RadX Moderator August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 Reminds me of an incident when I was in my friend's car about more than 10 years ago. A cabbie keep on horning and gesturing at him for quite a distance for about 5 mins. My friend got rather unhappy and keep kpkb and spew vulgarities, thinking the cabbie is trying to provoke him. Then finally stopped at the red light junction. The cabbie by the other lane point at him again. He dulan and wound down the window and shouted what he want. Cabbie tell him his headlights were not on. My friend immediately got embarrassed and gestured a thank you. I sit by the side cannot laugh, only arm chio. U hv friend meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 I really wonder how these people can drive on the road without realizing the headlights are not on. Totally zero situation awareness. Have to avoid these blur cockanathans. Their blurness will be manifested in others ways and I won’t want to be anywhere near them. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 I really wonder how these people can drive on the road without realizing the headlights are not on. Totally zero situation awareness. Have to avoid these blur cockanathans. Their blurness will be manifested in others ways and I won’t want to be anywhere near them.Sometimes may happen if you stop your car at night waiting for Friend a while and off the headlight. Then later drive off you forgotten to on back. However when driving on the road you will know as no light shining in front of your car. Actually very obvious.I really hope all cars can have auto headlight. Mine does not have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 I hate the DRLs. Some are worse than highbeam. Especially the Altis ones. Their DRLs very glaring especially at night if they never on their headlights. k3... their lights super elongated. overdone. used to be one waiting in a corner of a darkish driveway. several times i had to walk in front of its blinding light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 I normally overtake and then slow down n switch off my lights momentarily and then turn on. Then zoom off 70% will get the hint and switch on the lights Ladies consperm 100% never get the hint. They think I flashing them , must be I flash headlights to remind them on headlights In the end I kenna high beam from the rear tailgate me till I exit highway Nowadays digital instrument cluster most drivers don’t know headlights on or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 TP should just do a simple operation targeting these stealth drivers — so easy to catch as you can easily get at least ten cars or more every single night these days. Stealthy road hoggers are a nuisance but the real danger are the occasional stealth missles — going fast on lane 1 with no lights!!! So many encounters of driving without headlights on is a result of less policing of road users. We are now in a phase of self policing where concerned drivers have to remind those defaulters. Not very healthy…. In the ‘police state ‘ days, there were actual TP on patrols to keep discipline. In those days, a TP stopped me at Beach Road. I was puzzled why. The offence was not switching on the big headlights, I only had the small lights on. This was at evening time but not dark yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 So many encounters of driving without headlights on is a result of less policing of road users. We are now in a phase of self policing where concerned drivers have to remind those defaulters. Not very healthy…. In the ‘police state ‘ days, there were actual TP on patrols to keep discipline. In those days, a TP stopped me at Beach Road. I was puzzled why. The offence was not switching on the big headlights, I only had the small lights on. This was at evening time but not dark yet. After 7pm must turn on the headlight be it still bright or not yet totally dark. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged August 26, 2018 Author Share August 26, 2018 I maybe one of them in rare case say 1 out of 1000 times forget to on headlight. It maybe due to mind too focus on other thing and forget to on headlight. Dashboard light up with or without headlight on. So well.. Its only 1/1000 chance will missed it. Personally, I leave it at "A" and don't worry about it. I normally overtake and then slow down n switch off my lights momentarily and then turn on. Then zoom off 70% will get the hint and switch on the lights Ladies consperm 100% never get the hint. They think I flashing them , must be They chase you because they (s)excited too... lol .. But yeah, I get my fair share of death stares and antagonized glares, until I wind down my window, and shout "HEADLIGHTS!!" and do my "baby-five" hand gesture. I really wonder how these people can drive on the road without realizing the headlights are not on. Totally zero situation awareness. Have to avoid these blur cockanathans. Their blurness will be manifested in others ways and I won’t want to be anywhere near them. Exactly what the missus says, "Stay away from those i****s.. later get sucked into an accident with them.." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 Personally, I leave it at "A" and don't worry about it. I also put headlights to Auto but SG 7pm not accurate so only DRL SG time has been synchro to match MY By right is the same as Thai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged August 26, 2018 Author Share August 26, 2018 Sometimes may happen if you stop your car at night waiting for Friend a while and off the headlight. Then later drive off you forgotten to on back. However when driving on the road you will know as no light shining in front of your car. Actually very obvious. I really hope all cars can have auto headlight. Mine does not have. I have ever seen before cars with certain driver "types" where the instrument cluster is also not lit up, but they are driving in poor lighting, i.e. Upp Thomson Road/Lornie Road before Adam, and they STILL don't realise that they have no lights on. I also put headlights to Auto but SG 7pm not accurate so only DRL SG time has been synchro to match MY By right is the same as Thai huh? Thailand is one hour behind Singapore. They are GMT +7, whereas Singapore is in the same timezone has Malaysia, which is GMT+8. That's why when you do your time server settings, Kuala Lumpur & Singapore are always together. Not because we love them that much. k3... their lights super elongated. overdone. used to be one waiting in a corner of a darkish driveway. several times i had to walk in front of its blinding light. I don't understand the DRL (or any of the lights) of the current model Prius... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 I have a feeling someone will jump in and say "Singapore road is so bright, no need to one also can see" There are self centred drivers. Thinking only that on headlights meant for themselves to see what's on the road. Forgotten about other drivers might need to filter which will not be able to gauge the approaching speed of cars without headlights on. Not just self centred. They are Idiots because they lack sense of self preservation. Don't know coincidental or not, noticed many of those without headlights on at night are dark coloured cars. I switch my car headlights on because I want to Be Visible to other road users. And not just at night, will do it whenever it rains. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 Not just self centred. They are Idiots because they lack sense of self preservation. Don't know coincidental or not, noticed many of those without headlights on at night are dark coloured cars. I switch my car headlights on because I want to Be Visible to other road users. And not just at night, will do it whenever it rains. Exactly my same thought. My encounter with those who forgot to on their headlights are mostly dark coloured cars as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged August 26, 2018 Author Share August 26, 2018 Not just self centred. They are Idiots because they lack sense of self preservation. Don't know coincidental or not, noticed many of those without headlights on at night are dark coloured cars. I switch my car headlights on because I want to Be Visible to other road users. And not just at night, will do it whenever it rains. KEEP IT UP! We all need to do our part. And don't forget to turn on your headlights when in the tunnels as well! It takes only one blackout to freak everyone out, and if you have no lights on - you might be in for a nasty chain collision! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 (edited) Actually this is more of first world problem. Here in Singapore, the conditions are just too comfortable and may I say perfect? We have well path roads, good drainage, well lit roads. If our roads were to be unlit, many will be aware of the existence of their ride headlights and appreciate it. And many will drive much more carefully. Same goes for pedestrians and "like to put their life on the line" cyclists. As of now, switching on the lights here is to show one existence and it is a very much safety concern than visibility concern. Edited August 26, 2018 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 huh? Thailand is one hour behind Singapore. They are GMT +7, whereas Singapore is in the same timezone has Malaysia, which is GMT+8. That's why when you do your time server settings, Kuala Lumpur & Singapore are always together. Not because we love them that much. No offence Bro This is what was taught during my school days As part of British Malaya, Singapore originally adopted the Malayan time, which was 7 hours 30 minutes ahead of GMT. Following the Japanese occupation, Malaya adopted Tokyo time of GMT+9 on 15 February 1942. Although official appointments were made according to Tokyo time it was common practice to keep two separate times: the pre-Occupation time at home and Tokyo time on personal watches. At the end of World War II and the return of Malaya to the British, Singapore reverted to its pre-war timezone. Although Singapore does not currently observe daylight saving time in the traditional sense due to its tropical location, a form of daylight saving time, using a 20-minute offset, was introduced on an annual basis by the Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements in 1933, after an earlier attempt was abandoned in 1920. This offset was formally adopted as standard time in Singapore in 1936, and in 1941 the offset was increased to 30 minutes, the same as the 1920 proposal. In 1981, Malaysia decided to standardize the time across its territories to a uniform UTC+08:00. Singapore elected to follow suit, citing business and travel schedules. The change took effect on 1 January 1982, when Singapore moved half an hour forward, creating "Singapore Standard Time" (SST).[2] SST is eight hours ahead of UTC and is synchronized with Hong Kong, Taipei, Beijing, Manila and Perth. Something for you to know too Nothing to do with like MY or not By right we are same time with Thailand now Thats why 7pm still too bright to activate Auto Headlamps 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged August 26, 2018 Author Share August 26, 2018 Actually this is more of first world problem. Here in Singapore, the conditions are just too comfortable and may I say perfect? We have well path roads, good drainage, well lit roads. If our roads were to be unlit, many will be aware of the existence of their ride headlights and appreciate it. And many will drive much more carefully. Same goes for pedestrians and "like to put their life on the line" cyclists. As of now, switching on the lights here is to show one existence and it is a very much safety concern than visibility concern. And I concur. From all my traveling, I consistently hear the same thing - Singapore is abnormally safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged August 26, 2018 Share August 26, 2018 KEEP IT UP! We all need to do our part. And don't forget to turn on your headlights when in the tunnels as well! It takes only one blackout to freak everyone out, and if you have no lights on - you might be in for a nasty chain collision! It is a Good Reminder to those who do not switch on headlights in tunnels, even for those with DRL. Perhaps they don't understand the need for headlights to be switched on for rear lights to be on too, or like most drivers, they failed to realized that headlights are for their protection as well ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged August 26, 2018 Author Share August 26, 2018 No offence Bro This is what was taught during my school days As part of British Malaya, Singapore originally adopted the Malayan time, which was 7 hours 30 minutes ahead of GMT. Following the Japanese occupation, Malaya adopted Tokyo time of GMT+9 on 15 February 1942. Although official appointments were made according to Tokyo time it was common practice to keep two separate times: the pre-Occupation time at home and Tokyo time on personal watches. At the end of World War II and the return of Malaya to the British, Singapore reverted to its pre-war timezone. Although Singapore does not currently observe daylight saving time in the traditional sense due to its tropical location, a form of daylight saving time, using a 20-minute offset, was introduced on an annual basis by the Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements in 1933, after an earlier attempt was abandoned in 1920. This offset was formally adopted as standard time in Singapore in 1936, and in 1941 the offset was increased to 30 minutes, the same as the 1920 proposal. In 1981, Malaysia decided to standardize the time across its territories to a uniform UTC+08:00. Singapore elected to follow suit, citing business and travel schedules. The change took effect on 1 January 1982, when Singapore moved half an hour forward, creating "Singapore Standard Time" (SST).[2] SST is eight hours ahead of UTC and is synchronized with Hong Kong, Taipei, Beijing, Manila and Perth. Something for you to know too Nothing to do with like MY or not By right we are same time with Thailand now Thats why 7pm still too bright to activate Auto Headlamps None taken. But I struggle to see the relevance of time zones & brightness of the sky at 7pm to turning on the headlamps. If it is targeted at the LTA ruling of mandating that 7pm must turn on headlamps, then I would say that it is off-topic for this discussion. Perhaps another thread on discussing the relevance of certain enforcement rules might be more apt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...