Plumber Recommendations please!

Discoburg

17 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Haha anytime bro. Waiting for you nia and for the kopitiam to be able to sit in.

Last time, my toilet bowl choked and got a plumber come. He used a tool (it's basically a long stick with thick round rubber flap at the end) and inserted into the bowl and pumped a few times. Charged me $70...na bei.

After that, I bought the same stick myself for $20 and have cleared it myself a few times later on whenever got choke. 

SAME lor .... he charged me $80+ for 5 second job. Then after that I saw that stick thingy selling for <$20 at TPY 

ahhhh, now I know you got the LONG stick. hahaha

5 minutes ago, Othello said:

SAME lor .... he charged me $80+ for 5 second job. Then after that I saw that stick thingy selling for <$20 at TPY 

Aiya you should have asked for plumbing advice here ma or asked for plumber recommendation.

You must be google for a plumber la.

24 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Haha anytime bro. Waiting for you nia and for the kopitiam to be able to sit in.

Last time, my toilet bowl choked and got a plumber come. He used a tool (it's basically a long stick with thick round rubber flap at the end) and inserted into the bowl and pumped a few times. Charged me $70...na bei.

After that, I bought the same stick myself for $20 and have cleared it myself a few times later on whenever got choke. 

How come your toilet bowl got choke so easy?

I always find plumber fees not fixed de and difficult to judge if the fee is justifiable. They can anyhow charge a labour/transport fees to come down to do a 1 min or less job.

18 minutes ago, Othello said:

Take from me anytime if you need. You know where I stay....haha. 

10 minutes ago, 13177 said:

How come your toilet bowl got choke so easy?

I always find plumber fees not fixed de and difficult to judge if the fee is justifiable. They can anyhow charge a labour/transport fees to come down to do a 1 min or less job.

It was the condo I stayed last time. Every few months will choke. Lucky I bought the stick else dunno kenna charge $70 how many times liao...na bei. 

49 minutes ago, 13177 said:

14 Jun kopitiam should able to sit in liao. Lol.

Are you so sure? Wait dine in allowed but only 1 pax...hahaha.

Then me and Othello have to sit at different table but next to each other to chat. 

Edited by Fcw75

17 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

It was the condo I stayed last time. Every few months will choke. Lucky I bought the stick else dunno kenna charge $70 how many times liao...na bei. 

Think should solve the root cause of the choke. Using the stick to unchoke the choke only temporary solving the problem. Lol.

11 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Think should solve the root cause of the choke. Using the stick to unchoke the choke only temporary solving the problem. Lol.

Condo no more so doesn’t matter.

1 hour ago, Othello said:

He will say you are paying him for the 20 years of experience, and the 1 hr to and fro, not for the 5 seconds.  Anyway I think OK for plumber to make more money, Why should they be paid less compared to lawyers and doctors?  If you don't want to pay, then just learn to DIY like most in ang moh countries.

PS the rubber cap stick is called plunger.  Don't know what Fcw75's stick is called....

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

He will say you are paying him for the 20 years of experience, and the 1 hr to and fro, not for the 5 seconds.  Anyway I think OK for plumber to make more money, Why should they be paid less compared to lawyers and doctors?  If you don't want to pay, then just learn to DIY like most in ang moh countries.

PS the rubber cap stick is called plunger.  Don't know what Fcw75's stick is called....

That sound so wrong..haha.

But if you really to know, it’s called Dua Kee.

Ahhh, yes a plunger.

Edited by Fcw75

Err unless u live in those old style fully wet HDB or big landed toilets, nowadays toilets are damn tight space especially with the sink cabinets.

Many WC are nowadays in between the shower area and the sink cabinet. With one piece WC, it's also harder to access the underlying nuts to change or maintain the flush mechanism. 

Many people often install the WC first then add on the sink cabinet etc. So when the flush system spoils or got what leak, it's really a big headache. I know cos one of my toilets also have this issue. The TC plumber just suggest i hack the WC away and get a new one. He say he cannot access the nuts 🤣

44 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Err unless u live in those old style fully wet HDB or big landed toilets, nowadays toilets are damn tight space especially with the sink cabinets.

Many WC are nowadays in between the shower area and the sink cabinet. With one piece WC, it's also harder to access the underlying nuts to change or maintain the flush mechanism. 

Many people often install the WC first then add on the sink cabinet etc. So when the flush system spoils or got what leak, it's really a big headache. I know cos one of my toilets also have this issue. The TC plumber just suggest i hack the WC away and get a new one. He say he cannot access the nuts 🤣

Must really be a contortionist with huge arms...haha.

The nuts will drive him nuts. 😁

3 hours ago, Somewhat1975 said:

you need to use this tool.

image.png.cc8cc75b072a43819ec1d4c683cb5506.png

i have this but it is for the sink tap

there is another tool adjustable head size with handle for the toilet bowl

😅

Edited by Enye

3 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

The nuts are beneath the toilet bowl tank, not easy man. 

If you mean the hold down pins of the tank to the bowl...the lock nuts are a Pita...i changed to wing nuts...

1 hour ago, Enye said:

i have this but it is for the sink tap

there is another tool adjustable head size with handle for the toilet bowl

😅

There is no difference in the lock nut for sink tap and toilet bowl (water inlet to the flush tank). I believe the pipe diameter is 20mm. There are two different types: hexagon and 4 spikes. The tool can handle both in most of the cases.  

This tool is not suitable for the bigger lock nut if you use those water tap with two water inlets.

6EA3076A-69A4-4E0A-B406-5E2086F5E650.jpeg.b458a77904b48d4b3d9dafc605431377.jpeg

To cater for different sizes, you need to buy the whole set 🤣

32C18647-2454-4B19-BD6C-32179B6EFFA2.jpeg.b04fea6c170f6889a069bb01c25799c2.jpeg

Edited by Somewhat1975

3 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

such a case probably need to remove the bowl and check no blockage to the main pipes.

9 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said:

There is no difference in the lock nut for sink tap and toilet bowl (water inlet to the flush tank). I believe the pipe diameter is 20mm. There are two different types: hexagon and 4 spikes. The tool can handle both in most of the cases.  

This tool is not suitable for the bigger lock nut if you use those water tap with two water inlets.

those with 2 inlets normally will come with 2 flex hoses which connect to the faucet. and will come with a long socket to tighten the nut to hold the faucet in place. even easier if i'm not mistaken.

Edited by Mkl22

6 minutes ago, Somewhat1975 said:

6EA3076A-69A4-4E0A-B406-5E2086F5E650.jpeg.b458a77904b48d4b3d9dafc605431377.jpeg

oic you are referring to the inlet into the tank....that one can use bigger spanner with adjustable head to remove if got space for handle to turn.  if no space then that tool helps same for sink tap inlet.

i was referring to the lock nut that holds flushing system in place at the outlet....that one is bigger and needs another tool

😬😅