kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 The country's transportation ministry sees potential in renewable fuels. Germany says "no" to the European Commission's proposal to stop sales of new diesel and gasoline cars from the middle of the next decade. The country's opinion was expressed through the voice of its Minister of Transport, Volker Wissing, who recently spoke during an informal meeting with ministers from other European countries near Paris. “We want to allow combustion engines even after 2035,” he said, quoted by our colleagues at Motor1.com Italy. However, there's one very important detail and it's that Germany should allow sales of new combustion cars "only if the cars can be powered exclusively with synthetic fuels." Synthetic fuels are potentially compatible with traditional vehicles and would allow them to stay on the road in the years to come while still achieving a reduction in emissions. The German minister is therefore sure that there is "a solution to ensure that cars are not refueled with fuels derived from fossil fuels." According to Volker Wissing, “we cannot rely only on electric or hydrogen mobility for the future” and “we need to remain technologically neutral.” It should also be considered that, to date, "we do not have enough electric vehicles, so we need to scale their availability." As a side note, just yesterday, Audi announced its diesel V6 engines can now run on renewable fuels, reducing CO2 emissions by a whopping 70 to 95 percent. The idea of an "intermediate" solution to achieve complete decarbonization seems to be echoing the words of Italy's minister of ecological transition, Roberto Cingolani. He recently declared that the future of the car “cannot be just full electric” and that we can instead focus on “a generation of ultra-modern hybrids, even with limited performance” to reduce CO2. In September last year, Italy announced it is in talks with the European Commission for a potential exemption of the rule for the country's supercar automakers. The proposed 2035 combustion engine ban in Europe is still in the proposal stage, which is subject to a long approval process and acceptance from EU members. Hip Hip Hooray!!! ↡ Advertisement 6 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 @kobayashiGT Why are you showing Alpina V8? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 Knn let's see our MIW follow suit to flip prata on this knn 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 "....Audi announced its diesel V6 engines can now run on renewable fuels, reducing CO2 emissions by a whopping 70 to 95 percent...." This is quite an advancement or breakthrough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 25, 2022 Author Share February 25, 2022 25 minutes ago, inlinesix said: @kobayashiGT Why are you showing Alpina V8? Cuz that is a petrol drinker mah. You want me show you this meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 1 minute ago, kobayashiGT said: Cuz that is a petrol drinker mah. You want me show you this meh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 I think it is the much talked about man made Methane or synthetic natural gas or CH4. Chemical composition of fuels now is Petroleum or Octane: C8H18 Diesel: C12H23 The hydrocarbons that are combusted gives out much CO2 gases. Burning Methane will produce less, much less. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 11 minutes ago, Watwheels said: I think it is the much talked about man made Methane or synthetic natural gas or CH4. Chemical composition of fuels now is Petroleum or Octane: C8H18 Diesel: C12H23 The hydrocarbons that are combusted gives out much CO2 gases. Burning Methane will produce less, much less. Someone knows his gases...i can on make guesses on what the scientific terms mean 😅 Carbon and Hydrogen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 25, 2022 Share February 25, 2022 47 minutes ago, Wildfaye29 said: Knn let's see our MIW follow suit to flip prata on this knn sure to flip la. easier to implement fuel duties... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 25, 2022 Author Share February 25, 2022 25 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Ahhh. W12. nice nice. hahahaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 (edited) https://www.straitstimes.com/world/europe/eu-strikes-historic-deal-to-ban-combustion-engine-cars-by-2035 EU ban on new ICE-cars from 2035 😐 UK siam, since they left 😅 Edited October 28, 2022 by Eyke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 The Main Reason i think,most EV Cap their Top Speed at 220km/h..not fast enough for the German Speed Demons..they get used to 250km/h..which to them still not enough fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 6 minutes ago, ER-3682 said: The Main Reason i think,most EV Cap their Top Speed at 220km/h..not fast enough for the German Speed Demons..they get used to 250km/h..which to them still not enough fast. i doubt the German govt main concern here is top speed, probably more commercial/profit...$$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 10 minutes ago, Eyke said: i doubt the German govt main concern here is top speed, probably more commercial/profit...$$$ Or maybe the German Gov't wanted to learn from Singapore's CEVS..buy Petrol Or Diesels Cars,Surcharge €25,000 per Car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 Sideline a bit,if EV go Top Speed,long Distances,the Battery drain very Fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 (edited) For now it is expensive to produce synthetic fuel, hopefully it will be a viable and sustainable option in the future. To me EV is just full of hype by some salesman called Elon and his sales pitch. Edited October 28, 2022 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 5 minutes ago, Watwheels said: For now it is expensive to produce synthetic fuel, hopefully it will be a viable and sustainable option in the future. To me EV is just full of hype by some salesman called Elon and his sales pitch. Yet there are Tesla fanboys who insist their cars produce zero emissions, except that they are too proud to admit that the power grid they use runs on dirty energy sources, e.g SGP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged October 28, 2022 Share October 28, 2022 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said: Yet there are Tesla fanboys who insist their cars produce zero emissions, except that they are too proud to admit that the power grid they use runs on dirty energy sources, e.g SGP possible leh, with something like: https://www.ecorenewableenergy.com.au/articles/change-the-world-one-workout-at-a-time-eco-powr-spin-bikes/ then the only emissions will be from the human spinning the bike 😆 Edited October 28, 2022 by Eyke ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...