Banz86 5th Gear October 2, 2018 Share October 2, 2018 Ultimately what is driving rental prices are the competition around your condo. There will be landlords who doesn't mind $100 or $200 lesser just to rent it out. Or some likes the profile of the tenant and don't mind getting less. There are two important factors when comes to investment/rental 1) The entry price for the purchase has to be correct. If it is a new launch, please study the avg $psf of all new launches of the same bedroom types within 2 years in your district. These will be your main competitors. Then look at your new launch. How many % more premium compare to those? Is that premium acceptable? And that also depends on the number of new launches nearby. 2) Price your rental correctly. A lot of landlord wanted prices on the high side not knowing that they are just pricing themselves out and tenant agents are just using their unit as a show flat. A good landlord agent will be of tremendous help here in giving advice and ensuring no viewing leakage. I don't want to go into the agent part because I think I can write a book on it, but I think most should get my point. Good insights.. Let me take reevaluate on both your suggestions in case I'm pricing too much. Thanks ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 2, 2018 Share October 2, 2018 (edited) ah wong sir says no buy leh ... so how? Edited October 2, 2018 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic October 2, 2018 Share October 2, 2018 ah wong sir says no buy leh ... so how?I feel for the minorities. Imagine they wanna sell but cannot sell due to this policy.. quite cham. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged October 2, 2018 Share October 2, 2018 I feel for the minorities. Imagine they wanna sell but cannot sell due to this policy.. quite cham. Most affected are the expensive areas like Bishan, AMK, TPY where Chinese are plenty so the ethnic quota often never change from month to month. Imagine a old 5-room there is 700-800k each. How many minorities can afford? So the minority owner seller often get stuck even though the Chinese buyers are queuing to buy one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 2, 2018 Share October 2, 2018 (edited) It's kinda fair. They probably bought the place under the minority scheme as well. Meaning they had priority if it were a bto or enjoyed a lower purchase price if they bought it resale. But the scheme itself is stupid and should be scrapped. Edited October 2, 2018 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Good reading material https://www.99.co/blog/singapore/ethnic-integration-policy/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 (edited) May 2017 to now Oct 2018 still no taker i would say BTO “completed” flats should open up for all races after 6-months unsold another 48 units aint gonna create a Chinese enclave for resale ... abit tricky that the owner kay kay cannot sell for 6-months and then sell to Chinese for a higher price anyway to close this gap? but why worry, if buyer know this is a open up to other races resale can hantam another 3-5% discount? besides, this is minority cases la. with today flood of information, buyer can make informed decision! Edited October 3, 2018 by Wt_know 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 May 2017 to now Oct 2018 still no taker i would say BTO “completed” flats should open up for all races after 6-months unsold another 48 units aint gonna create a Chinese enclave for resale ... abit tricky that the owner kay kay cannot sell for 6-months and then sell to Chinese for a higher price anyway to close this gap? but why worry, if buyer know this is a open up to other races resale can hantam another 3-5% discount? besides, this is minority cases la. with today flood of information, buyer can make informed decision! Not kay kay la. Sure can sell, just a matter of price. I think we haven't reached a stage where there is no liquidity in the market. As for the resale discount, I've seen minority flats in places like holland village selling for 10-15% discount. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 yes. if everyone wants no $1M no talk how to sell? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Horrible Buy a HDB, policies so complicated Buy a car, policies so complicated Get an education, policies so complicated Take your money from CPF, policies so complicated Life in Singapore, so complicated 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Life can be simple.. Live in Nepal No choice of transport - walk up and down the mountain No worries about land - plenty No worries about bathing - optional No worries about choice of food - eat dal and rice every day No worries about traffic jams No worries about toilets - just go outdoors Each time I visit Nepal, Cambodia or such places, I look forward to the queues at changi with a smile. I stand in line for taxis with gratitude Just saying bros There are worse things in life.. By the way I know some very nice Nepalese food we can eat at the next MU Not dull at all ya ha 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Oh yeah, totally agree.. Our properties are within 2 mins walk from the MRT station but rental yields aren't as good as it used too. Even my parents place that is a 3 min walk from an MRT with a shopping mall and bus interchange beside it, have yields dropped around 10%. What we can say is there are many tenant potentials around but they are looking for decent locations and not willing or able to pay high rent. Know this well, and you would be able to navigate this pretty well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Life can be simple.. Live in Nepal No choice of transport - walk up and down the mountain No worries about land - plenty No worries about bathing - optional No worries about choice of food - eat dal and rice every day No worries about traffic jams No worries about toilets - just go outdoors Each time I visit Nepal, Cambodia or such places, I look forward to the queues at changi with a smile. I stand in line for taxis with gratitude Just saying bros There are worse things in life.. By the way I know some very nice Nepalese food we can eat at the next MU Not dull at all ya ha well said, life's complicated so that we can spend time to make it easier for us. it's not life's job, it's ours. life can be as simple as you want it to be. of course, it's a lot tougher for those who are less abled but I don't see how someone driving a glc would complain about not being able to simplify things. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/unit-claremont-sold-114-mil-profit Unit at Claremont sold for $1.14 mil profit Sept 29, 2018 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 Huaters and non huaters, Sept 11 to 18 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 https://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/news/chart-day-cbd-new-launch-home-prices-soared-290-2013 Oct 2, 2018 Resale prices also rose 450% to $2,000 psf from $350 psf back in 2003. Prices of new launches and resale homes in the Central Business District have been on a growth trajectory for more than 10 years. Prices of new launches skyrocketed 290% to more than $2,700 psf YTD in September from $700 psf back in 2003. In the resale market, prices soared more than 450% to almost $2,000 psf in Semptember from $350 psf back in 2003. "The explosive growth in prices in the CBD outpaced the 82% change in URA property price index over the same period." 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 https://sbr.com.sg/economy/news/singapore-population-inched-05-564-million-in-june Singapore population inched up 0.5% to 5.64 million in June Sept 28, 2018 Ageing population ... so not a matter of 'if' ... just 'when' ;) https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/spores-fertility-rate-down-as-number-of-singles-goes-upSingapore's fertility rate down as number of singles goes up Sept 28, 2018 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 3, 2018 Share October 3, 2018 (edited) singles ftw! read newspaper $2900/psf all scared to get married liao Edited October 3, 2018 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...