Simple home DIY repairs

Lala81

On 8/4/2026 at 4:55 AM, Mkl22 said:

Did you buy from Amazon Germany or local. For faucets and shower I only buy from Amazon Germany. Cheapest. Local sets are ridiculous. Can almost buy 2 online. 

I bought it from Amazon Germany 

cheapest and doorstep delivery 

even same price I also will buy from Germany

supporting local meaning I need to drive to the shop, find a place to park

talking to the ah beng sales, take whatever they have in the shop if you are lucky

otherwise no stock, sold out, offering you other brands

I don't miss those days

On 8/4/2026 at 6:46 AM, Gnahp said:

I bought it from Amazon Germany 

cheapest and doorstep delivery 

even same price I also will buy from Germany

supporting local meaning I need to drive to the shop, find a place to park

talking to the ah beng sales, take whatever they have in the shop if you are lucky

otherwise no stock, sold out, offering you other brands

I don't miss those days

For my current place I bought a rainshower from amazon Germany. and its status was for overseas shipping. Then never have any future update. I thought just in transit. 

Later suddenly changed to order canceled and refund for no reason. But I already needed the thing as my ID works very fast. Bought a local set in the end. 

In the end, my hansgrohe cartridge is leaking. So better buy grohe in future. Just that hansgrohe has a better dial compared to grohe for thermostatic. 

On 8/4/2026 at 7:37 AM, Lala81 said:

For my current place I bought a rainshower from amazon Germany. and its status was for overseas shipping. Then never have any future update. I thought just in transit. 

Later suddenly changed to order canceled and refund for no reason. But I already needed the thing as my ID works very fast. Bought a local set in the end. 

In the end, my hansgrohe cartridge is leaking. So better buy grohe in future. Just that hansgrohe has a better dial compared to grohe for thermostatic. 

I kena that from Amazon a few times

one item, I order again, and they cancelled/refund again

ding dong ding dong for 3~4 rounds

then they remove it from their listings 😁

On 8/4/2026 at 7:54 AM, Gnahp said:

I kena that from Amazon a few times

one item, I order again, and they cancelled/refund again

ding dong ding dong for 3~4 rounds

then they remove it from their listings 😁

Only happen with Amazon Japan for me when I was buying shock absorbers. Was damn cheap. In the end one set Kenna cancelled. 

On 8/4/2026 at 7:37 AM, Lala81 said:

Funnily my good friend hansgrohe basin mixer was also squeaking after 1yr. I bought a replacement cartridge from taobao. Looks original. About 1/3 the price from local shop. Even if not orig, can buy 3 lor. Spoil just change and change. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 8/4/2026 at 6:37 PM, Mkl22 said:

Funnily my good friend hansgrohe basin mixer was also squeaking after 1yr. I bought a replacement cartridge from taobao. Looks original. About 1/3 the price from local shop. Even if not orig, can buy 3 lor. Spoil just change and change. 

I just put a pail underneath and use the water to clean my dog's pee tray...

On 8/4/2026 at 6:48 PM, Lala81 said:

I just put a pail underneath and use the water to clean my dog's pee tray...

OCD me and @Gnahp will surely change it out. Just cannot live with it. Will give us mental stress, knowing and seeing that it drips. 

Hence less inheritance for our kids….😂

On 8/4/2026 at 7:01 PM, Mkl22 said:

OCD me and @Gnahp will surely change it out. Just cannot live with it. Will give us mental stress, knowing and seeing that it drips. 

Hence less inheritance for our kids….😂

last night while lying on the bed, CPAP mask donned and ready to sleep

it crossed my mind that I haven't check my motorcycles for a few days

after weighing between the effort and mental disturbance

I took a stroll at the car park to confirm everything is ok

how to overcome this? 😅

On 8/4/2026 at 7:09 PM, Gnahp said:

last night while lying on the bed, CPAP mask donned and ready to sleep

it crossed my mind that I haven't check my motorcycles for a few days

after weighing between the effort and mental disturbance

I took a stroll at the car park to confirm everything is ok

how to overcome this? 😅

Sell bike sell cars go for maintenance free bmw...✌️😁

On 8/4/2026 at 7:20 PM, mersaylee said:

Sell bike sell cars go for maintenance free bmw...✌️😁

without those, it will just shift my focus onto something else (worse)

it's my character, hard to change 😅

I was not like this before 2001

On 8/4/2026 at 6:37 PM, Mkl22 said:

Hmm if there's constantly small drip of water from the handheld shower head, is it more likely the shut off selector on the left (red), or the cartridge at the right (blue)

hansgrohe cartridge.jpg

hansgrohe cartridge mod.jpg

Anyone can help?

My toilet bowl water tank, there is a plastic screw at the bottom of the tank. Recently after after flush, when the tank fills up, water will fall for 3-4 secs and then stopped, sometimes no waterfall. I tried to tighten the screw, but water still fall. 

How ah? [:p] [laugh] [laugh]

On 8/4/2026 at 8:48 PM, Tianmo said:

Anyone can help?

My toilet bowl water tank, there is a plastic screw at the bottom of the tank. Recently after after flush, when the tank fills up, water will fall for 3-4 secs and then stopped, sometimes no waterfall. I tried to tighten the screw, but water still fall. 

How ah? [:p] [laugh] [laugh]

Tak understand…. 
what screw? Picture will help. You taking about the fill valve I assume? 

On 8/4/2026 at 7:46 PM, Lala81 said:

Hmm if there's constantly small drip of water from the handheld shower head, is it more likely the shut off selector on the left (red), or the cartridge at the right (blue)

hansgrohe cartridge.jpg

hansgrohe cartridge mod.jpg

This is the thermostatic valve type which i don’t really like cause it waste water when one is trying to flush out the cold water in the pipes. I rather the cheapo basin mixer type where I can switch to max hot to flush and then switch to my desired temp. 
of course with the thermostatic one you set the temp and don’t have to adjust anymore. I like it when I’m in hotels where i just let it run. 😂

On 8/4/2026 at 7:26 PM, Gnahp said:

without those, it will just shift my focus onto something else (worse)

it's my character, hard to change 😅

I was not like this before 2001

So that's when you got married...🙏😂

On 8/4/2026 at 9:50 PM, Mkl22 said:

Tak understand…. 
what screw? Picture will help. You taking about the fill valve I assume? 

I tink he's referring to the hold down pins of the tank to the bowl. Those rubber gaskets can be cleaned or replaced, pins usually won't break to cause leak

Edited by mersaylee

On 8/4/2026 at 9:53 PM, Mkl22 said:

This is the thermostatic valve type which i don’t really like cause it waste water when one is trying to flush out the cold water in the pipes. I rather the cheapo basin mixer type where I can switch to max hot to flush and then switch to my desired temp. 
of course with the thermostatic one you set the temp and don’t have to adjust anymore. I like it when I’m in hotels where i just let it run. 😂

Difference of opinion.

Very fast one lah. Few seconds. Confirm rape any hand operated mixer in terms of temp selection. 

I have both. And not like I use lousy manual mixers. Both my current and prev common toilet ones grohe, My parents place one also hansgrohe. Lousy ones are rubbish cos not so  precise. Used one for so long at my parents place. So when they did HIP I bought a good one for them. 

Anyway this thermostatic mixer is super common in Japan. Like >80-90 percent accomodation have this. But the non hotels use gas heaters which are slow. If HDB using one storage heater in service yard or one toilet then take longer lor.

First time visit Japan before I married, converted.