Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

On 4/18/2026 at 1:05 PM, Volvobrick said:

Polish one time body ache 1 week needing 3 sessions of massage. Income less than recovery expenses! 

Some money is just not for us to save🤣. But look at it positively, body still  can move is a blessing.😃

On 3/24/2026 at 9:57 AM, Mkl22 said:

does this also work to get rid of watermarks for shower glass?

Since Rain X will help the water glide down from car windscreen.  If apply Rain X on shower screen , will it help reduce water mark? 

On 4/19/2026 at 10:37 AM, Tohto said:

Since Rain X will help the water glide down from car windscreen.  If apply Rain X on shower screen , will it help reduce water mark? 

I won't use rainX or any other brand on plastic screen...glass wise should be fine 

On 4/19/2026 at 10:48 AM, mersaylee said:

I won't use rainX or any other brand on plastic screen...glass wise should be fine 

Mine glass screen

It should. That's what i originally bought the rain-X for.

but my toilets glass screen is already quite jialat liao. So bit can't be bothered anymore. Every few months just try my best.
Got no helper and no energy/time to keep cleaning it.

On 4/19/2026 at 10:59 AM, Lala81 said:

It should. That's what i originally bought the rain-X for.

but my toilets glass screen is already quite jialat liao. So bit can't be bothered anymore. Every few months just try my best.
Got no helper and no energy/time to keep cleaning it.

Try using white vinegar to remove the marks

You need the glass to be clean. Also it can flake later on and be patchy. 
so I wouldn’t. 

Edited by Mkl22

I'm trying to install a wall mounted  pull up bar. 

I'm kinda confused how this mounting bolts are supposed to work. I also read from some buyers that the mounting bolts given are incorrect. So I'm bit confused. 

I have eight of these (4 on each side). 

IMG20260425165922.jpg

On 4/25/2026 at 5:05 PM, Lala81 said:

I'm trying to install a wall mounted  pull up bar. 

I'm kinda confused how this mounting bolts are supposed to work. I also read from some buyers that the mounting bolts given are incorrect. So I'm bit confused. 

I have eight of these (4 on each side). 

IMG20260425165922.jpg

I used these bolts to install heavy fan and tv.

First you measure the correct size hole to be drilled into masonry, typically, 6, 8, 10mm. The hole depth should be about the whole length of the bolt, minus the top 1 cm or so, so the top part of the thread should be sticking out. Insert the sleeve with the split end at the bottom.

Then you insert your load (tv, bar, etc) over the bolt thread, followed by washer, spring washer, and finally the nut.

As you tightened the nut, the bolt will move upwards (outwards). The bottom will split the sleeve open jamming it against the wall of the hole, so it won't ever come out. Now your load is hanging onto the immovable bolt.

If you decide to remove your load later on, the threaded part of the bolt will be left there sticking out. In some cases, you might want to level the top, which means cutting out the thread.

Need to buy a 14mm sds drill bit first. 

On 4/25/2026 at 5:37 PM, Lala81 said:

Need to buy a 14mm sds drill bit first. 

14mm sounds like mounting the chin up bar for elephant! 

Sure so big? And 8 bolts! 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 4/25/2026 at 5:42 PM, Volvobrick said:

14mm sounds like mounting the chin up bar for elephant! 

Sure so big? And 8 bolts! 

The expansion sleeve and the end of the bolt diameter is 14mm. The bolt itself is only a M10

They scared Bui Bui kia hang off the bar mah. 

On 4/25/2026 at 5:36 PM, Kb27 said:

I used these bolts to install heavy fan and tv.

First you measure the correct size hole to be drilled into masonry, typically, 6, 8, 10mm. The hole depth should be about the whole length of the bolt, minus the top 1 cm or so, so the top part of the thread should be sticking out. Insert the sleeve with the split end at the bottom.

Then you insert your load (tv, bar, etc) over the bolt thread, followed by washer, spring washer, and finally the nut.

As you tightened the nut, the bolt will move upwards (outwards). The bottom will split the sleeve open jamming it against the wall of the hole, so it won't ever come out. Now your load is hanging onto the immovable bolt.

If you decide to remove your load later on, the threaded part of the bolt will be left there sticking out. In some cases, you might want to level the top, which means cutting out the thread.

Sometimes can hammer the bolt in and it will be flush then putty over. 

On 4/25/2026 at 5:48 PM, Lala81 said:

The expansion sleeve and the end of the bolt diameter is 14mm. The bolt itself is only a M10

They scared Bui Bui kia hang off the bar mah. 

I think 4bolts enough liao. 
8 is overkill. The bar will break before the bolt comes out

On 4/25/2026 at 6:48 PM, Mkl22 said:

I think 4bolts enough liao. 
8 is overkill. The bar will break before the bolt comes out

It's 4 per side leh. 

Screenshot_2026-04-25-19-37-38-36_39060a31215a48c7aaf1fb3368fa2e89.jpg