Arogab Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 28 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: RIP Mr. Sim. You are a legend in many Singaporeans eyes, and you do us proud, making the little red dot shine on the global stage. Your are creative enough to donate your own LS430 as a prize for a charity drive, which make it to news globally. Creative Celebrates 25th Anniversary with an Innovative Charity Drive Taking lead in this charity drive, Sim Wong Hoo, chairman and CEO of Creative will donate his very own car, a Lexus LS430, as the grand prize for the Lucky Draw. Creative's CEO offering up his Lexus to celebrate 25 years If there's two things we like here at Engadget, it's charities and outspoken CEOs. Thanks to Creative accomplishing both in one fell swoop, the company will not only throw a month long celebration in Singapore, but give lucky donors a chance to roll away in Sim Wong Hoo's whip. To celebrate a whopping 25 years of staying afloat in the "treacherous" world of battling Apple while popping out sound cards, MP3 players, and other random gizmos, the firm is holding a one-month party with tons of sweet giveaway material to be handed out to winning donors. Topping the list is Sim Wong Hoo's (Creative's rambling CEO) own Lexus LS430. Actually, there are quite a few of them whom have worked with him and his team providing manufacturing and quality to his products are also gone and going. These are the people who will be paying close respect to him, but they will not be mentioned ↡ Advertisement 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 3 hours ago, Abracadabra said: Creative Technology headquarters is located in International Business Park. Maybe have a road around that area named after him? That would be nice. I personally think might not be possible, even the building at IBP is no longer name "Creative building" since sometime last year if I am not wrong. The "Creative" signage is no longer there, and only the address is attach to the building now. Might not be a sudden departure also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 Does anyone remembers the famous story when Sim Woo Hoo actually approach the then National Computer Board (present day IMDA) for fundings to bring his sound blaster card to showcase at a tech show in the US? The story goes that he was actually rejected by Lim Swee Say, who was heading NCB that time. Reason was Lim told Sim that nobody would want sound from a PC. Luckily, a US investor saw the potential in Sim's Sound blaster and invested. So yeah, our technocrats have no foresight. It's best to leave tech to those who actually understands tech. 14 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 RIP Mr Sim. One of, if not the only singaporean entrepreneur so passionate with regards to adding value to the world around us. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: Does anyone remembers the famous story when Sim Woo Hoo actually approach the then National Computer Board (present day IMDA) for fundings to bring his sound blaster card to showcase at a tech show in the US? The story goes that he was actually rejected by Lim Swee Say, who was heading NCB that time. Reason was Lim told Sim that nobody would want sound from a PC. Luckily, a US investor saw the potential in Sim's Sound blaster and invested. So yeah, our technocrats have no foresight. It's best to leave tech to those who actually understands tech. Even tech guy may not have foresight 😂 Edited January 5, 2023 by Jellandross 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 34 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: Does anyone remembers the famous story when Sim Woo Hoo actually approach the then National Computer Board (present day IMDA) for fundings to bring his sound blaster card to showcase at a tech show in the US? The story goes that he was actually rejected by Lim Swee Say, who was heading NCB that time. Reason was Lim told Sim that nobody would want sound from a PC. Luckily, a US investor saw the potential in Sim's Sound blaster and invested. So yeah, our technocrats have no foresight. It's best to leave tech to those who actually understands tech. Lim Sia Suay I know. 😁 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Lim Sia Suay I know. 😁 Don't play play not any tom dick harry is shameless enough to shed crocodile tears ok Edited January 5, 2023 by Jellandross 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 3 hours ago, Throttle2 said: Its best to retire at 55 , i say, dont work until you lose the meaning of Life itself Going at 67 is really too soon….. 55? Unfortunately for many.. That's the age of highest stress, greatest likelihood of retrenchment or pay cut. Hardest to get new job. Biggest worry about insufficient retirement funds. 4 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 (edited) 2 hours ago, Arogab said: Many of them just cannot if you are just the one to be responsible for many people's livelihood. My boss got to consider his over 3000 generals and armies, he probably got to hold on to it. I am sure if he decides to walk away. He has no problems. But he is just the chosen one. Let alone many of them cannot make it to the financial freedom I worked with one boss who made a fortune in the project over a few years, but cos many relatives worked in his company, he felt obligated to continue the business. So he continued even though he should have stopped.... ended up losing most of the fortune again. 😔... too nice a guy. Edited January 5, 2023 by Playtime 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 (edited) Go travel when one can. Don’t wait until you are after 70, many things can’t do liao. The body can’t take it. Climb Diamond head at Hawaii at 40-50 and at 70 are different. Edited January 5, 2023 by Fcw75 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 Ah Heng paid tribute. 👍🏼 https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/sim-wong-hoo-singapore-startups-heng-swee-keat-2085546?fbclid=IwAR2FG82ytniBvh3C3Goyd3dFKILQQ50Xf4z2Jap9p-Vn_VAMywyWez-gdO4&mibextid=Zxz2cZ 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 35 minutes ago, Playtime said: 55? Unfortunately for many.. That's the age of highest stress, greatest likelihood of retrenchment or pay cut. Hardest to get new job. Biggest worry about insufficient retirement funds. Thats why by 55 you must retire from the highest stress, pay cut, retrenchment is best. no need to worry if one has been conscientious and thrifty. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 8 hours ago, Abracadabra said: Left this world at a relatively young age. Thank you for the wonderful Creative sound cards and speakers. Alas, I threw away my Creative Cambridge speakers when I moved house just 6 months back. BIG regret 😢 RIP Mr Sim, you have made Singapore proud 🥲 Alamak, I still have this around (o_O)! 9 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 2 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: Does anyone remembers the famous story when Sim Woo Hoo actually approach the then National Computer Board (present day IMDA) for fundings to bring his sound blaster card to showcase at a tech show in the US? The story goes that he was actually rejected by Lim Swee Say, who was heading NCB that time. Reason was Lim told Sim that nobody would want sound from a PC. Luckily, a US investor saw the potential in Sim's Sound blaster and invested. So yeah, our technocrats have no foresight. It's best to leave tech to those who actually understands tech. Was any technocrats to begin with?🤣🤣🤣 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 2 hours ago, Tianmo said: I personally think might not be possible, even the building at IBP is no longer name "Creative building" since sometime last year if I am not wrong. The "Creative" signage is no longer there, and only the address is attach to the building now. Might not be a sudden departure also. think it's because they sold the building many years ago, and converted from owner to tenant there... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 More importantly - he is the first if not one of the first success stories that didn't need to come armed with a degree. For a lot of poly diploma grads, it was a source of inspiration, and motivation, even if they got a degree in the end. To my recollection, he looked a lot more prosperous in past photos compared to his recent ones, perhaps there was an underlying health condition, but perhaps he took up a more active lifestyle that resulted in the weight loss, but it is quite sudden to croak at 67 when you're at the cusp of enjoying the fruits of your toil. Truly a pity. For all of you guys who are still slogging toward retirement, don't forget to treat yourself every once in a while because you never know when @RadX would come calling. 13 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 ↡ Advertisement 8 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...