Soh Rui Yong is not selected for SEA Games

Ender

6 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

He has been competing in more competitive races overseas especially he is based in UK now.

It is a better training ground than locally.

He could be THE National Record Holder than did not represent the Country😂

That's why. Probably sponsoring himself or others to compete but did not hold up the National flag lor

1 minute ago, Arogab said:

That's why. Probably sponsoring himself or others to compete but did not hold up the National flag lor

He could be easily holding Marathon Gold for years.

We could also see Asian Games Bronze Medal.

Sadly, loose mouth.

9 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Sadly, loose mouth.

he needs medal to get sponsor, if not nobody bother to know where he compete cos he can never wins those ang mo or orh lang.

16 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Sadly, loose mouth.

Sad lah. What to do?

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

He has been competing in more competitive races overseas especially he is based in UK now.

It is a better training ground than locally.

He could be THE National Record Holder than did not represent the Country😂

SG has never been a good training ground for outdoor sports. 

And yes, I too believe his timing will drop, partly due to training environment, partly due to training partners. Both elements absent  locally.

I think he was already the national record holder when he represented SG in his 2nd sea games. 

But then so what? Without a stage to perform, ppl to create that limelight and awareness,who are you?

SNOC has every sports associations under it's belt, what the hell is SA and who the fark is SRY to it? 

SNOC can wait another 50 years for a new marathon sea games gold. SA can wait another 10-15 years maybe. SRY? How much longer can he wait? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, Jman888 said:

he needs medal to get sponsor, if not nobody bother to know where he compete cos he can never wins those ang mo or orh lang.

I think he probably not on any of SNOC money grant already, and SA is too poor to feed him anything. I believe he also lost some long time sponsorship already, that's why he needs the sea games gold medal next year badly. So bad that he is showing SNOC he is willing to crawl back as long as SNOC is willing to throw a pc of bone. 

Strange thing to me, guys from ACS and HCI don't seem to get into such mess. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

8 hours ago, Ender said:

Eat humble pie liao.. Should let him compete, coz really he can perform in SEA level.

I think LKY also knew Lim Chin Siong was a very capable and charismatic person. 

He didn't allow him to compete and we all knew of operation coldstore.🤣 .

Credibility and responsibility is very important if one need to represent a nation. 

Not personal pride and honour.😅

8 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Eliud Kipchoge broke WR at 37 years old.

For marathon, peak starts from 30 years old.

Unlike shorter distance.

Edit: 2019: 2hr 23mins 42sec (National Record); He was 28 years old.

2021: 2hr 22mins 59sec (National Record); He was 30 years old.

If he continues on this trajectory, likely to go below 2hrs 20mins.

Hope he can mature as he age.

7 hours ago, Arogab said:

I sin ka por lang also. At 40 my leg already softening liao. I remember I was feeling so fit in 2012, I was 40. We took part in the Business Group Basketball tournament. Running against the youngster is vely chuan. I told you guys when I was younger. My 10KM can be at 38mins. I don't think those youngster were as good as me if I was 20 - 24. But at 40, I super chuan with them.....Now, I lim bi jiu and kia kia liao

Hmmm.... doesn't matter age

To run 10km at 38mins probably fall into the 99th percentile.

Probably passed his peak liao when he race for the next SEA or Asian game

• Sad 1

On 3/25/2023 at 3:07 PM, Ender said:

Probably passed his peak liao when he race for the next SEA or Asian game

At last. this is a piece of good news both for Singapore and SRY. 

Hope he just run his best race and keep his mouth shut!

On 3/25/2023 at 4:08 PM, Fitvip said:

At last. this is a piece of good news both for Singapore and SRY. 

Hope he just run his best race and keep his mouth shut!

1 more time trouble. He really can retire internationally already😅

On 3/25/2023 at 4:47 PM, Beregond said:

They have very high ego!

On 3/25/2023 at 4:47 PM, Beregond said:

His standard at most is Asian game. 

On 3/25/2023 at 5:57 PM, Ender said:

His standard at most is Asian game. 

Based on his SEA Games finishing time, he will finish top 10 (btw 6 - 10) in Asia Games.

Jap and Kor have much faster runners