RIP Inuka!

Friendstar

Cannot remove meh? With medical sciences these days

That was my question when I saw inuka

The algae is blooming within the premises of Inuka's outdoor pool, inside the water, on the rocks and surroundings.

When Inuka swims and rubs himself against the rocks, the algae is transferred to his fur coat.

Supposingly, if Inuka sheds enough fur, the algae should come out. Unfortunately, the algae pesisted and his transparent coat stayed green. 

RIP Inuka

4. It went green from time to time

Polar bears are generally known for their “white” fur – though the bears’ coats actually have no white pigment, but are hollow, according to the World Wildlife Fund.

In Inuka’s case, microscopic algae from its pool would sometimes enter these hollow hair shafts, tingeing its fur green.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/facts-inuka-polar-bear-singapore-zoo-death-10170200

Poor creature whole life behind 4 walls ... hope he went to a better place .

He is born there and dont know how outside is...

zoos have always been controversial.

Though i feel it's kinda sad to keep these animals behind enclosures, but without them, how would a child ever learn about the animals that inhabit our world. We know that books/tv shows cannot convey the same effect as seeing an animal in real life.

Personally i don't ever want to meet a tiger/lion in it's natural habitat  [laugh]

A&W is the only thing I can remember about going to the zoo.

no more liao......got kfc at the children's water ground and the freakingly expensive nasi kemak and prata the last i went.....

The last time i went the lions indeed looks very scraggy and thin, wonder what happened to them?

dont know bro.......Bernard Harrison did a good job when he was at the helm. Now the zoo looks more like an overgrown jungle......guess their focus has shifted.

At least, my kids saw inuka before it passed on. Only time I've seen a polar bear also is at singapore zoo.

Thanks for letting us at the equator see u in real life.

Thank you for the words on behalf of us

Cannot remove meh? With medical sciences these days

That was my question when I saw inuka

His fur is made of transparent tubes. So the algae grows inside. Normal for polar bears. But they shed once a year then they will slowly start to turn green again. Heard this from the zookeeper during the interactive sessions. Keep hearing that every week last year cuz my kids loved the zoo.  [;)]

Its such a big animal and needs space, make people stay in 400-500 sq ft pigeon holes want to also make animals whom are free roaming and spirited live in a small enclosure and in our equatorial climate compared to their Artic climate which goes below zero most of the year round , I think back then animal rights is not so strong; nowadays they will get much flak from them just like what happened at RWS with the killer whale  or sharks or dolphins was it; Cant remember which ones though, now       

Poor creature whole life behind 4 walls ... hope he went to a better place .

dont know bro.......Bernard Harrison did a good job when he was at the helm. Now the zoo looks more like an overgrown jungle......guess their focus has shifted.

So now that Tan Chuan Jin is running it...what is his scorecard? [:p]

zoos have always been controversial.

Though i feel it's kinda sad to keep these animals behind enclosures, but without them, how would a child ever learn about the animals that inhabit our world. We know that books/tv shows cannot convey the same effect as seeing an animal in real life.

Personally i don't ever want to meet a tiger/lion in it's natural habitat [laugh]

In future the zoo will only limit to dog, cat, rabbit, chicken, duck, pig, cow, goat and maybe frog.

Then it should change name to animal farm than zoo?

With technology..mebbe this below will be possible...in your grandchild era...

post-72182-0-27709200-1524648622.jpg

Edited by Kyrios

Then better just let SPCA  "run it"  and also can adopt and walk out with one