Mercury1 Turbocharged April 9, 2019 Share April 9, 2019 A few pointers I gathered from them - When possible your ears and you shoulder should be in line to prevent slouching, - Shoulder stiffness is normally caused by extended of mouse and the elbow not being supported. If you use your mouse your arm should be more or less flat with the table (supported by the table) if you have elbow area not supported it will result in the muscles holding the arm up over extended periods. So your chair either needs a good armrest to keep in line with the table or your entire arm rest on table in a 90 degree fashion. - If your table is hard to adjust can try lowering the chair. IMG_1804.JPG I've been trying to get the correct height. Connect to monitor and increase height to avoid using laptop screen (bending of neck)... Initially it did get better but somehow came back again.. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 9, 2019 Share April 9, 2019 Actually quite true.... on days when I'm out of office doing ground inspections or handling audits, my neck and shoulders are significantly better. Actually all my problems came when I changed to this new office... are you constantly blown under a aircond vent? Like myself, now also got neck and shoulder ache because of the aircond I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged April 9, 2019 Share April 9, 2019 i bought a massage chair and a shoulder/neck massager for use in my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jessecai Clutched April 21, 2019 Share April 21, 2019 I'd say that chiropractors in Singapore tend to over service their patients compared to the nordic countries (even after taking into consideration maintenance care). I blogged about it before previously. You can check it How Often Do I Need to See a Chiropractor? I have included all the references in the post so you can fact check for yourself :) Chiropractic helps in my case but still need long term if not lifetime maintenance as one age, bad habits in postures, active lifestyle such as some sports will put more stress on muscles, tendons, skeleton etc. All forms of exercises on PMD not counted ah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 Damn jialat . . . have been feeling very very stiff the last 2 weeks, my neck and left shoulder. I have high endurance for pain but this takes the cake. Checking blindspot is painful when I turn my head and sleeping at night is worse, waking up at the slightest turn. Have been sticking all kinds of medicated patches, deep heat rub and even got my son to massage my aching muscles but only temporary relief. How effective is that kind of pulsating muscle zapper with that 2 sticky pads? I am thinking of getting a set from *$im. Should I? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 Damn jialat . . . have been feeling very very stiff the last 2 weeks, my neck and left shoulder. I have high endurance for pain but this takes the cake. Checking blindspot is painful when I turn my head and sleeping at night is worse, waking up at the slightest turn. Have been sticking all kinds of medicated patches, deep heat rub and even got my son to massage my aching muscles but only temporary relief. How effective is that kind of pulsating muscle zapper with that 2 sticky pads? I am thinking of getting a set from *$im. Should I? go for TCM tui na and acupuncture, getting your son to massage is not helping at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 (edited) Damn jialat . . . have been feeling very very stiff the last 2 weeks, my neck and left shoulder. I have high endurance for pain but this takes the cake. Checking blindspot is painful when I turn my head and sleeping at night is worse, waking up at the slightest turn. Have been sticking all kinds of medicated patches, deep heat rub and even got my son to massage my aching muscles but only temporary relief. How effective is that kind of pulsating muscle zapper with that 2 sticky pads? I am thinking of getting a set from *$im. Should I? What I do is stretch. The yoga child pose is my fav. Stretch for 10-15mins before I go to sleep. Even after I do weights I stretch using the child pose. Very good. It helps blood flow to your upper body as well. The problem we have is that at standing or sitting position the heart level is below our neck and shoulder level. For the heart to pump blood upwards takes a lot of effort as it's working against gravity. Not enought blood get to our necks and shoulders. That's why they ache easily. I see a lot of ppl do the heat suction cupping thing. No point. You have to do stretching that will help bring blood flow to your upper body. Head stand is probably too much for a beginner. So child pose, push up(buttocks must point up) position all these will promote blood flow to upper body. Stay in the position as long as you can. Remember all those tekan session during ns? Push up position with buttocks up and hold it there? It's to help you strengthen your upper body and to promote blood flow there. Back then do you have any stiff neck or shoulder pain? Only muscle ache. Edited August 14, 2019 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 Damn jialat . . . have been feeling very very stiff the last 2 weeks, my neck and left shoulder. I have high endurance for pain but this takes the cake. Checking blindspot is painful when I turn my head and sleeping at night is worse, waking up at the slightest turn. Have been sticking all kinds of medicated patches, deep heat rub and even got my son to massage my aching muscles but only temporary relief. How effective is that kind of pulsating muscle zapper with that 2 sticky pads? I am thinking of getting a set from *$im. Should I? this type go TCM and let them check. for me I go Ma Kuang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 go for TCM tui na and acupuncture, getting your son to massage is not helping at all He searched and watched youtube on massage before he tried out on me. I screamed in pain at every squeeze .... Hahaha! Pain but shiok lah. Seemed effective at first cos the shoulder and neck muscles felt relaxed but stiffness came back after a day. My wife said go for acupuncture and cupping but no time for that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 What I do is stretch. The yoga child pose is my fav. Stretch for 10-15mins before I go to sleep. Even after I do weights I stretch using the child pose. Very good. It helps blood flow to your upper body as well. The problem we have is that at standing or sitting position the heart level is below our neck and shoulder level. For the heart to pump blood upwards takes a lot of effort as it's working against gravity. Not enought blood get to our necks and shoulders. That's why they ache easily. I see a lot of ppl do the heat suction cupping thing. No point. You have to do stretching that will help bring blood flow to your upper body. Head stand is probably too much for a beginner. So child pose, push up(buttocks must point up) position all these will promote blood flow to upper body. Stay in the position as long as you can. Remember all those tekan session during ns? Push up position with buttocks up and hold it there? It's to help you strengthen your upper body and to promote blood flow there. Back then do you have any stiff neck or shoulder pain? Only muscle ache. Thanks for the suggestion. I do light stretching, arm and neck rotation before sleeping but no effect.this type go TCM and let them check. for me I go Ma Kuang.I better go check since it has been almost 2 or 3 weeks. Ma Guang got outlet at China Town Point? I go later during lunch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 He searched and watched youtube on massage before he tried out on me. I screamed in pain at every squeeze .... Hahaha! Pain but shiok lah. Seemed effective at first cos the shoulder and neck muscles felt relaxed but stiffness came back after a day. My wife said go for acupuncture and cupping but no time for that. it is not about the way he squeeze or teh your muscle, it is which point that link to the nerve that cause the stiff and pain. I once complaint about my left buttock pain but the sinseh massage my right buttock cos they are connected Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 He searched and watched youtube on massage before he tried out on me. I screamed in pain at every squeeze .... Hahaha! Pain but shiok lah. Seemed effective at first cos the shoulder and neck muscles felt relaxed but stiffness came back after a day. My wife said go for acupuncture and cupping but no time for that. Watch YTMassage Wife Tried out on me Cupping Shoulder Neck Squeeze Scream Pain Shiok Stiffness Relaxed These key words when rearrange can have a totally different rating for the underaged reader 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 it is not about the way he squeeze or teh your muscle, it is which point that link to the nerve that cause the stiff and pain. I once complaint about my left buttock pain but the sinseh massage my right buttock cos they are connected Okok... Later will complain buttock pain also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 Ma Guang got outlet at China Town Point? I go later during lunch. Ma Kuang HO is at New Bridge Road. For me I go Ma Kuang Bt Merah and look for Dr Sng when he is on duty there. Experienced old timer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 For me I think only stretching out the stiff muscle will work. All else are just a quick fix. Other than stretching you need to excercise to strengthen where you get aches and pain easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 (edited) If any good looking young ladies got stiff neck or shoulders can pm me. I can massage other areas also. Special discount for MCF members only for August. Edited August 14, 2019 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 If any good looking young ladies got stiff neck or shoulders can pm me. I can massage other areas also. Special discount for MCF members only for August. Be a good SIL and offer your you-know-who a good massage. Hahahaha! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 14, 2019 Share August 14, 2019 Ever had a very bad stiff neck years back...couldn’t check blind spot while driving to hospital... In the end this thing helped instead... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...