the political will to allocate the necessary budget is there - in order to build up the infrastructure and to give significant tax incentives like Norway to promote clean cars - OR does the government simply look at private transport as a cash cow, where clean cars are good to have as long as they are cost neutral ? Looking at the half hearted measures to date, I suspect its the latter. Link - That's the problem of this govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelaihoyin 5th Gear January 3, 2018 Share January 3, 2018 from my crude understanding. The Lightest body weight, plus, the lightest wheel/rims combo, plus, the narrowest least resistance tyres, plus,the leanest engine set-up(dont care about engine life), plus, start stop system, plus, cylinder deactivation, plus, no-aircon, etc. I think Kei car will be favourable to get $20k rebate.. Oh yes bring in the Honda S660 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...