Dark 5th Gear April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 That's what I suspect too. Knn rebate they give u will take back from the parf. Surcharge load u but will not give u the additional parf. Haha ya our LTA scholars damn brilliant one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jounetsu 1st Gear April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 Like that ah.... then people buying used cars has to check if the car has any rebates. Otherwise, they will be in for a rude shock when time to scrape their cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 (edited) that’s for robert buyer who dont do their homework before buying dealer dont share all the details ... to them rule no 1 to 99 is sell sell sell Like that ah.... then people buying used cars has to check if the car has any rebates. Otherwise, they will be in for a rude shock when time to scrape their cars. Edited April 22, 2018 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 Not too long ago, Harrier was selling like hot cake at $150k. Best value SUV. Buy before Kena $10kVES. It will be $160k you know! Today... The same Harrier is asking for ...$143k? After $10k VES? Ouch! BM is trying the same trick again to those less informed. It's anyone guess whether they are using the old trick again. If really so, then it proves that Toyota by it's name, will sell by itself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 i thought VES is a extra tax, how come must minus from Arf? isint it doubt tax like that? does it mean that cars after june the scrap value all will drop? paiseh, i not well verse in these matter... please advise If it is rebate, it is minus from ARF. If it is surcharge, it a tax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 I have 2 questions in mind. Dun care whether now or after July. Calculations should be same just that the rebates/surcharge are different. 1. We all know that VES rebate is minus off ARF and parf will be 50% of actual ARF paid. E.g. OMV 19k. VES rebate 10k. ARF will be 19k - 10k VES rebate = 9k. Parf would be 9k / 2 = 4.5k. 2. But if surcharge of 10k how to calculate ah? Assuming same OMV of 19k. VES surcharge is 10k. So ARF is 19k + 10k = 29k. However according to LTA website, definition of actual ARF paid is still 19k as the 10k is a surcharge so-call punishment. So parf is 19k / 2 or 29k / 2? This part I'm really confused and can't find it details. ARF is 19k rather than 29k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 SmartSelectImage_2018-01-04-22-51-51.png to the anonymous disliker: i posted this doesnt mean i am anti P** or pro oppo... whether Kenneth is a bugger or not is irrelevant to the topic. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 This VES tax is actually reducing the amount of money we can potentially get back. Before this, COEs were higher, and now they have dropped to partly compensate for the new tax. However with COE, you can get back part of it if you sell your car earlier. But the money you pay for the VES tax isn't refundable.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 (edited) and VES is fixed ... it's upfront TAX ... buy today sell tomorrow ... one lump sum whack already whereas for COE ... once the coast is cleared ... when the mood of buying return ... COE will cheong again ... hovering $45K-$50K if the mood is still not back ... can always headline COE QUOTA REDUCE ... all cheong to showroom liao net net ... what's wrong to collect more from VES + COE ... huat ah! This VES tax is actually reducing the amount of money we can potentially get back. Before this, COEs were higher, and now they have dropped to partly compensate for the new tax. However with COE, you can get back part of it if you sell your car earlier. But the money you pay for the VES tax isn't refundable.. Edited April 22, 2018 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 It's anyone guess whether they are using the old trick again. If really so, then it proves that Toyota by it's name, will sell by itselfDuhz? Toyota Enough said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 to the anonymous disliker: i posted this doesnt mean i am anti P** or pro oppo... whether Kenneth is a bugger or not is irrelevant to the topic. Just ignore la. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 and VES is fixed ... it's upfront TAX ... buy today sell tomorrow ... one lump sum whack already whereas for COE ... once the coast is cleared ... when the mood of buying return ... COE will cheong again ... hovering $45K-$50K if the mood is still not back ... can always headline COE QUOTA REDUCE ... all cheong to showroom liao net net ... what's wrong to collect more from VES + COE ... huat ah! Means any higher performance vehicle i would be buying with CEVS +10 or 20k, then i would really just wait to buy a 1-2 year old 2nd hand vehicle. It's very likely i won't buy any more 1st hand vehicle anymore in future (at least for myself) cos i don't really see myself driving any neutral band vehicle. Any good neutral band vehicle around after July? This VES tax is actually reducing the amount of money we can potentially get back. Before this, COEs were higher, and now they have dropped to partly compensate for the new tax. However with COE, you can get back part of it if you sell your car earlier. But the money you pay for the VES tax isn't refundable.. yes. it really hits the 1st time buyer hard. Then kana low balled by 2nd hand dealer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 Means any higher performance vehicle i would be buying with CEVS +10 or 20k, then i would really just wait to buy a 1-2 year old 2nd hand vehicle. It's very likely i won't buy any more 1st hand vehicle anymore in future (at least for myself) cos i don't really see myself driving any neutral band vehicle. Any good neutral band vehicle around after July? yes. it really hits the 1st time buyer hard. Then kana low balled by 2nd hand dealer. Buy Hyundai Ionic electric. Max rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 Buy Hyundai Ionic electric. Max rebate. lol. no interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 Means any higher performance vehicle i would be buying with CEVS +10 or 20k, then i would really just wait to buy a 1-2 year old 2nd hand vehicle. It's very likely i won't buy any more 1st hand vehicle anymore in future (at least for myself) cos i don't really see myself driving any neutral band vehicle. Any good neutral band vehicle around after July? There will be more and more hybrid and electric cars in the coming years from various car manufacturers. So there will be more choices of car with neutral band in future. lol. no interest. If you find the Ionic ugly, can go for the KIA Niro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 (edited) does not matter ... the depreciation is the same i would either buy new or car that is 6/7/8 years old 1/2 years old no point ... the depreciation is worst than new car considering it’s a used car 3/4/5 years old ... beaten up and yet depreciation not much saving 6/7/8 years old ... low ball close to paper value + $10K .... if posisble ... haha yes. it really hits the 1st time buyer hard. Then kana low balled by 2nd hand dealer. Edited April 22, 2018 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 does not matter ... the depreciation is the same i would either buy new or car that is 6/7/8 years old 1/2 years old no point ... the depreciation is worst than new car considering it’s a used car 3/4/5 years old ... beaten up and yet depreciation not much saving 6/7/8 years old ... low ball close to paper value + $10k .... if posisble ... haha i not experienced in mechanical issues. older car more issues mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 22, 2018 Share April 22, 2018 then you should buy new car ... i not experienced in mechanical issues. older car more issues mah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...