Android Phones

zipping

On 11/8/2025 at 7:43 AM, Lala81 said:

This guy is damn good siah. 

Subscribed and liked his video. Crazy dedication into debunking battery charging myths. 

Best tech video in a long while. 

When I was working in the office long time ago, my notebook is constantly plugged into AC, 100% full all the time.

The battery didn't last long. Lithium battery must be allowed to discharge and then charged again.

On 1/21/2026 at 2:00 PM, Kb27 said:

When I was working in the office long time ago, my notebook is constantly plugged into AC, 100% full all the time.

The battery didn't last long. Lithium battery must be allowed to discharge and then charged again.

yes. my work place laptop battery also only 70% health due to above. It discharges very fast when on battery power after a few years, though not dead. 

I needed the administrator privilege to set the lenovo vantage battery charging limit. 

On 1/21/2026 at 2:46 PM, Lala81 said:

yes. my work place laptop battery also only 70% health due to above. It discharges very fast when on battery power after a few years, though not dead. 

I needed the administrator privilege to set the lenovo vantage battery charging limit. 

Office laptop battery spoil then change new laptop lor.. not my money.. 😁

On 1/21/2026 at 2:51 PM, Tkseah said:

Office laptop battery spoil then change new laptop lor.. not my money.. 😁

I mostly needed the administrator privilege to install the Vantage so that i can switch the stupid function-ctrl buttons for thinkpad back to the default. 

On 1/21/2026 at 1:15 PM, serenade said:

Hijack this thread to side track. If someone here has bought top android tablets from Samsung/Honor or Oppo recently, how is your experience? In areas of battery life, screen quality, speed, audio quality and life-span of screen/service centre experience.

Currently I have an old iPad that needs replacing. But the price of a new large iPad puts me off. The top 12+in tablets from Oppo and Honor now support a pencil, has AI power and comes packaged with a keyboard cum cover. At prices below $1k.     

Samsun high end S11 series 11" at least $1k and above, or you cab go for previous gen S10 series will be lower than $1K.

My girl has a S11 12" to replace her laptop for her school work and I have the S10 10", we both have samsung phone so everything under the samsung ecosystem. But I think I only utilize 30% of what the system can do, including AI which i duno how, dun like to cheat or talk to a robot  [laugh]

On 1/21/2026 at 3:35 PM, Jman888 said:

Samsun high end S11 series 11" at least $1k and above, or you cab go for previous gen S10 series will be lower than $1K.

My girl has a S11 12" to replace her laptop for her school work and I have the S10 10", we both have samsung phone so everything under the samsung ecosystem. But I think I only utilize 30% of what the system can do, including AI which i duno how, dun like to cheat or talk to a robot  [laugh]

You can also ask the AI smth very chim and ask them to explain to u like they explain to a child. 

for e.g. Help me understand how nuclear reactor generate electricty. ELI5 (explain like I am 5) 

Chatgpt answer: 

Sure! I’ll explain it like you’re 5 😊

🧸 Imagine a Big Kettle Making Steam

A nuclear power plant is basically a very fancy way to boil water.

🔥 Step 1: Making Heat (the special part)

Inside the plant are tiny pieces of fuel called uranium.

Uranium atoms are split apart (this is called nuclear fission).

When they split, they release lots of heat.

It’s like snapping glow sticks that get hot—but super powerful.

💧 Step 2: Boiling Water

That heat is used to:

Heat up water

Turn the water into steam

(Just like when your parents boil water for pasta.)

🌪️ Step 3: Spinning a Fan

The hot steam:

Rushes past a big fan called a turbine

The steam spins the turbine, like wind spins a windmill

Step 4: Making Electricity

The spinning turbine is connected to a generator.

When it spins, it makes electricity

This electricity goes through wires to homes, schools, and TVs 📺

On 1/21/2026 at 1:15 PM, serenade said:

Hijack this thread to side track. If someone here has bought top android tablets from Samsung/Honor or Oppo recently, how is your experience? In areas of battery life, screen quality, speed, audio quality and life-span of screen/service centre experience.

Currently I have an old iPad that needs replacing. But the price of a new large iPad puts me off. The top 12+in tablets from Oppo and Honor now support a pencil, has AI power and comes packaged with a keyboard cum cover. At prices below $1k.     

No experience with very expensive tablets.

I have a Xiaomi Mi pad 6 + their Mi pen 2 for 500 dollars (but that was an import set) in 10/2023.

No complaints for regular home use. the Mi pen is not as good as the samsung S pen, apple pencil but that's only if u draw art with it.
If someone in your family uses it for art, then get Apple/Samsung.

Confirmed: Asus is exiting the smartphone market

A report from earlier this month suggested there won’t be any new Asus phones launching this year, and we now have official confirmation that the brand is moving away from smartphones altogether.

Asus chairman Jonney Shih confirmed that the brand is not planning any new smartphone releases during a special event gala at the Taipei Nangang Exhibition Center. According to reports, Asus will focus its resources and R&D on commercial PCs and physical AI (i.e., robotics and smart glasses). The brand will still offer maintenance, software updates, and warranty services for existing smartphones.

Shih also shared that Asus reached TWD 738.91 billion ($23.4 billion) in revenue for 2025, which represents a 26% jump compared to 2024. The AI server business in particular achieved 100% growth – doubling its own target.

The last few years saw Asus dwindle down its Zenfone series and cut back on ROG Phone releases. The brand launched only two phones in 2025 with the ROG Phone 9 FE and the Zenfone 12 Ultra and it was no secret that neither of those sold particularly well.

https://www.gsmarena.com/confirmed_asus_is_exiting_the_smartphone_market_-news-71158.php

On 1/21/2026 at 4:06 PM, kobayashiGT said:

You can also ask the AI smth very chim and ask them to explain to u like they explain to a child. 

for e.g. Help me understand how nuclear reactor generate electricty. ELI5 (explain like I am 5) 

Chatgpt answer: 

Sure! I’ll explain it like you’re 5 😊

🧸 Imagine a Big Kettle Making Steam

A nuclear power plant is basically a very fancy way to boil water.

🔥 Step 1: Making Heat (the special part)

Inside the plant are tiny pieces of fuel called uranium.

Uranium atoms are split apart (this is called nuclear fission).

When they split, they release lots of heat.

It’s like snapping glow sticks that get hot—but super powerful.

💧 Step 2: Boiling Water

That heat is used to:

Heat up water

Turn the water into steam

(Just like when your parents boil water for pasta.)

🌪️ Step 3: Spinning a Fan

The hot steam:

Rushes past a big fan called a turbine

The steam spins the turbine, like wind spins a windmill

Step 4: Making Electricity

The spinning turbine is connected to a generator.

When it spins, it makes electricity

This electricity goes through wires to homes, schools, and TVs 📺

You come attend my course and I will teach u how to protect ur crown jewels

also😅😅🪦

On 11/5/2025 at 8:11 PM, Ody_2004 said:

need some advice,, which is the better Android phone now?

Was looking at Xiaomi 17 Pro Max but seem nothing from the official Xiaomi store here yet.. those parallel import at Shopee can buy or not?

Xiaomi 17 just launched locally over e wkend.

Edited by zipping