Plumber Recommendations please!

Discoburg

13 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

In truth chokes in residential units are not difficult to resolve. There is just the U bend to trap debris. Easiest way is to use a wet and dry vacuum and suck out the water in the gulley hole. Then the blockage can be seen. Or one can use the bore scope to check it out. 
then all is needed is dig out the debris. I have stuck my arm into the gulley hole to dig before and lucky the u bend was not too deep and managed to remove clumps of hair and solidified hair conditioner. 
the other way is to use those router snake and fit it to a drill if the u bend is too deep to reach

his one maybe cement/sand debris leftover from renovation. 

That one is not easy to remove with the above.

But i agree that most chokes can be removed if u know how.

High pressure washer is the closest to commercial usage.

Come on bros

we spend 10-20 bucks on a car wash

100 bucks on car detailing or more..

pay the plumber for his days work 👍 

Bro Disco

is it fixed ?

30 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

his one maybe cement/sand debris leftover from renovation. 

That one is not easy to remove with the above.

But i agree that most chokes can be removed if u know how.

High pressure washer is the closest to commercial usage.

mine had some cement inside the gully hole after my reno. i sucked out the water and showed my contractor. and he hired a plumber to chisel it off bit by bit.

so everyone take note to please check the gully hole after the renovation. make sure you can see the bottom of the U bend. then after that will be choke free. of course you still need to flush it time to time especially for the kitchen and not throw any oil into the sink.

29 minutes ago, therock said:

Come on bros

we spend 10-20 bucks on a car wash

100 bucks on car detailing or more..

pay the plumber for his days work 👍 

Bro Disco

is it fixed ?

yes , but not $450!

Everything is relative I guess.

When you are a high income earner, $450 is nothing. As long as you don’t get your hands dirty.

For normal folks, if can DIY why not? The satisfaction is there.

👍 

DIY especially when done well is great

but spend when you need. Don’t begrudge the man his due when you do ask for help 

18 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

When you are a high income earner, $450 is nothing. As long as you don’t get your hands dirty.

80-200 at parlour...free at home

Sextisfaction sama sama...Mustank and Angcheek say one 😁

10 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

This is quite risky - someone got his arm stuck and needed SCDF to hack up the floor/pipe to free him! 

And you could get scratches and expose the wounds to the sai water.

Proper tools are invented for a reason. 

I once tried to clear the choked floor trap after staying for over a decade. Couldn't clear no matter what method I knew of last time. Fed up and dipped my whole arm into the hole till almost to my bicep area...yes, I have slim arms...

guess what? Grey and white cement blocks...plus other gunk...the bad smell reminded me of the BMT area cleaning day in a sewage drain just before post out. 

Some scratches on the fingers and arm...luckily no infection...

Then fast forward another decade...had to do it again because of slow flow...used plastic glove and inserted the snake tube as far down as possible got the job done. 

Look through the charges to get an indicative pricing in order not to be ketoked.

Source - East Coast Town Council

https://ectc.org.sg/about-us/handyman-services/

These are the so called "perks" of staying in a HDB flat, so cannot apply to private property hor. HAHA. And also, dun take the pricing and go ask other people why cannot be the same ?? Pricing is arranged by respective TC for their constituents. Please call your own TC or go to their websites. 

For eg. ---->  Supply and fix in replacement 6 to 32 Amp MCB (single pole)  - $17.00. I can tell you, cost of MCB is $3. Means labour + transport = $10, it is impossible to get this type of pricing if one RANDOMLY calls up an electrician. Smelly smelly will be $50 up. But is $50 too much ? Not really IMO. Less than that, nobody will want to do. haha. But however, there are some freelancers out there who might be able to charge lower. But whether they can be trusted  is another issue? ha. 

6 minutes ago, Othello said:

Look through the charges to get an indicative pricing in order not to be ketoked.

Source - East Coast Town Council

https://ectc.org.sg/about-us/handyman-services/

These are the so called "perks" of staying in a HDB flat, so cannot apply to private property hor. HAHA. And also, dun take the pricing and go ask other people why cannot be the same ?? Pricing is arranged by respective TC for their constituents. Please call your own TC or go to their websites. 

For eg. ---->  Supply and fix in replacement 6 to 32 Amp MCB (single pole)  - $17.00. I can tell you, cost of MCB is $3. Means labour + transport = $10, it is impossible to get this type of pricing if one RANDOMLY calls up an electrician. Smelly smelly will be $50 up. But is $50 too much ? Not really IMO. Less than that, nobody will want to do. haha. But however, there are some freelancers out there who might be able to charge lower. But whether they can be trusted  is another issue? ha. 

some of the works are cheap enough to not bother to DIY. 😊

I rather DIY water stuff than electrical stuff. Anything wrong and one can die from electric shock.

Water the most get soak wet and turn off water mains can liao. After that, call for help. 😁

1 hour ago, Mkl22 said:

yes , but not $450!

I also think $450 is expensive…

my wife say bopian and that is the plumber contact we got from my sis. Like I said, I was actually thinking of asking for recommendations here but scared kenna asked to google… 

If the fix last for over a year, I will recommend him here. He is not the first or second plumber we had over the years trying to fix this choke…

Edited by Wind30

6 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I also think $450 is expensive…

my wife say bopian and that is the plumber contact we got from my sis. Like I said, I was actually thinking of asking for recommendations here but scared kenna asked to google… 

If the fix last for over a year, I will recommend him here. He is not the first or second plumber we had over the years trying to fix this choke…

if its was $450 and it fixed it, then ok. as you said previous plumbers never figured it out.  but you did pay him another $450 to clear what should have been cleared the first time he came around.

23 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I rather DIY water stuff than electrical stuff. Anything wrong and one can die from electric shock.

Water the most get soak wet and turn off water mains can liao. After that, call for help. 😁

At the most your house got ponding la. Lol.

A suggestion if you do want to DIY:
Don't choose a weekend or Friday.

Because help can be more than three days away... then you'll really be ponding..

2 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

and most of the time, a lot cheaper. Choked pipes can always use wire hanger try first, or use plunger or use clear pipe choke detergent ($2 for daiso only) or use all 3. If try and really cannot, then get professional help. My DIY is more to save money, not satisfaction.😂

I never dare to DIY electrical stuff because I am those fail secondary school physics type. Sure get electrocuted if diy. 😁 Can only change light bulb and reset master fuse box only.

Actually I do a lot of preventive work

I pour the chemical once every half year

and boiling water every now and then

womens hair can really jam up

I needed home maintainance help and contacted this company recently. Simple inquiry on WhatsApp and they provide estimated quote based on job required. Not sure expensive or cheap but they fixed my problem first time with no fuss which is all that matters to me. Actual payment was lesser than intial quote.

https://www.everyworks.com/