Contipro 5th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 39 minutes ago, Wormee said: This is what I did to my Sienta last time. From bare metal to full sound proofing. As what the other brothers mentioned, it adds weight to the whole car and the effect is really minimum (even to the extend I change quiet tires). I spent $1.5k for the sound proofing and feel that it is not worth it. In the olden days, want a quiet car, get a Lexus/Camry. Nowadays, get a electric car sua. Confirm 100% quiet. Just from my personal experience. Actual how many layers applied ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 12 minutes ago, Contipro said: Actual how many layers applied ? One layer on body including the wheel arches. Double layer on 4 doors and boot door. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 Just like the more beers you down, the more Chio the beer ladies become... The older you get, the quieter the car becomes.. that is when u realise u may need hearing aids. Jokes aside, must learn from the best in sound insulation. U know your ride is goddamn quiet when u have to make it noiser. "... turns out that altering the previous Ghost’s frame from steel to aluminum (which carries less sound than its heavier predecessor), insulating the bulkhead of the car in a double-soundproofed, sound-deadening skin, and filling the rest of the roof, trunk, and floor with 220 pounds of sound-absorbing materials worked a little too well. So did smoothing the insides of the air conditioning ducts, double-glazing side windows with a clear composite center sheet, and lining the tires with lightweight foam. So Rolls-Royce engineers had to do something counterintuitive: Make the ride noisier." https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-10-16/rolls-royce-s-new-car-was-so-quiet-at-first-it-made-drivers-nauseous Want to make the car super quiet, then have to prepare some few hundred pounds of deafening materials. Or maybe like many have said here, just get some anc earphones for everyone in the car. Cheap and definitely works. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 2 hours ago, ER-3682 said: A few Years back,i overheard a Brand new Altis Owner complaining to Borneo Motor Servicing Advisor,saying His Car was noisier than His Friend over 10 Years old Lexus LS430,the Service Advisor...shocked by such question,said will do whatever is needed. Depend on whether the SA is a he or she...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 i used thinsulate for my door recently thinking it would have made some difference. it was very slight. but the speakers sounded much better,, a fuller sound with enhanced bass and clarity. i chose this mainly because it was 3M and quality was good and didnt want to add weight. I didnt bother with sticky mass loading. DIY sticky bitumen and vinyl sheets like what @Wormee did, Mainly the doors and a bit of the floor,but not the whole car. in the end waste time. quite marginal difference. The thinsulate was something like this. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 2 hours ago, Wormee said: One layer on body including the wheel arches. Double layer on 4 doors and boot door. Dont think 1 layer will make any significant effect. at least 1 layer is of reduce panel vibration, and another softer layer to absorb noise. I guess this is more proper. May be some other real expert can advise. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 3 hours ago, Contipro said: Dont think 1 layer will make any significant effect. at least 1 layer is of reduce panel vibration, and another softer layer to absorb noise. I guess this is more proper. May be some other real expert can advise. Quite true. That’s why I said I felt waste money. Now I don’t care already. Been there done that. Zhng car is a waste of money. It doesn’t add any value either when you are selling it. Whole car is stock. Close door got milo tin clank sound loud loud. 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 15 minutes ago, Wormee said: Quite true. That’s why I said I felt waste money. Now I don’t care already. Been there done that. Zhng car is a waste of money. It doesn’t add any value either when you are selling it. Whole car is stock. Close door got milo tin clank sound loud loud. 😅 enjoy your ride till selling it.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gk3 Neutral Newbie October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 (edited) Thanks for all the replies. I have decided to sound proof my car with Dats Auto after hearing all the good reviews. The full package is below 1k. Which I find it reasonable. No harm trying and hopefully it help abit with the noise. Edited October 4, 2021 by gk3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gk3 Neutral Newbie October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 11 hours ago, ER-3682 said: You never Test Drive before you buy.?Should buy a Lexus if you want Quietness. TBH. I didn't test drive it. I thought it should be of certain standard. But I was wrong . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 22 hours ago, Kopites said: Imo if soundproof can make a Korea car come close to Merc standard than Merc itself wont deem worthy. Material/structure/layer of glasses etc all play significant part in soundproof a ride. It made my Lexus very very quiet and my brother's maid commented that it is better sounding than my brother's Merc. Even the maid can tell opening and closing the doors. I don't have much photos. But you can feel the super huge differences. I even have the red tubing inserted into the doors seal. While I donno how many KG is added,(each doors have 2 layers while the boot and other areas got 1 layer). My fuel consumption is about over 10km per liter on mixed driving which I think is very good liao 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gk3 Neutral Newbie October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 2 hours ago, Arogab said: It made my Lexus very very quiet and my brother's maid commented that it is better sounding than my brother's Merc. Even the maid can tell opening and closing the doors. I don't have much photos. But you can feel the super huge differences. I even have the red tubing inserted into the doors seal. While I donno how many KG is added,(each doors have 2 layers while the boot and other areas got 1 layer). My fuel consumption is about over 10km per liter on mixed driving which I think is very good liao Where did you did your sound proofing and cost? 14 hours ago, ER-3682 said: You never Test Drive before you buy.?Should buy a Lexus if you want Quietness. TBH. I didn't test drive it. I thought it should be of certain standard. But I was wrong . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 2 minutes ago, gk3 said: Where did you did your sound proofing and cost? TBH. I didn't test drive it. I thought it should be of certain standard. But I was wrong . I did the 4 doors 2 layers, boot and also the body side panel internal as a small portion. Then insert the foam tube into the doors seal. It cost me a total of $1400. I had also thot to do below the seat and wheels well but feel it is very good enough and did not go back again. The speakers sounds better and car drives very softly. It is now very different from stock drive 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gk3 Neutral Newbie October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 8 hours ago, Arogab said: I did the 4 doors 2 layers, boot and also the body side panel internal as a small portion. Then insert the foam tube into the doors seal. It cost me a total of $1400. I had also thot to do below the seat and wheels well but feel it is very good enough and did not go back again. The speakers sounds better and car drives very softly. It is now very different from stock drive Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 gk3,anyway you cannot compare your new Kia K3 with your old Mercedes Benz S-Class...just get on driving,don't spend $$$ on Sound Proofing...Just Work Hard & earn alot of Money & get back a S-Class if you have make it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear October 4, 2021 Share October 4, 2021 My Avante was applied with thinsulator on all 4 doors after one member said it had cut 50% of the noise for his Avante. But truth is, the difference is hardly noticeable. Only until I applied another round of rubber seal to all 4 doors, the exterior noise cut is 50%. So far most of the feedback from owners who did full soundproofing said is not worth it from the price paid versus the insulation gain. Different category of cars are built differently with the price and engineering. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 5, 2021 Share October 5, 2021 1 hour ago, Heartbreakid said: My Avante was applied with thinsulator on all 4 doors after one member said it had cut 50% of the noise for his Avante. But truth is, the difference is hardly noticeable. Only until I applied another round of rubber seal to all 4 doors, the exterior noise cut is 50%. So far most of the feedback from owners who did full soundproofing said is not worth it from the price paid versus the insulation gain. Different category of cars are built differently with the price and engineering. There are so many factor in the sound proofing. Since you say the sound reduce after you added rubber seal to the rubber doors and you see the results. There will be other people who says not good enough cos sound may also be coming in from wheels well and the base below the seat. And also the glass being double layered for better sound proof will play a part 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 5, 2021 Share October 5, 2021 On 10/4/2021 at 7:28 AM, ER-3682 said: You never Test Drive before you buy.?Should buy a Lexus if you want Quietness. Actualli hor....maybe onli the Lexus LS500 is quiet I test drove the ES250 Luxury b4.....not exactly quiet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...