How to define between first timer and second timer ?

Ysc3

put occupier also family mah .. ??

anyway, reason I am asking this is because of an unfortunate incident of my friend.

my friend just got his new resale for a couple of years before he passed away due to heart attack.

his wife was a foreigner who bore him two kids.

but the "good" thing was that the wife inherited the flat from the husband without having to pay the rest of the loan.

so I am thinking what was the thing that let his wife inherit the flat without repaying the loan ?

still can put your wife name as co-applicant, but your take up 100% of the loan. If you have any winte rmelon tofu, your wife can stay for free  :D

this is a 5 room. the layout of a 4 room is almost exactly the same but living/dining area shrink by that 18-20 sqm (90 vs 110). the rooms are all identical for 4 vs 5 room.

I would advise to get a 5 room if u can afford it. The extra space makes a difference.

My BIL is going to have his 2nd child, they currently waiting for their MOP to finish to change to a 5 room.

I WAS considering a 5rm vs a 4 rm ... but diff about 100k ... if 4rm I don't need loan .... but if 5rm, will need to loan 100k ... but I am almost 50 already .... dunno got that type of repayment power or not ... [sweatdrop]

anyway, reason I am asking this is because of an unfortunate incident of my friend.

my friend just got his new resale for a couple of years before he passed away due to heart attack.

but the "good" thing was that the wife inherited the flat from the husband without having to pay the rest of the loan.

so I am thinking what was the thing that let his wife inherit the flat without repaying the loan ?

it's mortgage insurance lah. pay a premium every year via CPF.

They will pay off the loan in case of death/TPD to either party of the loan. But u can choose how much to insure. up to 100% of amount (or 50% of amount which is stupid and not recommended).

It's part of the DPS scheme which u must take when using CPF to buy HDB flat if i recall. Or something like that.

still can put your wife name as co-applicant, but your take up 100% of the loan. If you have any winte rmelon tofu, your wife can stay for free  :D

so the "loaner" can be a named person other than then applicant(s) ?

I mean if put me and my wife ... and anything happens to me ... won't they automatically go after the next applicant ?

or I can just borrow the loan all under my name alone ?

They will pay off the loan in case of death/TPD to either party of the loan. But u can choose how much to insure. up to 100% of amount (or 50% of amount which is stupid and not recommended).

It's part of the DPS scheme which u must take when using CPF to buy HDB flat if i recall. Or something like that.

Actually might as well get normal term life insurance if it is cheaper.

HPS

is this "built into" the repayment ?

coz I don't remember this .... only remember fire insurance.

lets say if cfp deduct from both me and wife a/c, will they go after my wife when I am gone ?

or shud I just deduct from my a/c ... so they cannot go after her ?

... my chronic illnesses raised my term insurance for $250k coverage to a yearly premium of $4k !! ... so not really cheaper for me.

i think for HDB, it's very cheap. my loan was about 250k for my BTO. I think it's cheaper than insuring 100k SAF term life insurance (i cant rem the exact numbers).

is this "built into" the repayment ?

coz I don't remember this .... only remember fire insurance.

lets say if cfp deduct from both me and wife a/c, will they go after my wife when I am gone ?

or shud I just deduct from my a/c ... so they cannot go after her ?

... my chronic illnesses raised my term insurance for $250k coverage to a yearly premium of $4k !! ... so not really cheaper for me.

Best to ask the lawyers or HDB side. 

HPS

yup. 

Okay. Looks like my MIL can sell her place and buy another one under her name only and still get some $$$ from ah gong.

Your MIL must be very young

hehehe ... I am commoner ... just tried HDB eligibility app ... said I can still buy BTO !!

when I bought my resale 3rm, actually no need to take loan but I thought, ä¸åç½ä¸å ... so borrow 20k and then pay over 10 years just to make use of my entitlement.

but I did not take the grants ... but now, I have decided that this new BTO will be my final resting place ... so want to squeeze everything I can from the govt.

and frankly, even if kenah toto jackpot I also won't buy condo ... personally feel its a waste of good money.

One treats housing as housing, the other treats housing as premium housing (the “wasteful” part) plus investment with precision controls (the investment part).

Both types of housing cannot be compared side by side.

Edited by Showster

I'm not v v sure, but i think:

must have husb-wife names as joint-applicants to apply for new flats from govt. if not husb-wife, then need to have parent-child instead. That's why singles cannot apply new flats.

Then in terms of loan repayment, can be just one person paying - which was the case most of the time in the past when our parents' time, where usually the wife is housewife so no $$ to repay anyway...

As explained by the rest, if take HDB loan, got a component built-in, which will allow the surviving spouse to stay free if one spouse passes away, no need to pay the remaining loan.

I'm not v v sure, but i think:

must have husb-wife names as joint-applicants to apply for new flats from govt. if not husb-wife, then need to have parent-child instead. That's why singles cannot apply new flats.

Then in terms of loan repayment, can be just one person paying - which was the case most of the time in the past when our parents' time, where usually the wife is housewife so no $$ to repay anyway...

As explained by the rest, if take HDB loan, got a component built-in, which will allow the surviving spouse to stay free if one spouse passes away, no need to pay the remaining loan.

BTO needs multiple names free from encumberance.

Resales can buy in one name but must have one more or a set of members who can form a nuclear family.

I think only. Best to check with HDB

i think for HDB, it's very cheap. my loan was about 250k for my BTO. I think it's cheaper than insuring 100k SAF term life insurance (i cant rem the exact numbers).

How does it work?

Is it compulsory? 

Your MIL must be very young

BTO needs multiple names free from encumberance.

Resales can buy in one name but must have one more or a set of members who can form a nuclear family.

I think only. Best to check with HDB

There should be a singles scheme bto.

Singles BTO only 2rm but 2 single siblings can also apply for 3rm or bigger BTO if I read it correctly. Edited by Showster

Singles BTO only 2rm but 2 single siblings can also apply for 3rm or bigger BTO if I read it correctly.

cool. is it better to get 1x 2 room each and then combine them?

How is this different from buying a larger HDB to begin with?

I doubt authorities will allow two 2rm flats to be combined. How is this different from a 3rm (cheaper) or a 4rm (larger) flat?