Discrepancies in used car odometer with AD record

Mehaha

23 hours ago, Soya said:

I oso confused

Sent to AD on 23 Mar. Odo confirm correct. Now kpkb say odo not correct

So what's the issue again? 

Proberly the agent doing a check just tick the boxes for the sake of doing it and not really do a proper check.

So when the check box stated odometer is say 50k for example, the agent just tick check correct without looking at their own servicing record. Coz maybe if need to take out servicing record very leh chey for that agent. I feel it does happen when people want to take short cut or find it too troublesome to go though step by step for proper check..

2 hours ago, Heartlander said:

My thanks to all your responses to my posts.

Let's be clear, I have not accused anyone of adjusting the Odo mileage.   Events in chronological order is …. 

14 Mar. I view car.  Noted the mileage was almost 10k.  Yes, it was <3 yr old car.  Agreed on conditions to deal being good confirmation from Authorized Dealer (AD) that the car is as per claimed still under warranty.  Dealer says inspection allowed only by AD, cos seller fears other technicians may “do somethings to car” that void the warranty.  I agreed and paid for the inspection by AD. 

So you were made aware that this car of < 3 yr old has clocked 10,000km.

23 Mar.  Seller sent to AD for inspection.  Report showed to me reflected that the mileage was 10k.  Dealer also also got a recorded phone recording of her conversation with AD saying that the said car is still under warranty. 

So AD certified in a report that the car has indeed clocked only 10,000km. Do you have a copy of this report?

26 Mar.  I paid the balance and took delivery of car.  Didn’t immediately notice the discrepancy in Odo.  Driving it for almost a week and finally figured how to call out the mileage on the instrument cluster.   I then realized that it was exceptionally low.  But hey, since no fault indication and car running well.... so no urgency and I can always ask the Service Advisor (SA) when I send in my car for the next servicing. 

So this is the part that is puzzling. You realised now that the Odo reading is exceptionally low, are you referring to this 10,000km? Or you saw something even lower like 1000km? Frankly 10,000km for a about 3 year old car is already extremely low as typical car will clock about 20,000km in one year on average. the 10,000km would be low enough to ring alarm bell in most buyers' minds and there is no logic for seller to lower it even further as it really becoming unbelievable if only clock 500km in 3 years for example. No seller would be so stupid to do that and I am more incline to believe it is more of instrumental fault lah.

14 Jun.  I sent in my car to the AD for servicing.  When asked what’s my mileage, I brought the issue that I don’t understand why my number looking off.  Service Advisor noted that the Odo reading differs from what should be expected.  And his report flagged it as a discrepancy.  When asked further, the SA explained such situations often shows up when someone try to adjust the mileage.  Not that it is the only explanation for it, but often the case.  He further highlighted that such discrepancy could result in the warranty being void if I should need to make claim against the warranty during this period.  We also explored the possibility of it being a software issue or a faulty instrument cluster and the SA agreed on it is  possible though not usual. That eveing, I sent an email to dealer on their website the same evening.   

And why did you tell the SA that you don't understand why the number looking off? So the Odo reading on the car no longer 10,000km?

So it seems the SA was expecting a different Odo reading. What was he expecting? Did you show him the report produced by the AD?

15 Jun.  Called the dealer’s office line.  Spoke to a Mr Tan.  Claimed he can’t remember and agreed that I send email on the issue. 

16 Jun.  Sent a chaser email.  Nothing.... 

17 Jun.  Called and spoke to Mr Tan again.  Claimed never receive any email and don’t know what’s wrong.  I reconfirmed email address and send another email while on line with him. 

Best for you to print out the email and go down his office to show him face-to-face. Bring someone along. Threaten him that you will make a police report or publicise this case in public forums if he is trying to hide anything but keeping in mind that it could be hardware failure. 

So that’s all folks.  I am NOT accusing or suggesting that anyone has twitched the mileage on the Odo.  Maybe it was indeed a software issue or a faulty instrument cluster and the AD should look into it and rectify it.  But for them to do it, understandably, they would need to a good confirmation that the car has not been tempered with.  Perhaps something did happen to the car between 23 and 26 Mar that required attention and in the process, the Odo was messed up.  There are so many possible reasons.  But all I need is that AD respond to me.  Just ignoring me is just so WRONG!  I am providing a chance for them to respond before I take it to the next level, whatever that can/should be.  We often read how companies/businesses claim how they are accused and not having chance to be heard.  And here I have some people who just doesn’t want to engage to find a solution.  So, back to my question. What tactics/ methods can I employ to get a response from them before I decide on my next course of action. 

Frankly most cars come with 3 years warranty and certain mileage, whichever come first. If your is 3 years limit, then no point pursue further as it should expire already or soon by the time of first servicing provided the previous owner diligently sent the car there for servicing all along. Important is to check LTA website for any recall exercise under your vehicle and whether rectified already. If your car is running well currently, then there is really nothing to claim about so do not worry too much on this aspect.

But if your car come with 5 years warranty then good to fight hard for it. But then again it would be more of psychological assurance as most cars do not have warranty claims after 3 years as most design faults would have manifested by then. Do not confuse with wear-and-tear parts that would not be covered under any default warranty package.

And when sharing in public forum, please provide full details in clear words. Nobody can give proper advice if we have to second guess everything you put down. Why not just write the figures down, rounding off to nearest 10,000km? Now everyone is confused.

Until you quoted him (and I read it), I hadn't realised he actually put things chronologically. So I do owe TS an apology for that. 

But I'm still none the wiser for his new account. Sibeh cheem. 😂

When ts mention he dunno hw to operate e odometer settings, it comes to mind was he shown e "trip meter" when he view e car? If it is e trip meter and below 10k (9k+) during collection, it wil reset after 9999, thus e exceptionally low reading after driving for 1 wk.

It will help if ts provide e odo figures, before & after purchase, during servicing, and ad's "offical' numbers when at service centre.

1 hour ago, Davidklt said:

This has become an English composition lesson. Any English teacher here ?

I suspect this thread may come up in this year's PSLE engrish paper....

2 minutes ago, zipping said:

When ts mention he dunno hw to operate e odometer settings, it comes to mind was he shown e "trip meter" when he view e car? If it is e trip meter and below 10k (9k+) during collection, it wil reset after 9999, thus e exceptionally low reading after driving for 1 wk.

Lol....if that is true, it would be the ultimate facepalm 

33 minutes ago, yishunite said:

I think we have a winner 

:grin:

In all seriousness, if you're a car noob, to avoid becoming a car boob, bring a more experienced friend along. Sheesh.

Read a bit into the account. If TS has the car checked by AD and it is verified, I don't see what the problem is. Anything just shoot back to AD.

For me the AD report, if available, is key. When the AD said that the car is still within warranty, he may mean that it is within the warranty window based on the visual reading of the odometer and the year of registration. There could be fine prints within the report that says that it is subject to detailed checks. In fact, I doubt the report will say that the vehicle is under warranty because if it did, then there will not be this thread. I doubt the AD will check for unauthorised changes eg. shock absorbers, brake systems, engine software changes, electrical systems etc unless the test scope requires this, I suspect such detailed checks are not cheap. That could be the reason why the AD only said that the car is within warranty over the phone and I am sure he would have stated a lot of 'ifs' to cover that statement.

So the missing information in this saga is - what is written in the report and what is left out in the report. Based on the facts presented in the report,  TS will either have a case or no case to pursue the warranty commitment. All other information is just 'he says, she says, I say'  statements which cannot be verified and may change with every conversation.

I sell lots of 3 year olds with 10k mileage.

That's why the owners sold to me.

No use for the car.

Come and pick up a bargain today.

On 6/19/2021 at 2:19 PM, Soya said:

I suspect this thread may come up in this year's PSLE engrish paper....

Math or comprehension?

On 6/19/2021 at 12:54 PM, Alfc said:

Any chance the exceptional low mileage reading is from the trip recorder rather than full odometer reading since TS does not know how to navigate menu to read odo? 

That's a very possibility.

Some cars their driver set to show trip meter for whatever reason like fuel consumption calculation etc. And next driver doesn't know how to set to show odometer.😅😅😅

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

I sell lots of 3 year olds with 10k mileage.

That's why the owners sold to me.

No use for the car.

Come and pick up a bargain today.

Give me a good price ahh!!😗😗😁

Just now, DOBIEMKZ said:

Give me a good price ahh!!😗😗😁

Take the bullet hole one lah.

Its really under 3 years old and 10k.

The driver died so no one to drive it.