Ender Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 12 minutes ago, Kxbc said: You should seek to find a solution to your insomnia. I believe insufficient sleep is the trigger to lots of other medical issues we will suffer in our later years. 1 minute ago, Lala81 said: It's the sian ness I guess. Next time bring along your tablet, and watch your tv series while running.🤣 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 15 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I used to be able to run on the treadmill 4km quite OK. But after starting to run outdoors, I can barely finish 2km on a treadmill. Don't know why also. I cannot run long on the treadmill, makes me eventually want to lose my balance. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 14 minutes ago, Kxbc said: You should seek to find a solution to your insomnia. I believe insufficient sleep is the trigger to lots of other medical issues we will suffer in our later years. Very true, insufficient sleep and stress would trigger tons of health issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 9 minutes ago, 13177 said: Very true, insufficient sleep and stress would trigger tons of health issues. Shingles. 🤣 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 (edited) wah cannot sleep wasted …because healthy 365 app giving double points of chalking up 7 hours of sleep for the sleep challenge leh 😬😅 Edited December 11, 2021 by Enye 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 4 minutes ago, Enye said: wah cannot sleep wasted …because healthy 365 app giving double points of chalking up 7 hours of sleep for the sleep challenge leh 😬😅 They know many people cannot sleep, thats why give double points. If they know many people can sleep, dont think they would give out such a good lobang. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 57 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Hmmm it's been raining whole afternoon. Just did a jog on the treadmill. Guess good thing about having a gym is that no excuses not to exercise due to weather. Lol Still wet here too. Going onto the exercise bike for some cardio. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 9 hours ago, Lala81 said: condo gym. I very lazy type. Won't travel to do exercise That's a quite well equip gym for condo. Has a smith machine and cable machine. Most I have seen usually dumbbell and treadmills only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 1 hour ago, Sosaria said: That's a quite well equip gym for condo. Has a smith machine and cable machine. Most I have seen usually dumbbell and treadmills only. Old place. More place to put gar chang. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 42 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Old place. More place to put gar chang. Lol. Old place maybe gar chang should looks run down and old liao, but the equipment looks new and well maintain le. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2021 Share December 11, 2021 1 minute ago, 13177 said: Old place maybe gar chang should looks run down and old liao, but the equipment looks new and well maintain le. Old place gar chang get too old obviously need to replace mah. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 13, 2021 Share December 13, 2021 Recovery progressing well. Still a long way to go. But very happy with today's progress. 3 weeks or so, I couldn't run 1km. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 19, 2021 Share December 19, 2021 Finally getting back to 90 mins running. HR is still very high at 146 bpm aaverage. Seeing the doc this coming Wednesday for the 6th week review. Thyroid level should have reduced alot by now, as I have been feeling normal for 3 weeks. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 21, 2021 Share December 21, 2021 The last girl failed MCF standard. This one can bo? https://www.tiktok.com/@michinbbqnhotpot/video/7043813298504027394? 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 22, 2021 Share December 22, 2021 9 hours ago, Ender said: The last girl failed MCF standard. This one can bo? https://www.tiktok.com/@michinbbqnhotpot/video/7043813298504027394? Omg, nowadays many girls even more fitter than guys? 😂 The other day while i was doing my brisk walking downstairs my house, walked past a fitness station and saw one girl wearing a OCS tank top doing her chin-up, push-up and some others static exercise. She must be some officer regular in the SAF, thats why so fit? 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 23, 2021 Share December 23, 2021 Marathoner that switched to weightlifting. Some interesting observations there about achieving gains in the gym for those not-so-young anymore. One problem is always how to push the limit in the gym, and therefore make progress, while not risking injury? https://edition.cnn.com/2021/12/21/sport/ryan-hall-marathon-running-weightlifting-spt-intl-cmd/index.html 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 23, 2021 Share December 23, 2021 9 minutes ago, Sosaria said: Marathoner that switched to weightlifting. Some interesting observations there about achieving gains in the gym for those not-so-young anymore. One problem is always how to push the limit in the gym, and therefore make progress, while not risking injury? https://edition.cnn.com/2021/12/21/sport/ryan-hall-marathon-running-weightlifting-spt-intl-cmd/index.html In order to push to the limit, need either a buddy or trainer. I had a trainer that pushes me in the 1hr of training. I usually go home super tire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear December 23, 2021 Share December 23, 2021 7 hours ago, Sosaria said: Marathoner that switched to weightlifting. Some interesting observations there about achieving gains in the gym for those not-so-young anymore. One problem is always how to push the limit in the gym, and therefore make progress, while not risking injury? Muscle mass is indeed more important as one ages, especially the lower body function (legs and hips) and posterior chain. But most guys like to focus on the upper body for looks, so sometimes you would see guys with twig legs and well built upper bodies (these would likely suffer as they age). The more straight forward route is to do a push/pull/legs split for 3 days a week, plus a day of cardio for heart health. I've been sticking to that routine as best i can, and it is comfortable and works well. Best bet is to get a trainer for a start to learn the basics and usage of various equipment. The internet is actually a great tool nowadays with loads of content that can supplement what you learn at the gym. But a trainer will help you with the initial hurdle of getting comfortable in the gym with the equipment and to ensure your form is correct. Form is very important, more than the number of reps, weight or pushing your limit. Form ensures you don't get injured... and you don't want to get injured when you are older... it takes longer to recover (e.g. my minor shoulder impingement takes 2 weeks of rest to fully recover). Some recommended links for your learning journey: - https://www.facebook.com/JimStoppaniPhD/videos/ : This guy has very good insights on form - https://www.instagram.com/sean_nalewanyj/ : This guy gives general good advice on the science - https://www.youtube.com/c/JeffNippard/videos : This guys gives more specific details on the science - https://www.youtube.com/c/JeremyEthier/videos : Gives good advice on various topics you may be interested in ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...