Stary Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, yishunite said: I mean comparing fixed salary job in F&B with Grab gig job. Pay may be higher and more stable in F&B. But ppl still prefer Grab. How lidat? I think cos for delivery rider, they control their own income. It can be higher than F&B if the person works really hard. Also, it is own time own target, no bosses to control them Downside, like all self-employed, no cpf from employer, but medisave contribution from own pocket is still compulsory (if Net trade income above $6K per year). Also, monthly income is not stable, all depend on how hard they work Edited April 18, 2022 by Starry ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 46 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Not forgetting that Grab/FoodPanda is more physically taxing than F&B job. In addition, there is no guarantee in income. But ppl still prefer Grab. It is definitely beyond CPF/No CPF discussion. When young or single, no need to worry so much about guarantee in income. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 50 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Not forgetting that Grab/FoodPanda is more physically taxing than F&B job. In addition, there is no guarantee in income. But ppl still prefer Grab. It is definitely beyond CPF/No CPF discussion. People still prefer job that give them freedom, got CPF or not not important. F&B job still require to go work at fixed hours. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: Are you really sure it is because of that? Honestly, no one (including Govt) has really done any research on the reason. Most ppl just give a guessing answer. I don’t know i also anyhow say one every single person has different consideration. survey and studies can only cover sample size intenet talk cock of course don’t have the rigour like Govt studies sometimes you don’t have to eat shit to know shit cannot eat 🤪 Edited April 18, 2022 by Mustank 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: $20/mth towards Medisave. Taxi Operator will contribute $20. https://dollarsandsense.sg/business/drive-and-save-das-scheme-benefits-taxi-drivers/#:~:text=Taxi drivers do not have,month or %24240 a year. $20 vs donno how % employer contribution But I agree with you that cpf is surely not the only reason why full time vs commission based job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 1 hour ago, yishunite said: I mean comparing fixed salary job in F&B with Grab gig job. Pay may be higher and more stable in F&B. But ppl still prefer Grab. How lidat? Recently read a post on fb. One guy used to work in f&b mentioned a few things which I think brings out a different perspective. 1. Grab pay is higher assuming 3k with grab. 2.5k with f&b. 2. Shorter working hours for grab. No boss to report. No ot. 3. No progression in f&b because of their academic qualification. 4. Because got more free time, they can go for other courses to upgrade their skills. Cpf is really up to individual if want to contribute or not. One still can contribute voluntary even if doing gig job but I know most won't. 😅 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) It’s the pay in the end. Inplement minimum wage and you will get more workers in F&B and retail. Money talk and bulls**t walk. Edited April 18, 2022 by Fcw75 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 47 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: It’s the pay in the end. Inplement minimum wage and you will get more workers in F&B and retail. Money talk and bulls**t walk. “2. Shorter working hours for grab. No boss to report. No ot. 3. No progression in f&b because of their academic qualification. 4. Because got more free time, they can go for other courses to upgrade their skills.” 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 3 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: By then, our merdeka card will have alot of features le! No scare! - You cross the road, you have longer duration - You buy cai fan, the boss will give you 2 veg 1 meat for $4 fixed. - kopi/teh got discounted rates By then? shouldn't call PG or MG liao, maybe GG card..... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 22 minutes ago, inlinesix said: “2. Shorter working hours for grab. No boss to report. No ot. 3. No progression in f&b because of their academic qualification. 4. Because got more free time, they can go for other courses to upgrade their skills.” Upgrade skills? Hahaha…ok. Put life at risk on the road? Different people different stroke. Remembered the guy who just got married and wanted to earn the damn incentive? He paid for it with his life. Never get the chance to see his kid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 12 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Upgrade skills? Hahaha…ok. Put life at risk on the road? Different people different stroke. Remembered the guy who just got married and wanted to earn the damn incentive? He paid for it with his life. Never get the chance to see his kid. Read @Stratovarius post properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 6 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Read @Stratovarius post properly. I read…then? What’s your point? You just copy and paste part of what he posted. My point is if you increase the pay of F&B, you will get more people coming here to work. Stability with CPF contribution. Edited April 18, 2022 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 1 minute ago, Fcw75 said: I read…then? If you don’t get it, it is NOT my problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Fcw75 said: It’s the pay in the end. Inplement minimum wage and you will get more workers in F&B and retail. Money talk and bulls**t walk. F&b and retail are cut throat industry. No thanks to the landlords. One friend in f&b as cook in a bar. 4pm to 12am. After clean up 1am go home. 6 days a week. Most of the time is standing or walking around. Very hard to take vacation. Another friend who was once a store manager. Unachievable monthly sales quota. Have to handle customer service which he told me alot of funny stories. Hours 10am to 10pm. Clean up 11pm go home. Stock check need to ot overnight. Need to manage his staffs' funny patterns. Even if the pay is good, not alot of people will want to take especially with work-life-balance being so heavily promoted. Service line is really tough with long working hours. Basically other people's free time is your working hours. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 13 minutes ago, inlinesix said: If you don’t get it, it is NOT my problem. You work neither in both, as if you get it please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: You work neither in both, as if you get it please. I get it even though I don’t work in both now. Edited April 18, 2022 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Stratovarius said: F&b and retail are cut throat industry. No thanks to the landlords. One friend in f&b as cook in a bar. 4pm to 12am. After clean up 1am go home. 6 days a week. Most of the time is standing or walking around. Very hard to take vacation. Another friend who was once a store manager. Unachievable monthly sales quota. Have to handle customer service which he told me alot of funny stories. Hours 10am to 10pm. Clean up 11pm go home. Stock check need to ot overnight. Need to manage his staffs' funny patterns. Even if the pay is good, not alot of people will want to take especially with work-life-balance being so heavily promoted. Service line is really tough with long working hours. Basically other people's free time is your working hours. Because the pay sucks bro. I’m standing right here in the kitchen. What’s the main gripe of people I worked with? Low pay. And yes, working hours are long. Thats why I said with low pay and long working hours, how to attract people doing gig economy? I’m never a fan of gig economy too. Edited April 18, 2022 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 1 minute ago, inlinesix said: I get it even though I don’t work in both now. Sure whatever, you win then. Talk when you are doing either one. Edited April 18, 2022 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...