Wt_know Hypersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 (edited) Wow I didnât realize this! Thatâs a pretty skewed policy my ang moh friend in USA who is a well known technician does not recommend renewing COE for these cars as the problems start appearing after 10 years your angmoh friend cannot make it laspore got workshop know how to rebuild porky engine msia got even more porky that are > 10 years old to rebuild and repair porky > 10 years old should not be a problem the problem is the cost .... is it cost effective to rebuild and repair laopok porky .... Edited April 19, 2018 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 SE of Toyota told me the same things when I was there two weeks ago. She said that their cars failed pm emission and would be subjected to $10k surcharge. This is weird because most of Toyota cars are equipped with port injection engine, which is supposed to have low pm emission. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 Those ppl who bought their cars 10yrs ago when a new car cost abt $40k example lancer or Vios, now renew coe abt $35k+++. Really damn lucky Cheaper than taking cab Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 (edited) your angmoh friend cannot make it la spore got workshop know how to rebuild porky engine msia got even more porky that are > 10 years old to rebuild and repair porky > 10 years old should not be a problem the problem is the cost .... is it cost effective to rebuild and repair laopok porky .... Not to mention with new tiered ARF, new porkies cost so much more now. Plus distributors all want to earn lots of profits! Edited April 19, 2018 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 SE of Toyota told me the same things when I was there two weeks ago. She said that their cars failed pm emission and would be subjected to $10k surcharge. This is weird because most of Toyota cars are equipped with port injection engine, which is supposed to have low pm emission. If i read and understand correctly, for euro 6 standard PM limit is only applicable for DI engine, where their assumption PI engine "should be" low PM emission. Hence euro they are not checking on this parameter for PI engine. However Singapore is going to apply the PM value on PI engine as well, that's why LTA/NEA need all cars to be checked and tested the PM value otherwise will add VES surcharge. Somehow where i think 1.6L and above engine the PM value seem exceeded the PM limit versus small cc car. p/s: please correct me if the info is incorrect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 Those ppl who bought their cars 10yrs ago when a new car cost abt $40k example lancer or Vios, now renew coe abt $35k+++. Really damn lucky Cheaper than taking cab I beg to defer. If renew you fork out at least $41k including parf plus 5-6k for replacement of parts so it’s close to $50k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 your angmoh friend cannot make it la spore got workshop know how to rebuild porky engine msia got even more porky that are > 10 years old to rebuild and repair porky > 10 years old should not be a problem the problem is the cost .... is it cost effective to rebuild and repair laopok porky .... If the car has relies much on mechanics rather than electronics, then it should last longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 I beg to defer. If renew you fork out at least $41k including parf plus 5-6k for replacement of parts so itâs close to $50kStill abt $5k per yr. Consider quite cheap Drive old car also don't need to worry ppl scratch ur car thingy. So carefree SE of Toyota told me the same things when I was there two weeks ago. She said that their cars failed pm emission and would be subjected to $10k surcharge. This is weird because most of Toyota cars are equipped with port injection engine, which is supposed to have low pm emission. Toyota cars already quite ex compare to other brand. After the Ves, really kia si lang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 If i read and understand correctly, for euro 6 standard PM limit is only applicable for DI engine, where their assumption PI engine "should be" low PM emission. Hence euro they are not checking on this parameter for PI engine. However Singapore is going to apply the PM value on PI engine as well, that's why LTA/NEA need all cars to be checked and tested the PM value otherwise will add VES surcharge. Somehow where i think 1.6L and above engine the PM value seem exceeded the PM limit versus small cc car. Untitled.jpg p/s: please correct me if the info is incorrect. EURO 6 already outdate liao. Auto industry has been adopting WLTP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 (edited) Exclude Prius C and Fortuner.Harrier Turbo too. RAV4 already can’t sell liao, now additional $10K really can say sayonara. I thought the corolla was quoted as ves neutral by the straits time articleThe Corolla actually kenna $10K surcharge in Jan but Borneo went to appeal to LTA and was successful so became neutral. This June one think cannot siam liao. Edited April 19, 2018 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cypher 4th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 Harrier Turbo too. RAV4 already canât sell liao, now additional $10K really can say sayonara. The Corolla actually kenna $10K surcharge in Jan but Borneo went to appeal to LTA and was successful so became neutral. This June one think cannot siam liao. So special can appeal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 EURO 6 already outdate liao. Auto industry has been adopting WLTP. ya ya.. WLTP is too new, most car still fall under euro norm.. i think thats why our gov still based on euro6 standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 So special can appeal?The Toyota SE told me one, maybe a cock and bill story also...haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 19, 2018 Share April 19, 2018 The Toyota SE told me one, maybe a cock and bill story also...haha.BM:If you don’t wave Altus, COE will be $20k. Approve? LTA:Ok. Ok. Waived for 6 months. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 (edited) So special can appeal? because not just Toyoda go appeal. other brand also, that's why pushed back to June/July. For dealers to clear their old stocks asap. But by now if u buy, prob tio liao. Edited April 20, 2018 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 ya ya.. WLTP is too new, most car still fall under euro norm.. i think thats why our gov still based on euro6 standard. European manufacturer has adopted WLTP for all 2018 launches le. That's including facelift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 EURO 6 already outdate liao. Auto industry has been adopting WLTP. WLTP is just a new testing procedure, Euro 6 is still the up to date emission standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear April 20, 2018 Share April 20, 2018 European manufacturer has adopted WLTP for all 2018 launches le. That's including facelift. At the end of the day which one is going to be more stringent?Last time I read a statement from WLTP with new test method the projected CO2 value will be higher that old euro method. This means same model higher CO2 may cause the vehicle fall into higher surcharge, to be confirmed. So higher cost to buyer. From another point of view is good for our environment... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...