Which COE car should I buy?

keechiu

1 hour ago, Rskc said:

It is the society that we are in. We can say until cow comes home that it does not matter but it DOES matter to many others in the street even the guy who purchases it does not.

When I bought a 4.5 yr old bimmer from ppsl many years back (was wow-ed by the no-body-roll feeling drive), I was amused by my colleagues who congratulated me like i struck toto.

I drove to some condos in a bimmer, the security guard waved me thru! I was actually quite stunned.

It is a reality of scoiety whether one likes it or not!

Just being frank here.

Sorry, just being frank here as well.

Being treated like you belong (in a condo) vs. actually belonging is still two different things. 

Just remember that when you park your BMW up at night at your HDB carpark, ok?

I rather be the one that gets looked down on for walking into a Audi showroom but have full cash in my pocket to pay than the one that walks in and asks about financing means to afford a car.

You can pretend to be upper-class but you will get found out real quick.

8 minutes ago, Vinceng said:

these are not COE cars, and good buy or not is subjective:

if anyone wants just a brand without caring about power - E180

if a power die hard - Stinger is the only car out of the three he would take. and i think this is a best buy among the three

if one wants low cost, easy to maintain - then Mazda 6 2.L 

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

Many condo security guards also waved me through even though I drove a Vios.

It is a matter of perception. As long as you are happy 😄

i remember an incident back in 2017, went to a condo to pick up my girl from her friend's place.

i was driving my new Cayenne and the security guard gestured to wind the window down.

he kept mumbling something that i struggled to understand.

took me quite a while to realise he was asking whether i was grab or uber. 🙂

1 hour ago, Macrosszero said:

Sorry, just being frank here as well.

Being treated like you belong (in a condo) vs. actually belonging is still two different things. 

Just remember that when you park your BMW up at night at your HDB carpark, ok?

I rather be the one that gets looked down on for walking into a Audi showroom but have full cash in my pocket to pay than the one that walks in and asks about financing means to afford a car.

You can pretend to be upper-class but you will get found out real quick.

I think u r getting the wrong drift mate. I donno what are you driving your point at. But i am glad for you  that you have tons of cash.

I state the reality of society does not mean I agree with it. But I do accept this is the reality. I see many here do not. 

TS buys COE conti does not mean he is stupid, it merely states that he values something that other don't. Simple as that. 

And not all loans are bad lah. 😉 Someone I know rents a condo for more than 10k a month, I asked why. He merely said the cash he would have to use to fully pay the condo can be used to generate much more returns than the rent he is paying. 

Edited by Rskc

2 hours ago, Hamburger said:

I owned beemers and MB as I wanted to enjoy the drive it offered. 

What other thinks I care less. Now I drive a Kimchi car as I feel it suited my need most!! My first 7seater suv. 

Sounds like a sorento.

22 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

As the guy just before me said, the "lifetime" isn't your lifetime or my lifetime. It is the lifetime of that gearbox - in other words, if you maintain the car as the manufacturer recommends, you will need to change the whole gearbox in order to keep the car going.

And the manufacturers would like you to do that - instead of spending $200-500 on transmission fluid changes every so often, you will come back to them after warranty to spend upwards of $10,000 on a whole new gearbox. 

The question that you pose is actually too complex to answer simply due to the amount of variables involved - whether the car was clocked, whether the correct fluid was used, whether the correct procedures were carried out, so on and so forth. 

Its fine by me if you still think that it is ok and inconsequential to buy over and continue maintaining a car for which you don't know what's going wrong next - but hey, that's what most used car buyers go through for a period of time until they have replaced enough parts to have some degree of reliability, or they give up totally and sell the car on again, thus creating the 5-owner C-class with less than "100,000km".

From a cost prospective, obviously the buyer have over paid and hence like a internet love scam, his love is cheated.

From a safety aspect, there isn't something that will cause a safety risk to the buyer.

I suppose if there is an handy app to register for the car, this will definitely help in improving the transparency for the used car market.

If people pay 200 - 500 to change transmission fluid

then I am in the wrong business. I should do workshop

and not used cars as these are where the daylight robbers stay.

:grin:

Please don't tell people stop taking big loans and buying atas cars.

These are my customers.

And if my customers want me to say they buy because of performance and not the badge

I will be very happy to say so.

My new philosophy in life.

I am happy to believe anything anyone says

Here many people say I always slow down when people signal to cut in.

I never heard anyone except myself of course that says

I always accelerate when when anyone signals.

Its ok to BS other people but the real danger is people believing their own BS.

Of course everyone read this will think its doesn't apply to them.

Of course it doesn't!

On 2/2/2021 at 5:31 PM, uglyguy said:

TS started thread with only BMW, LEXUS, and AUDI in mind. Just a reminder.

On 2/2/2021 at 3:26 PM, Toeknee_33 said:

Hope your upcoming visit to the workshop can resolve the issues that you face. Update us if you can.

I am curious about the "compelled" bit. Do share if its related to the actions of the dealer, and if its not too personal. 

No self-preserving dealer will admit to odo tampering, and neither will they dare to say that the odo is not tampered. Hence the non-committal answers you got. 

On 2/2/2021 at 6:11 PM, Mkl22 said:

ya lor..... where is "CIVIC" in that post? 😁

On 2/2/2021 at 6:17 PM, Toeknee_33 said:

He did lah, a few pages later. 

On 2/2/2021 at 11:25 PM, Rskc said:

I think u r getting the wrong drift mate. I donno what are you driving your point at. But i am glad for you  that you have tons of cash.

I state the reality of society does not mean I agree with it. But I do accept this is the reality. I see many here do not. 

TS buys COE conti does not mean he is stupid, it merely states that he values something that other don't. Simple as that. 

And not all loans are bad lah. 😉 Someone I know rents a condo for more than 10k a month, I asked why. He merely said the cash he would have to use to fully pay the condo can be used to generate much more returns than the rent he is paying. 

2 words. my wife. That was why I joined this forum. Her picks were Merc, Audi A4 and BMW 318i. Mine was 5 year COE (which i later decided on a 10 year COE) Civic 1.6 or 1.8. After meeting a few dealers I dropped the idea of pursuing the Civic and Lancer Ex. Lexus is250 was the compromise. But alas the is250s in the market at that time did not excite me one bit because it was a direct owner (which I highly doubt and I think it's just some agent passing off as one) and the price was too high. Also the road tax was a killer. The better cars with only one driver and good condition were being exported to Botswana. 

https://www.facebook.com/PAExports/

https://paexports.com.sg/#/user/products

On 2/2/2021 at 12:55 PM, Macrosszero said:

I give you a like for being factual when sharing your experience without justifying your actions defensively. Good information for other new car buyers.

I sincerely hope first time buyers do not make the same mistakes I made. Of course the purchase was not under duress but an ultimatum was issued. Even then I wasn't very bothered by it. I had my young children in mind. The elder one got caught in the rain thrice with my wife on their way back from school and even with an umbrella, both were drenched. There are no direct buses that ply through the routes between the school and our home. Also going to hospital visits can be taxing. We have to get ready at least 3 and a half hours before the appointment because the kids sometimes do what they do as kids and I dislike being late for anything. Also we've had our fair share of Grab drivers cancelling on us upon arrival because they said they don't have a car seat even though our prams double up as car seats. With the burning hot weather and uneasy kids in tow it really can be challenging. The car has solved all these situations for the better.

On 2/2/2021 at 6:04 PM, Vinceng said:

@keechiu

Are you in sales , or does your job or lifestyle require you to flash some status?

nope. just a normal 8-5pm job.

Anyways I will change the throttle body first and see if the engine light and ESP still comes on. If the problem still persists after the replacement then I will go to C&C for them to perform the diagnostic checks. I wouldn't say the car is a lemon just yet. Will update here in due course. Happy Chinese New Year to all of you. 

14 minutes ago, keechiu said:

Anyways I will change the throttle body first and see if the engine light and ESP still comes on. If the problem still persists after the replacement then I will go to C&C for them to perform the diagnostic checks. I wouldn't say the car is a lemon just yet. Will update here in due course. Happy Chinese New Year to all of you. 

Try to get to the bottom of the engine/ESP light on soon. I am not sure if the supposed malfunction will cause more harm to the car.

46 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

My FIL joined this forum?

My MIL always want face.

Must get conti must get conti.

Why you want keep pressing on.... give people chance lah.

TS already admit his mistake and he is very open to share his bad experience here.

Good for any newbie buyer.

Edited by Tohto

22 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Why you want keep pressing on.... give people chance lah.

TS already admit his mistake and he is very open to share his bad experience here.

Good for any newbie buyer.

You ignore that guy better.  All his postings irrelevant to the discussion 

2 hours ago, keechiu said:

2 words. my wife. That was why I joined this forum. Her picks were Merc, Audi A4 and BMW 318i. Mine was 5 year COE (which i later decided on a 10 year COE) Civic 1.6 or 1.8. After meeting a few dealers I dropped the idea of pursuing the Civic and Lancer Ex. Lexus is250 was the compromise. But alas the is250s in the market at that time did not excite me one bit because it was a direct owner (which I highly doubt and I think it's just some agent passing off as one) and the price was too high. Also the road tax was a killer. The better cars with only one driver and good condition were being exported to Botswana. 

https://www.facebook.com/PAExports/

https://paexports.com.sg/#/user/products

I sincerely hope first time buyers do not make the same mistakes I made. Of course the purchase was not under duress but an ultimatum was issued. Even then I wasn't very bothered by it. I had my young children in mind. The elder one got caught in the rain thrice with my wife on their way back from school and even with an umbrella, both were drenched. There are no direct buses that ply through the routes between the school and our home. Also going to hospital visits can be taxing. We have to get ready at least 3 and a half hours before the appointment because the kids sometimes do what they do as kids and I dislike being late for anything. Also we've had our fair share of Grab drivers cancelling on us upon arrival because they said they don't have a car seat even though our prams double up as car seats. With the burning hot weather and uneasy kids in tow it really can be challenging. The car has solved all these situations for the better.

nope. just a normal 8-5pm job.

Will your wife be paying for the repairs? Since it was her decision. 🤪

16 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Will your wife be paying for the repairs? Since it was her decision. 🤪

Happy wife = happy life.. Her money also TS money. No difference lah.. Hope TS will establish the root cause soon. Happy CNY everyone..