Help choose SUV tyres!

Butterss

20 hours ago, shawn207 said:

20k is so low mileage do the tyres even need to be replaced? 

tyres should be replaced due to mileage clocked or aging.  For me, it's usually the latter. 

tyres harden due to aging and will affect braking distance too.  Especially if it's the first set of tyres that came with a new car.  we don't know how long these have been sitting before they were put on the new cars.

Once I nearly got into an accident because of harden tyres from the factory.

12 hours ago, Hamburger said:

The first sentence I read, summer touring tyre, I sian half already. 

Better to spend more on white fat man

but ts car. even if buy michelin. i dun think his size got UHP like ps4 also.  

15 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

Hearsay best is the T brand leh 😬😬😬

SG to JB...some say Batam Bali too 🤪🤪🤪

So many car stick their decals on windows 😜😜😜

hahaha. Can use one lah. But drive cautiously with such tyres. 70-90 km/h still will have grip one.

Last time I have one colleague of mine who ask me for lobang for new tyres, then I go to my regular tyre shop to ask for budget tyre.

Boss: Wei, just nice, I have a new shipment of tyre came in this week. Ask your friend come down and fit.

Me: woah. okok! what brand issit ah? trustworthy anot.

Boss: China's no. 1 tyre manufacturer ah. Don't play play.

Me: woah. okok. I get my friend come down.

After fixing, my friend have no complaint with the tyre, and even drive up to thailand once with the tyre.

And out of my curiosity, I went to google the tyre.

They are indeed China's no 1 tyre manufacturer. But he never tell me for which application. I google then I realised is for bicycle.

1503462976-97.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

hahahahaha. But the tyre on my friend car, he have no complaint lah. Is an useable tyre.

And just so happen that, currently my bicycle, I am also using chaoyang. hahahahahahahahaha 🤣

1 minute ago, kobayashiGT said:

hahaha. Can use one lah. But drive cautiously with such tyres. 70-90 km/h still will have grip one.

Last time I have one colleague of mine who ask me for lobang for new tyres, then I go to my regular tyre shop to ask for budget tyre.

Boss: Wei, just nice, I have a new shipment of tyre came in this week. Ask your friend come down and fit.

Me: woah. okok! what brand issit ah? trustworthy anot.

Boss: China's no. 1 tyre manufacturer ah. Don't play play.

Me: woah. okok. I get my friend come down.

After fixing, my friend have no complaint with the tyre, and even drive up to thailand once with the tyre.

And out of my curiosity, I went to google the tyre.

They are indeed China's no 1 tyre manufacturer. But he never tell me for which application. I google then I realised is for bicycle.

1503462976-97.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

hahahahaha. But the tyre on my friend car, he have no complaint lah. Is an useable tyre.

And just so happen that, currently my bicycle, I am also using chaoyang. hahahahahahahahaha 🤣

I drove my colleague car with these before

Dry up to 90 no problem you are right

But wet hor please don't huh

Max 50 cos you might be drifting like Jay Chou sending ToFu 🤫🤫🤫🤭🤭🤭

38 minutes ago, Beregond said:

but ts car. even if buy michelin. i dun think his size got UHP like ps4 also.  

This one needs to ask best friend Mr Google. I am curious too as I am also on suv taya. 

Just now, Hamburger said:

This one needs to ask best friend Mr Google. I am curious too as I am also on suv taya. 

Confirm dun have. I saw his starting post.

tyres was 55 profiles.  

Uhp tyres for normal market dun make higher then 50 profiles. 

• Sad 1

33 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Confirm dun have. I saw his starting post.

tyres was 55 profiles.  

Uhp tyres for normal market dun make higher then 50 profiles. 

thats the frustrating thing

I'm also look at a good 55 profile tyre.

F1A5, PS4, S007 all these dun come in 55 profile for SUVs 😞

On 10/13/2021 at 10:13 AM, shutterbox said:

thats the frustrating thing

I'm also look at a good 55 profile tyre.

F1A5, PS4, S007 all these dun come in 55 profile for SUVs 😞

For my Forester, I am using 235/50/18 on F1A5. Factory size is 225/55/18.

Factory rim still can fit.

14 hours ago, Tohto said:

For my Forester, I am using 235/50/18 on F1A5. Factory size is 225/55/18.

Factory rim still can fit.

I'm also lookin for options.

Im guessing your FXT stock rim is gonna go work 245 width right?

Edited by shutterbox

43 minutes ago, shutterbox said:

I'm also lookin for options.

Im guessing your FXT stock rim is gonna go work 245 width right?

245 too wide for the rim.

On 10/16/2021 at 9:51 AM, t0y0ta said:

Different budget.... TS may not want to pay for this

I am thinking if that Michelin tyre costs 1/3 higher than market average but if it can last 50% longer in mileage or in age then maybe it is worthwhile.

14 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

I am thinking if that Michelin tyre costs 1/3 higher than market average but if it can last 50% longer in mileage or in age then maybe it is worthwhile.

must see your mileage also.

lasting tyres suit high mileage driver.

if u are a low mileage driver. before u even wear off 50% of the thread. your tyres already 3 -4 years on the road. no point right? and certain michelin model that last long, after  a few year when the tyres harden , it become very loud, and it begin to peel off like small plastic pcs. 

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

must see your mileage also.

lasting tyres suit high mileage driver.

if u are a low mileage driver. before u even wear off 50% of the thread. your tyres already 3 -4 years on the road. no point right? and certain michelin model that last long, after  a few year when the tyres harden , it become very loud, and it begin to peel off like small plastic pcs. 

Agree, on how the tires are used. It's not just the mileage, but also the duration of usage. I have personally experienced this - on my previous ride, the tires were relatively new but seldom used because I was away on several months of overseas work commitment. I had to change the tires though they were barely 2 years old and despite low-medium mileage. Main reason was because I parked my car for long hours and under the weather, hence the tires 'hardened' faster and they became very noisy. 

Edited by vwX3

Thanks for everyone's feedback/comment.

Back to the original question -  Yokohama RV02 and Bridgestone Alenza? 

My criteria (in order of priority):
1. Quietness
2. Comfort
3. I don't need super grippy tyres but standard decent grip is fine.