Acemundo Supercharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 i can say that this decision will not affect those civil servants any bit. yes, most likely. still, i think it is good to renounce rather than have his career pummelled by bureaucracy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 If have the money, ok lah...No money how? yes, most likely. still, i think it is good to renounce rather than have his career pummelled by bureaucracy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 If have the money, ok lah...No money how? no money to renounce citizenship? this one don't need pay lawyer to renounce le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 If have the money, ok lah...No money how? You don't have to renounce anything la. Just don't come back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 bro, like i said earlier, i think very much depends on whether the enlistee is first gen or second gen citizens enlistee. first gen means the boy is born as citizen because parents are also citizen at his birth.....2nd gen means his parents converted to singaporean sometime after he was born. for first gen is default.....2nd gen is more like givng up citizenship because they need to serve ns to get their citizenship. But in this guy's case, neither parents are Singaporeans? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 You don't have to renounce anything la. Just don't come back. Don't renounce how to get back CPF $$$$$? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 He very poor thing la. Ganna play out by Singapore laws. Golden age to play for an professional club and yet not allowed to defer. Give him 2 years. If CMI, he lan lan have to come back to serve. And still young at early 20s. If he is good, potentially we can entice a new generation of footballers who will consider taking sports as a professional career, which will benefit us in the long run. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Just imagine if excellence in sports or arts or whatever on the world stage is grounds for NS deferment or even waiver - you will surely see tiger mums and dads pushing their kids towards those. Who benefits as well? Singapore as a nation. It’s not merely about fancy gardens or glittering world events. We end up being used, but not intrinsically of value. It runs counter to the government’s constant refrain that the only natural resource we have are our people. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 (edited) But in this guy's case, neither parents are Singaporeans? i believe the father is a converted singaporean. if you read the recent case of the deceased scdf nsf from malacca, his father also converted to singaporean and he have to serve ns. after serving ns, he will get his citizenship. Edited July 17, 2018 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 (edited) But in this guy's case, neither parents are Singaporeans? second generation PR must serve NS ... jit pai ho say liao Edited July 17, 2018 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Just imagine if excellence in sports or arts or whatever on the world stage is grounds for NS deferment or even waiver - you will surely see tiger mums and dads pushing their kids towards those. Who benefits as well? Singapore as a nation. It’s not merely about fancy gardens or glittering world events. We end up being used, but not intrinsically of value. It runs counter to the government’s constant refrain that the only natural resource we have are our people. i don't see why should scholastic excellence (those president and other prestigious scholarship) is a shoo-in for deferment while sports excellence as a basis for deferment application is, without much ado, rejected. in any case, there will always be tiger mums and dads wanting to apply for deferment for their kids whether or not MINDEF grants the deferment to Ben Davis, so we shouldn't always use the cliche reason it will open the floodgates to abuse. besides, we are adequately staffed at the ministry to review the merit of each case of application, so there is no need to adopt an overly defensive stance and reject applications as much as possible so as not to open the floodgates for other applicants. our ministries have a penchance to reject applications always on principle that it wont create more future cases for them to handle. this is not right. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 You decide the top 3 local people ah ? they allow me... i don't mind you mean simi simi committee , simi general be ceo all they can decide then suddenly no one can decide who top 3 local in the different sports ar then who decided schooling deferment in 2013 before he won olympics? i don't rem they ask me to decide leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Huh? I'm not a football fan but his chance of representing the world cup under england is definitely higher than the chance of singapore being in the world cup la I meant being selected to represent the country. I dont think he will be easily selected to represent England. If he is still Singaporean, much much easier. To renounce Singapore citizenship, i think he wont have a chance to represent England team unless he is as good as the current England WC team players. The current England WC team standard is very low already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 I meant being selected to represent the country. I dont think he will be easily selected to represent England. If he is still Singaporean, much much easier. To renounce Singapore citizenship, i think he wont have a chance to represent England team unless he is as good as the current England WC team players. The current England WC team standard is very low already. Not entirely unfounded. There are a number of dual-nationality NBA players who choose to play for countries other than the United States because that is the only way they can play international basketball games competitively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 (edited) hope it helps... https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/full-fas-statement-benjamin-davis-national-service-deferment-request The Football Association of Singapore (FAS ) says it is putting its weight behind Fulham player Ben Davis’ request for National Service deferment, pointing out that the case merits special consideration as it is the first time a Singapore has been offered a professional contract by one of the top six leagues in the world. Here is FAS’ full statement: - - - The FAS understands the concerns around exceptions but believes that a balance can be struck between player development and national service obligations in this unique case. We also believe that any deferment cannot be open-ended, and that any deferment has to be matched with an assurance to see through Benjamin's national service obligations and a commitment to use this opportunity to enhance the development of national football. We will work with Benjamin and his family on the above, with a view to seeking to persuade Mindef of the merits of the application and to assuage Mindef's concerns over Benjamin's national service commitments, and to find a balanced solution to the issue which best serves our nation's interests. Edited July 17, 2018 by Camrysfa 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Of course FAS wants a hand and leg on this.. they want him to play for SG in future.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged July 17, 2018 Share July 17, 2018 Don't renounce how to get back CPF $$$$$? i am very sure he does not have CPF at the moment .... so another "no loss". Of course FAS wants a hand and leg on this.. they want him to play for SG in future.. provided he comes back ...after he makes it big in da club ... and projected to rake in $500k a year there ... the he will patriotically come back to draw $50k a year with FAS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 18, 2018 Share July 18, 2018 (edited) I meant being selected to represent the country. I dont think he will be easily selected to represent England. If he is still Singaporean, much much easier. To renounce Singapore citizenship, i think he wont have a chance to represent England team unless he is as good as the current England WC team players. The current England WC team standard is very low already. england recently won the under 17 world cup. Liverpool got one boy in the squad. Edited July 18, 2018 by Kopites ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...