Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

On 6/6/2026 at 11:51 PM, Mkl22 said:

12mm should be a piece of cake for SDS rotary hammer. 

no rotary hammer, no drilling [laugh]

Concrete really no joke.

Finally got it done.

An impact driver is really useful. 

On hindsight, shouldn't have tighten so much. Should have left more of the screw inside the wall but what's done is done. 

IMG20260608123337.jpg

On 6/6/2026 at 8:04 PM, Kb27 said:

New to me, metal wall plug. Comes with screws set. Surprisingly the screws had PZ2 head, not phillips.

Let's see how it works out.

mplug.jpg

Having used these, I'd say the metal wall plug is quite unforgiving compared to nylon plugs.

The top of the plug where the ring is, will fit the screw hole, say M8. Below it, the edge is slightly bigger, before tapering towards the end. So you have to use a small hammer to knock the plug in. It grips the hole real tight. There's no way to remove it by hand, unless drilled out, I guess.

If the drilled hole is slightly too shallow, it'll be a problem, since the metal part will be sticking out and difficult to remove, compared to nylon, where you can easily trimmed off the excess. So these plugs favoured drilled deep holes.

On 6/9/2026 at 3:51 PM, Kb27 said:

Having used these, I'd say the metal wall plug is quite unforgiving compared to nylon plugs.

The top of the plug where the ring is, will fit the screw hole, say M8. Below it, the edge is slightly bigger, before tapering towards the end. So you have to use a small hammer to knock the plug in. It grips the hole real tight. There's no way to remove it by hand, unless drilled out, I guess.

If the drilled hole is slightly too shallow, it'll be a problem, since the metal part will be sticking out and difficult to remove, compared to nylon, where you can easily trimmed off the excess. So these plugs favoured drilled deep holes.

Thanks. Just bought some. What I do is mark the length of wall plug on a disposable chopstick. Helps gauge the depth of hole.

On 6/8/2026 at 6:35 PM, Lala81 said:

An impact driver is really useful. 

Impact driver is certainly very useful.

In the case of a misaligned hole when you're trying to force a philips head screw in, you only need to apply pressure and let the driver do the work. If using a manual screwdriver, your hand will be bruised and a tendency to slip and damage the screw head.

On 6/9/2026 at 3:59 PM, Kklim said:

Thanks. Just bought some. What I do is mark the length of wall plug on a disposable chopstick. Helps gauge the depth of hole.

Can use a tape on the drill bit like a flag to indicate how deep you want to go and stop once the flag touches the surface. 

On 6/9/2026 at 4:16 PM, Volvobrick said:

Can use a tape on the drill bit like a flag to indicate how deep you want to go and stop once the flag touches the surface. 

sometimes its the dust right at the end that's blocking. 

Those angmoh sometimes recommend to use air canister spray with those long thin nozzle to blast out everything.
Vacuuming the hole can remove only the more exterior concrete/brick dust.
But I guess u can blow as well, which I did on monday. Cos i had to go a 2nd round after i redrill again. My expansion bolt couldn't fit inside completely. Had to pull them out with pliers and try to redrill the end and slightly open up the inside. 

On 6/9/2026 at 4:36 PM, Lala81 said:

sometimes its the dust right at the end that's blocking. 

Those angmoh sometimes recommend to use air canister spray with those long thin nozzle to blast out everything.
Vacuuming the hole can remove only the more exterior concrete/brick dust.
But I guess u can blow as well, which I did on monday. Cos i had to go a 2nd round after i redrill again. My expansion bolt couldn't fit inside completely. Had to pull them out with pliers and try to redrill the end and slightly open up the inside. 

Ang moh do things jin ma huan.... I would just use the screw/drill bit to dig it out or give the hole a good blow or drill in-out in-out a few times (doesn't sound quite right!).