Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 (edited) Today morning once i started driving my car for a bit, got a low engine oil level warning from my car. It was only 9k from my last service with the AD in Feb 2022. My car is only 1.5yrs old and fortunately still under warranty....will monitor the situation after topping this oil up. So went to Shell petrol station and bought a 1L bottle 0w40 fully syn oil. Park the car on a flat surface, stop the engine, Open the bonnet and identify where the 710 cap is... Pardon my dusty engine bay. Using a rag, open the 710 cap in anticlockwise direction (warning, it will be hot and may have hot air/steam rushing out). Pour in the whole 1L bottle of the oil. Recap the 710 in clockwise twist. Close the bonnet. Get back into your car and recheck the oil level. Done. Keeping finger cross it is nothing major. But from the infotainment system instructions, seem like this event is pretty much run of the mill and can be easily DIYed. It did not even suggest sending back to the AD for further check. So I am interpreting it as something very common place for BMW twinpower engines? Edited August 22, 2022 by Vratenza ↡ Advertisement 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 A 1.5 year old car start to eat engine oil? To play safe i will not mention the self top up of engine oil to the AD, in case touch wood really got engine issue, they wont blame it on u toping up with the wrong grade 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: A 1.5 year old car start to eat engine oil? To play safe i will not mention the self top up of engine oil to the AD, in case touch wood really got engine issue, they wont blame it on u toping up with the wrong grade Some engines drink oil a bit more, he said 9k after last servicing, it might be normal for a higher oil sipping engine. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 9 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Some engines drink oil a bit more, he said 9k after last servicing, it might be normal for a higher oil sipping engine. Ya, my friend a6 need top up 2L like every 3000km, its a 7 year old car, less then 200k km car. But for a new car to encounter this issue, i find it really weird. if i am the owner, i sure go make noise. Imagine now 1.5 year already need top up, what will be the condition be in 3 year time ( esp warrently ended) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Beregond said: Ya, my friend a6 need top up 2L like every 3000km, its a 7 year old car, less then 200k km car. But for a new car to encounter this issue, i find it really weird. if i am the owner, i sure go make noise. Imagine now 1.5 year already need top up, what will be the condition be in 3 year time ( esp warrently ended) For bmw engines it’s normal. Have to leak and burn oil. Else it’s not bmw. 😂 jokes aside. Even modern Japanese na engines burn some oil due to low tension piston rings. All in the name of better fuel consumption. Anyhow burning too much oil isn’t good for the catalytic converter, kills it faster. Edited August 22, 2022 by Mkl22 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2022 Author Share August 22, 2022 28 minutes ago, Beregond said: A 1.5 year old car start to eat engine oil? To play safe i will not mention the self top up of engine oil to the AD, in case touch wood really got engine issue, they wont blame it on u toping up with the wrong grade The ECU error code history will probably spill the beans already. Anyway 0W40 fully synthetic is pretty much a standard one used for most application. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 27 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Some engines drink oil a bit more, he said 9k after last servicing, it might be normal for a higher oil sipping engine. 300k altis makan oil or not? 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2022 Author Share August 22, 2022 (edited) 17 minutes ago, Beregond said: Ya, my friend a6 need top up 2L like every 3000km, its a 7 year old car, less then 200k km car. But for a new car to encounter this issue, i find it really weird. if i am the owner, i sure go make noise. Imagine now 1.5 year already need top up, what will be the condition be in 3 year time ( esp warrently ended) Yeah, I was a little concern about that as well, my previous cars have never flashed low engine oils and require me to top up between service intervals...but that said, this is my first bmw engine. Anyway, since it is still under full warranty, see how it plays out. Maybe they need to swap in a new engine for me 😋 Edited August 22, 2022 by Vratenza 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 Why pay for your own EO when it's still under warranty? I'd go bang some table and drive out with free top up at stearlership...😁 oil leak from engine or engine eat oil is not wear and tear...i will tear if they tell me otherwise 😂 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 22, 2022 Author Share August 22, 2022 2 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Why pay for your own EO when it's still under warranty? I'd go bang some table and drive out with free top up at stearlership...😁 oil leak from engine or engine eat oil is not wear and tear...i will tear if they tell me otherwise 😂 Boh eng to go bang table lah....top up first and see how...if happen again then I go bang table and ask them for a carton of engine oil for standby. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 AD will flip the manual book before you. It's normal for EO to be topped up, as stated in the book. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 1 hour ago, Vratenza said: Today morning once i started driving my car for a bit, got a low engine oil level warning from my car. It was only 9k from my last service with the AD in Feb 2022. My car is only 1.5yrs old and fortunately still under warranty....will monitor the situation after topping this oil up. So went to Shell petrol station and bought a 1L bottle 0w40 fully syn oil. Park the car on a flat surface, stop the engine, Open the bonnet and identify where the 710 cap is... Pardon my dusty engine bay. Using a rag, open the 710 cap in anticlockwise direction (warning, it will be hot and may have hot air/steam rushing out). Pour in the whole 1L bottle of the oil. Recap the 710 in clockwise twist. Close the bonnet. Get back into your car and recheck the oil level. Done. Keeping finger cross it is nothing major. But from the infotainment system instructions, seem like this event is pretty much run of the mill and can be easily DIYed. It did not even suggest sending back to the AD for further check. So I am interpreting it as something very common place for BMW twinpower engines? My F10 M5 used to eat engine oil for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So much so that the previous owner had supplied me a bottle of oil with the car. But that was pretty common for the S63 engine. Many owners experience this, though it is not universal. My F20 M140i doesn't even sip oil. But that's a known characteristic for a healthy B58 engine. The key is whether your behaviour is new and unexpected. If it is, I would be concerned. Do bring it in. By the way, Mini is also BMW hor. I just don't know which engine etc. Need @inlinesix to enlighten me. 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 47 minutes ago, Beregond said: Ya, my friend a6 need top up 2L like every 3000km, its a 7 year old car, less then 200k km car. But for a new car to encounter this issue, i find it really weird. if i am the owner, i sure go make noise. Imagine now 1.5 year already need top up, what will be the condition be in 3 year time ( esp warrently ended) My old car service 15k km or once a year, also never have to top up engine oil at all. It depends on engine to engine. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SiLangKia Supersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 8 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said: My F10 M5 used to eat engine oil for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So much so that the previous owner had supplied me a bottle of oil with the car. But that was pretty common for the S63 engine. Many owners experience this, though it is not universal. My F20 M140i doesn't even sip oil. But that's a known characteristic for a healthy B58 engine. The key is whether your behaviour is new and unexpected. If it is, I would be concerned. Do bring it in. By the way, Mini is also BMW hor. I just don't know which engine etc. Need @inlinesix to enlighten me. 😂 if cooper s shld be B48, normal cooper and one is B38 hahaha 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 Conti esp BMW known to be 710 drinkers. Nothing to worry about, its very normal. 9k and only 1 litre is well within tolerance. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 22, 2022 Share August 22, 2022 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...