SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

just want to remind ya'll ... don't think to get a cheap cheap MVNO with huge data for roaming is sibei ho say liao 

every SIM roaming has a APN ... which route the data back to it's own "network" 

even you are at overseas roaming with 5G full signal ... the speed is still crawling because your traffic is routed back to your original MVNO

On 12/14/2025 at 11:13 PM, Mkl22 said:

Who in the right mind will max it out to 7 times. That’s almost 13years for a $8 plan, even their most ex plan $18 is 5.7years. 

This kind of top-up makes me think of the gyms, beauty farms and massage places with pre-paid membership. All go t*ts-up with customers hanging onto a balance with instant expiry.

On 12/15/2025 at 10:47 AM, Tkseah said:

Unless the mvno close shop.. then can write off the money in wallet..

possible also just like those electricity retailers Ohm energy, Red Dot Power etc. Getting too cheap.

On 12/15/2025 at 11:01 AM, Wt_know said:

just want to remind ya'll ... don't think to get a cheap cheap MVNO with huge data for roaming is sibei ho say liao 

every SIM roaming has a APN ... which route the data back to it's own "network" 

even you are at overseas roaming with 5G full signal ... the speed is still crawling because your traffic is routed back to your original MVNO

Appreciate your kind intention.

No worries so long as the download speed is able to allow me to watch YouTube and support social media apps can alrdy. I no need super fast roaming network as not watching Netflix at hi resolution or playing games. For this group of consumers maybe your kind advice is crucial. For old birds like me, can do comms and navigation and web surfing for info is sufficient. Like what I am doing now while waiting for my ride at outdoor theme park haha.

On 12/15/2025 at 12:19 PM, Heartlander said:

Appreciate your kind intention.

No worries so long as the download speed is able to allow me to watch YouTube and support social media apps can alrdy. I no need super fast roaming network as not watching Netflix at hi resolution or playing games. For this group of consumers maybe your kind advice is crucial. For old birds like me, can do comms and navigation and web surfing for info is sufficient. Like what I am doing now while waiting for my ride at outdoor theme park haha.

I am also not concerned about speed. It's like this car top speed can only hit 250 sometimes, that more expensive one can sustain 300. 

I just did the $88 top up on Eight for the $88 free top up.

I am on the $15 plan. So, this would be about $7.3 per month for 5G for about a year. I think this is as good as it gets.

Also, I am on the Eight fibre plan. Being on 5G, I get 18% off 10gbps which brings my broadband to around $24 per month.

Well, $30 per month for fibre and 5G mobile for a year...not too bad at all.

Edited by Davidklt

On 12/15/2025 at 12:27 PM, Volvobrick said:

I am also not concerned about speed. It's like this car top speed can only hit 250 sometimes, that more expensive one can sustain 300. 

N u will not always drive at 250 :D. I was in Thailand and China for past weeks. Both zym n simba allowed me to watch youtube n others while sitting few hours in train, traveling around, etc. 

On 12/18/2025 at 11:10 PM, Enye said:

Wah…got my 6x$88 credits

Next 2 years no need to pay mobile fees le

thank you eight mobile

🙏🤩

Now MVNO also can become like a LTA. Jitao collect up front. Should have at least 1-2M subscribers for eight mobile. Like that easily few hundred million in the kitty. 

Wah…got my 6x$88 credits

thank you eight mobile

🙏🤩

Gotten my $88 credit as well. Literally $4 (work out should be less than $4 as I have deducted 400 plus shopee coins to redeem the $88 purchase) per month for the next 2 years.  All these while always envy the $5 senior plan. Now Senior status achieved. 😁

Unformately I am the only one still on eight. All other lines are on zero1 now. 

Edited by Kopites

Wah…got my 6x$88 credits

thank you eight mobile

🙏🤩

bet so big, better pray they dun bankrupt overnight [laugh]

On 12/19/2025 at 7:43 AM, Jman888 said:

Choy… you mai suay chwee la

But technically will break even after a year 

😂

On 12/19/2025 at 7:43 AM, Jman888 said:

Follow Changi and sell-out.......

Money in the kitty is a good sales tactic to improve balance sheet.

Just saying, lah, [conspires(t)] don't POFMA me 🤫