velocity- 1st Gear February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 4 hours ago, Heartlander said: I like what the Tesla owner in a video posted earlier summarised what he thought of his purchase of the FSD - an investment. It is a concept still under development. You pay the prevailing price and get locked in, and enjoy all the incremental improvements that Tesla throw out along the way as it try to improve it. The bar starts low, can work on highway but not on city road yet and not really fully self-drive as touted, but it will get there eventually. Very innovative way to do business, but customers must have tonnes of confidence to throw the money to buy it. Some naysayers will say they hope this car will not shake up the car industry in a big way like contributing to more cases of burning cars while charging or on the road as the cars are at heart something like bigger PMDs, can charge at home, and China-built. Hopefully not happen lah haha. yes. fsd now is a beta. you are paying to lock it in before the price increase when it is fully ready. I'm more incline to wait for subscription model for FSD because i may not keep the car for 10 years. Take a look at the beta, it drives thru city traffic pretty well at beta stage. I dare say better than some uncle or aunty drivers haha. Autopilot already works well on highways. now fsd beta is quite sick, there are a ton of youtube videos of long trips thru city and highways with fsd beta. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 20 hours ago, Hons said: currently JB and most part of Msia do not charge for electricity for EV charging. How they survive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 On 2/22/2021 at 2:37 PM, Vid said: The car is all you read about. Plenty of reviews out there. Instant torque, quick acceleration, etc... One of the few cars I'd driven that can outrun a motorcycle from the traffic light. Very smooth on the road. The heavy battery gives it a low CG that is good at cornering. AWD Steering is sharp and responsive. One pedal drive is very interesting. Stopping is one of the few things that I really like about it. In a normal car, we use the brakes to stop and many times have to control it so that it doesn't jerk when it comes to a complete stop. With Tesla, the car stops beautifully every single time. Interior is ok, not fantastic. Tesla cars are not known for premium built. Do you miss ICE car, the sound, vibration, or what IL6 called "emotional reaction" or you are never going back? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 Just now, Voodooman said: Do you miss ICE car, the sound, vibration, or what IL6 called "emotional reaction" or you are never going back? Good chance I'm never going back to petrol. I have had my fair share of Mercedes and BMW cars. A few MCFers are concern with whether the interior is premium. To me, that was never an important factor because no matter how "premium", you will get used to it after a while and not bat an eyelid again.... but that's just me. Can't say for everyone. What makes or breaks a car for me is the speed and handling. I cannot stand slow cars. The slowest car I ever had was my first, a Kia. Since then I drove merc and bmw. Only few months ago that I decided to make the drastic change to Tesla, and that without even testing the car. I read a lot of reviews though. It's a good ride. The instant torque is fantastic with smooth handling. However, without engine noise, road noise becomes very clear. Not quiet at all when driving at speed so it's something to get used to. Good thing is the car has 14 speakers so just turn music louder. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hons 1st Gear February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 8 hours ago, RogerNg_185295 said: How they survive? most of these are set up y ChargEV. you will need a annual membership rfid card to use the charger. $80 (RM240)/pa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hons 1st Gear February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 13 hours ago, Calvin8808 said: You mean Tampines Hub instead of Tampines Mall? Correct me if I'm wrong as I don't think Tampines Mall has free charging and free parking at certain hours whereas Tampines Hub does. Understand Ikea Tampines has free 2 hours charging. The parking is free too. my bad, you are right, tampines hub. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 (edited) 9 hours ago, inlinesix said: After watching this video, I have better understanding of Tesla Manufacturing Process. That Giga Press to produce different parts of a complete chassis, is it using a forged process or cast process? The video gave an example that its akin to manufacturing Matchbox toycars, which I'm sure its a cast process (pouring molten aluminium into a mold). But yet, it seems that the Giga Press is fabricating parts just by sheer hydraulic pressure, that's forging. They also saved a ton of complication, costs and weight due to the much simplified wiring looms across all Tesla models. Nevertheless, very interesting video. Edited February 25, 2021 by Lethalstrike Ok, I've got my answer. The Giga Press is basically a giant die casting machine, so the chassis is cast. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 14 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: That Giga Press to produce different parts of a complete chassis, is it using a forged process or cast process? The video gave an example that its akin to manufacturing Matchbox toycars, which I'm sure its a cast process (pouring molten aluminium into a mold). But yet, it seems that the Giga Press is fabricating parts just by sheer hydraulic pressure, that's forging. They also saved a ton of complication, costs and weight due to the much simplified wiring looms across all Tesla models. Nevertheless, very interesting video. I found wiki page on Giga Press https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giga_Press 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic February 25, 2021 Share February 25, 2021 51 minutes ago, Vid said: Good chance I'm never going back to petrol. I have had my fair share of Mercedes and BMW cars. A few MCFers are concern with whether the interior is premium. To me, that was never an important factor because no matter how "premium", you will get used to it after a while and not bat an eyelid again.... but that's just me. Can't say for everyone. What makes or breaks a car for me is the speed and handling. I cannot stand slow cars. The slowest car I ever had was my first, a Kia. Since then I drove merc and bmw. Only few months ago that I decided to make the drastic change to Tesla, and that without even testing the car. I read a lot of reviews though. It's a good ride. The instant torque is fantastic with smooth handling. However, without engine noise, road noise becomes very clear. Not quiet at all when driving at speed so it's something to get used to. Good thing is the car has 14 speakers so just turn music louder. I also prioritize acceleration and handling over interior. If you can move from a fast conti to a Tesla, this is probably going into my to do list. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 Curious about the potential fire hazards posed by Tesla, I am surprised by the severity of it. I am just trying to bring awareness to this potential issue, not trying to bad mouth the company. Hopefully these overseas cases do not happen in Singapore when we have a critical mass soon with many owners. The debate has gotten so intense that CEO Elon Musk has joined the fray, tweeting in hopes of dispelling any notions that electric vehicles are more dangerous than cars with internal combustion engines. Chris Brown of Aristides Capital, who tweets under the moniker @midwesthedgie and is short Tesla, responded to Musk by walking through the numbers using data from the National Fire Protection Association (where the most recent data available is from 2015). Brown broke it down like this: From 2011 to 2015, 325 people in the US on average died each year in internal-combustion-engine vehicle fires. That's out of 263.6 million registered vehicles in the US. That means there were, on average, about 1.23 fire deaths per million vehicles annually from 2011 to 2015. Most of them, 58%, started with a vehicle collision or overturn. Tesla has yet to build 1 million total cars, but it has grown its fleet substantially in the past few years. In 2016 it had only 183,000 cars on the road. In February of last year it produced its 300,000th car. At the start of 2019, Tesla had about 530,000 cars on the road all over the world, the vast majority of those being in the US. "Thus, if Tesla were an average car, we would have expected 0.23 Tesla fire deaths in 2016, 0.35 in 2017, 0.45 deaths in 2018, and 0.16 deaths in 1Q 2019," Brown wrote. That's a total of 1.19 fire deaths over three years. Tragically, that isn't what has been happening. Last month, a Davie, Florida, man died after his Tesla crashed into a tree and ignited. First responders were reportedly not able to open the car's extendable door handles. In December, a woman in New Hampshire died after her car ignited following a crash. Last May, two teenagers in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, died after the one driving a Tesla Model S crashed into a wall and the battery caught fire. And there's more. Business Insider has counted at least 20 reported incidents of Teslas catching on fire since 2013 and five deaths in the past 14 months. That is part of the reason these fires are getting so much attention. It's life, death, and math. Tesla took issue with this calculation, saying the occupants of these cars would have died when their cars crashed regardless of whether the cars caught fire. Also, pray hard that you and your loved ones do not get into a accident with a Tesla, as that is where most Tesla fires occur and deadly as it is not easy to put out. The severity would be similar or worse than the Tanjong Pagar case, and in this case without modification to the cars at all. Reported somewhere that the door cannot be unlocked in 1 case and the owner died with the car after an accident. According to training videos being disseminated among first responders, firefighters cannot put out a lithium-ion-battery fire with foam or dry chemicals. These fires cannot be fought with anything but 500 to 8,000 gallons of water and patience. Responders should expect a longer commitment time to the fight than they would in a combustion-engine fire, and they should be mindful that the fire could reignite days after it seemed to be under control. That's what happened during another strange incident in Los Gatos, California, in December. The owner of a 2018 Tesla Model S with about 1,200 miles on the odometer took the car to a repair shop after getting a flat tire on the highway. While the owner was inside the repair shop, at about 2 p.m., the car suddenly ignited and firefighters were called. They used about 2,000 gallons of water to put the fire out. While the owner was inside the repair shop, at about 2 p.m., the car suddenly ignited and firefighters were called. They used about 2,000 gallons of water to put the fire out. The car reignited at the shop at about 10 p.m. (This is why experts say any electric vehicle that has experienced a battery fire should be kept 50 feet from any objects for a few days.) A police report obtained by Business Insider could not determine the cause of the Los Gatos fire. Archer says the source of the fire is often so damaged that it's impossible to say what causes a battery to go into thermal runaway — whether it's triggered by something outside the battery or a defect inside the battery. https://www.businessinsider.com/why-tesla-cars-catch-on-fire-2019-4 https://www.washingtonpost.com/technology/2020/12/28/tesla-battery-fire/ https://edition.cnn.com/2020/11/10/success/electric-car-vehicle-battery-fires/index.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 (edited) walao ... if next time MSCP car park lot every single lot is charging car then the whole MSCP is a "time bomb" if car kaboomz while charging overnight? Edited February 26, 2021 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Wt_know said: walao ... if next time MSCP car park lot every single lot is charging car then the whole MSCP is a "time bomb" if car kaboomz while charging overnight? It would be a very rare probabilities lah. But with our MSCPs mostly being crowded at night, it will only take 1 case to have dooms day scenario of a whole MSCP on fire. And if the car insurance of that culprit car got "burned" badly by having to pay for all the burned cars, then ho say liao loh. Hopefully not happen lah. Edited February 26, 2021 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 1 hour ago, Heartlander said: Curious about the potential fire hazards posed by Tesla, I am surprised by the severity of it. I am just trying to bring awareness to this potential issue, not trying to bad mouth the company. Hopefully these overseas cases do not happen in Singapore when we have a critical mass soon with many owners. Also, pray hard that you and your loved ones do not get into a accident with a Tesla, as that is where most Tesla fires occur and deadly as it is not easy to put out. The severity would be similar or worse than the Tanjong Pagar case, and in this case without modification to the cars at all. Reported somewhere that the door cannot be unlocked in 1 case and the owner died with the car after an accident. https://www.businessinsider.com/why-tesla-cars-catch-on-fire-2019-4 https://www.washingtonpost.com/technology/2020/12/28/tesla-battery-fire/ https://edition.cnn.com/2020/11/10/success/electric-car-vehicle-battery-fires/index.html What you've pointed out is worthwhile noting. Yes, lithium ion battery fires will be a problem once EVs become mainstream and commonplace. The chances of them occurring out of the blue are low statistically, but it might be something worth a serious thought about once we have more EVs running. I bet the SCDF don't even have specific SOPs at the moment to deal with EV fires, which can be a totally different animal to put out compared to ICE vehicles. It is possible for an EV fire which has previously been put out to reignite on its own again. Why so? Once the lithium-ion battery is damaged (penetration) or exposed to excessive heat, there is an internal short circuit. This short circuit generates heat, thus leading the ignition which can escalate into an explosion. The battery, due to this internal short circuit, will continue to burn till the internal cells have been exhausted, thus it explains why even after gallons of water & chemical foam, the burnt EV can still reignite. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 @Carbon82 highlighted previously fire risk. Can' rem the thread title now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 2 hours ago, Heartlander said: It would be a very rare probabilities lah. But with our MSCPs mostly being crowded at night, it will only take 1 case to have dooms day scenario of a whole MSCP on fire. And if the car insurance of that culprit car got "burned" badly by having to pay for all the burned cars, then ho say liao loh. Hopefully not happen lah. If it happens, can imagine how expensive the insurance premium will be for EVs! One EV/Tesla fire, write off 10, 20 other cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 4 hours ago, inlinesix said: @Carbon82 highlighted previously fire risk. Can' rem the thread title now. The whole thread, really, but this is a representative post: https://www.mycarforum.com/forums/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?do=findComment&comment=6632899 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 Worry not, our CASE will see to it that the affected parties are well protected. Just like how they protected the plumber. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator February 26, 2021 Share February 26, 2021 7 hours ago, inlinesix said: @Carbon82 highlighted previously fire risk. Can' rem the thread title now. This one. Feel free to raise any questions and I will try to answer them. I did a fair bit of research on Lithium batteries during my previous employment... ↡ Advertisement 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...