JR Pass - HUGE PRICE INCREASE! Any advice?

teomingern

On 4/20/2023 at 3:09 PM, Heartlander said:

Wah... thanks! Yes I have been using Japan Travel by Navitime cos Hyperdia stopped giving timetables and costs... got the app on my phone too... looks like internet access is indispensable in Japan...

On 4/20/2023 at 3:22 PM, Mkl22 said:

Haha I’m in Shinkansen now.

1. Ordinary cars have blue cloth seats. Green car or 1st class are labeled outside the car and have brown seats and carpeted flooring. Easy to see. 4 per row vs 5 on normal seats. 
2. You need to check the timetable board at the station. It will indicate what version.

3. Typically cars 1-3/5 will be non reserved cars.

4.no standing I think. At least I never stood. Only take reserved seating. 

5. No idea. Depends typically that’s rush hour movement. 
6. Only 2 areas to put bag. Overhead for up to 24”. Your 28” will have to go to luggage racks near the toilets or empty space behind the last row in each car.

7. Eat whatever you want. Can always buy bento boxes before hand or buy at the station before you board. 
8. Strollers in light snow already lots of resistance. You try pushing stroller along the beach lor. But streets and sidewalks  likely are ploughed.

That's a treasure trove of really helpful information and advice...

I ask about seating configuration and reservation for seats cos I have 2 little ones... just wondering if I can get seats for them if the train isn't crowded... what's the chances of that on the shinkansen? And what about normal express and limited express trains? Commuter trains I guess is no hope during rush hour? Not even sure when is rush hour...

On 4/20/2023 at 2:29 PM, Heartlander said:

Our resident secondhand car dealer really helpful with so many pictures! I think her MIL must be a japanese haha.

The lugguage area is actually at one end of each carriages. The trust given by the japanese is really astounding as they will just put their lugguages there and come back only at the end of their trip. I more kiasi will go see see look look once in a while if seating area is further down the isle. For smaller lugguages you can pull them to your seats. Seats are quite roomy on Shinkansen trains and definitely got space to put items there.

Ha ha... I totally the same as you... on the Swiss trains I will typically 'beo' my luggage every now and then... nice! Looks more and more like my Swiss train trips... like that my wife can deal...  heh heh...

On 4/19/2023 at 3:35 PM, teomingern said:

So yup guys... as the header says... I use Japan Guide as my reference for this price hike... hopefully the pricing is correct.

https://www.japan-guide.com/news/japan-rail-pass-cost-increase.html

Current 21 + 7 day Pass price = 60,450 + 29, 650 = 90,100 yen

New Price 21 + 7 day Pass price = 100,000 + 50,000 = 150,000 yen

So must pay about $600 more per person... 

Flying in and out of Fukuoka cos the pricing for SQ plus want to travel whole Japan. Tickets already purchased. My trip is 2 - 30 Dec 2023... 28 days... so must buy a 21 + 7 day pass... 

My trip itinerary comprise the following Shinkansen trips: 

Singapore - Fukuoka (SQ)

Fukuoka - Hiroshima (Shinkansen) 8570 yen

Hiroshima - Osaka (Shinkansen) 9890 yen

Osaka - Nagano (Shinkansen) 11,220 yen

Nagano - Tokyo (Shinkansen) 8340 yen

Tokyo - Aomori (Shinkansen) 17,670 yen

Aomori - Hakodate (Shinkansen) 8160 yen

Hakodate - Tokyo (Shinkansen) 23, 760 yen

Tokyo - Fukuoka (Shinkansen) 22,220 yen

Fukuoka - SIngapore (SQ)

Plus all the other limited express, express and local JR trains in each area as applicable.

Just based on the shinkansen trips above the total is 109,830 yen. I'm still out of pocket by 40, 170 yen. That works out to about $400 right?

Still worth it to pay for the JR Pass or not? I mean there are many other parts at each area where I also take JR trains and they are mighty expensive too... 

Frankly I really admire your courage to do this. I assume you never step into Japan prior to this trip?

To pull it off, you will need to know where you want to go and book your lodgings for the trip accordingly. After you settle on the lodging aspects, then can start planning on the routes for each day. You can use travel apps such as Navitime to plan eg 10 routes per trip from place to place, for example from Osaka to Nagano so that you have backups in case you cannot make it to your number one choice due to any reason that could happen. Save the softcopies on your phones and print out in hardcopies so that you could go over them every night before you sleep to know what to do the next day. The hardcopies would be handy as you could pass them to the ticketing counters to do reservation one shot. The counter staff would really appreciate that you have done your homework as they will just proceed to issue you the tickets instead of waitiing for you to decide where and what time to take, which could be stressful with long queues waiting to be served. With the tickets in your hand, you will also have more peace of mind to enjoy the trip as you just need to make sure your tickets are ready for following day and that your family can travel in comfort and eat bentos to enjoy the journey and you will not be blamed for making the family standing for 3 hours moving from place to place haha.

Btw I ever travel from Osaka to Hakodate and back using JR Pass before. Definitely can do but also very tiring after a few days. You have to find interesting places to stop and sojourn along the trip to make the trip fun. The Nagano part is alot of snowy mountains which you could spend a few days to explore. Go to places like Matsumoto and Hakuba which would not be part of the Shinkansen routes. I also ever took Shinkansen from Osaka to Kyushu which is also interesting to go if got time. Your 28 days defininitely cannot cover the places in details, even for Hokkaido you will not be able to cover much of it which could take easily 2 weeks as it. 

Anyway, do get your missus and relatives/ friends to go with open minds and prepare for any hiccups which will very likely to happen. Share the plan and routes with all so that they can help you to look out every day of the trip. Worse case would be touch wood you got sick and the whole trip gone because you are the only one knowing all the details.

On 4/20/2023 at 2:29 PM, Lala81 said:

just buy the milk packets there from the convenience store. That's what my kids drink. 

yeah most of their fresh milk is hokkaido origin (the ones i saw in tokyo supermarket). not that expensive. More expensive than sg fresh milk but nothing exorbitant. 

Almost all their drinks are like milk tea/green tea etc. Fruit juice packets got some lah. those "carrot"/vegetable type ones. 

That doesn't sound good... sigh... heh heh... I don't really green tea or their type of milk tea... guess it will be milk mainly for me and my kids...

On 4/20/2023 at 3:35 PM, Heartlander said:

Frankly I really admire your courage to do this. I assume you never step into Japan prior to this trip?

To pull it off, you will need to know where you want to go and book your lodgings for the trip accordingly. After you settle on the lodging aspects, then can start planning on the routes for each day. You can use travel apps such as Navitime to plan eg 10 routes per trip from place to place, for example from Osaka to Nagano so that you have backups in case you cannot make it to your number one choice due to any reason that could happen. Save the softcopies on your phones and print out in hardcopies so that you could go over them every night before you sleep to know what to do the next day. The hardcopies would be handy as you could pass them to the ticketing counters to do reservation one shot. The counter staff would really appreciate that you have done your homework as they will just proceed to issue you the tickets instead of waitiing for you to decide where and what time to take, which could be stressful with long queues waiting to be served. With the tickets in your hand, you will also have more peace of mind to enjoy the trip as you just need to make sure your tickets are ready for following day and that your family can travel in comfort and eat bentos to enjoy the journey and you will not be blamed for making the family standing for 3 hours moving from place to place haha.

Btw I ever travel from Osaka to Hakodate and back using JR Pass before. Definitely can do but also very tiring after a few days. You have to find interesting places to stop and sojourn along the trip to make the trip fun. The Nagano part is alot of snowy mountains which you could spend a few days to explore. Go to places like Matsumoto and Hakuba which would not be part of the Shinkansen routes. I also ever took Shinkansen from Osaka to Kyushu which is also interesting to go if got time. Your 28 days defininitely cannot cover the places in details, even for Hokkaido you will not be able to cover much of it which could take easily 2 weeks as it. 

Anyway, do get your missus and relatives/ friends to go with open minds and prepare for any hiccups which will very likely to happen. Share the plan and routes with all so that they can help you to look out every day of the trip. Worse case would be touch wood you got sick and the whole trip gone because you are the only one knowing all the details.

Ha ha... I like this kind of 'epic' trips with my family... I've been to Japan only once in June 2015 to Hokkaido... spent about 10-12 days there... can't quite remember now... I drove only... so I have never been on a train in Japan... actually my only experience on a train trip is my honeymoon to Switzerland... and that was 9 days only as part of a 32 day trip from UK to France to Switzerland....

I've actually planned everything in detail. Including the actual trains and buses to ride. But I need to go back and revisit each location after I booked by hotels... in the process of doing so cos of the added complication of my sister's family coming along from part of my Hiroshima section to part of my Tokyo section... when I first researched I just wrote down the train line but didn't take note of the train name and timing... so got to re-check again... heh heh... now a bit wiser to the system...

On 4/20/2023 at 3:56 PM, teomingern said:

Ha ha... I like this kind of 'epic' trips with my family... I've been to Japan only once in June 2015 to Hokkaido... spent about 10-12 days there... can't quite remember now... I drove only... so I have never been on a train in Japan... actually my only experience on a train trip is my honeymoon to Switzerland... and that was 9 days only as part of a 32 day trip from UK to France to Switzerland....

I've actually planned everything in detail. Including the actual trains and buses to ride. But I need to go back and revisit each location after I booked by hotels... in the process of doing so cos of the added complication of my sister's family coming along from part of my Hiroshima section to part of my Tokyo section... when I first researched I just wrote down the train line but didn't take note of the train name and timing... so got to re-check again... heh heh... now a bit wiser to the system...

To do reservation, just need to provide the source and destination station names, date and time, and number of pax. You do not need to provide the train name and number as the counter staff will read out to you for confirmation. He/she will also advise you on ticket availability and the next possible route if fully booked. You can do a spreadsheet with just above details if you want to look more pro. The counter staff normally speak good english, and you can converse in mandarin if you spot them wearing chinese name tags. After a few days of madness, you will get the hang of it dont worry. But as the chief planner, you will be under stress to pull the trip off haha. To spruce up the trips, you can check for use of free bicycles at certain places if your family can cycle well. And can join those group tours of specific interests lasting a few hours at certain places to make the trip memorable. Plenty of them, in english also have. Just need to do more homework. 

Oh No, I saw this news. My advice, what comes along goes along. I am one that goes along easily, thus whatever changes comes along, I always happy with my trips

On 4/20/2023 at 4:26 PM, teomingern said:

That's a treasure trove of really helpful information and advice...

I ask about seating configuration and reservation for seats cos I have 2 little ones... just wondering if I can get seats for them if the train isn't crowded... what's the chances of that on the shinkansen? And what about normal express and limited express trains? Commuter trains I guess is no hope during rush hour? Not even sure when is rush hour...

For Shinkansen, it also depends on where you board. If at Tokyo station which is the 1st stop if you queue early enough, then can grab all the seats. 
for the rest.
for the normal trains, You can reserve seats on some trains, if you can control your time and get on the exact train. But typically only on the longer haul trains you reserve else just make do with whatever. You can’t plan too much. Else it’s not a holiday. It will be just rushing from point A to B and for what? Just to check off that you were there. After a while the kids will get tired and give you hell. IMHO 30day trip with young kids is asking for it. Let’s see who breaks 1st. 🤣

On 4/20/2023 at 1:03 PM, teomingern said:

Thanks for the info... I have never taken a train in Japan before... not even the normal subway...

Got a few questions:

1. Is it easy to distinguish between the Green & Ordinary cars? Are the Green cars really painted green always?

2. How do you know whether the train waiting there is a Nozomi or Mizuho which the Pass doesn't cover? Anyway to tell other than looking at the signboard? I presume there's English on the signboard...

3. How do you tell between reserved & non-reserved cars? I presume a whole car is either reserved or non-reserved right? Got mixed type?

4. Is standing allowed on the shinkansen?

5. I understand off peak usually can get seats. Does this peak & off-peak issue apply mainly to the Tokaido shinkansen only? Would all other shinkansen lines be affected to the same degree as that particularly popular line with tourist? I'm practically using every single shinkansen line save for the Akita and Joetsu... so would be grateful if anyone could help out here. I'm looking to get on between 7 & 8 am every day for the day trips or transfer between cities. 

6. Basically my load will be 2 28" suitcases (25 kg each) + 2 travel strollers (5.5 kg each) + 2 backpacks (7 kg each). Backpacks to be stuffed under stroller when outside of trains. Would this be a problem for the shinkansen? I suppose I'm now expected to reserve seats that has space for luggage at the rear of the seats right?

7. From YouTube videos, it seems that eating is allowed on shinkansen right? Cos my kids always need to eat - what are good snacks that are easily available in Japan and filling and relatively healthy, and doesn't make a huge mess in the eating. I thought of rice balls (provided by kids take to those)... any suggestions?

8. Has anyone tried strollers in snow? Got such thing as detachable skis for strollers? Ha ha... cos I think further north, and later in Dec and at higher altitudes with more rural areas, thick snow on the ground would be present and will need to decide whether to bring the strollers along or not... thanks for any advice...

Thank you every for all the great suggestions!

How old are your kids? 2 strollers? 
My first trip to Japan with my 1 year old baby girl we brought a stroller. Left it in the first hotel and used a baby carrier rest of the trip. never used a stroller ever again. 
Your luggage looks a lot for two adults…

Last time in Japan we will make seat reservations for all our trains on the first day. Never been back to Japan after COVID. Going in sep. 

I used to use hyperdia which tells me which train is Nozomi but I realise it stop offering detail searches in 2022. You can Google hyperdia alternatives but I never tried those. 

On 4/20/2023 at 1:06 PM, teomingern said:

And if I am travelling out every day? Then that will leave me with some days without travel coverage right?

I think even in late Dec, it's quite worth to make the trek up north... would really like to experience what it is like in really cold winter... anyway my wife says once and never again... she doesn't like to return to the same country... heh heh... so that's that... so 28 days lor... 

Eh. U can take a bus to Mt Fuji area. It's a very nice place to hang out for a few days. I took a bus there and rented a car to drive around the lakes. 

My standard plan for every jp trip is to spend a couple of days in Tokyo for shopping. U dun really need a Jr pass during this period. 

If I remember correctly, Tokyo to Hakodate via shinkansen is around 7 to 8 hours. That's 16hrs round trip. I like going Japan so there's always a next trip. But if your wife says otherwise, happy wife happy life!

On 4/20/2023 at 6:51 PM, Wind30 said:

How old are your kids? 2 strollers? 
My first trip to Japan with my 1 year old baby girl we brought a stroller. Left it in the first hotel and used a baby carrier rest of the trip. never used a stroller ever again. 
Your luggage looks a lot for two adults…

Last time in Japan we will make seat reservations for all our trains on the first day. Never been back to Japan after COVID. Going in sep. 

I used to use hyperdia which tells me which train is Nozomi but I realise it stop offering detail searches in 2022. You can Google hyperdia alternatives but I never tried those. 

Kids are 4 & 2... both like to be carried so strollers are good... I have back problems so can't carry my kids for extended periods... my wife usually is the one using the baby carrier... but we've weaned both away from it and to take the stroller...

It's winter leh... so need winter clothes...

Yeah Hyperdia not much use now.... I use Japan Travel by Navitime... not sure how it compares but it's not always accurate... sometimes need to reload the page to get sensible results... sometimes Google maps suggests better connection options...

On 4/20/2023 at 6:58 PM, Stratovarius said:

Eh. U can take a bus to Mt Fuji area. It's a very nice place to hang out for a few days. I took a bus there and rented a car to drive around the lakes. 

My standard plan for every jp trip is to spend a couple of days in Tokyo for shopping. U dun really need a Jr pass during this period. 

If I remember correctly, Tokyo to Hakodate via shinkansen is around 7 to 8 hours. That's 16hrs round trip. I like going Japan so there's always a next trip. But if your wife says otherwise, happy wife happy life!

Based on Japan Travel it's about 6 hours... it's a direct train on the Hokkaido/Tohoku shinkansen...

On 4/20/2023 at 6:08 PM, Mkl22 said:

For Shinkansen, it also depends on where you board. If at Tokyo station which is the 1st stop if you queue early enough, then can grab all the seats. 
for the rest.
for the normal trains, You can reserve seats on some trains, if you can control your time and get on the exact train. But typically only on the longer haul trains you reserve else just make do with whatever. You can’t plan too much. Else it’s not a holiday. It will be just rushing from point A to B and for what? Just to check off that you were there. After a while the kids will get tired and give you hell. IMHO 30day trip with young kids is asking for it. Let’s see who breaks 1st. 🤣

Ok leh... so far I have done 14 day road trips to Malaysia... my kids will always sleep on the road... but I guess I'll find out... heh heh... will report here...

On 4/20/2023 at 4:55 PM, Heartlander said:

To do reservation, just need to provide the source and destination station names, date and time, and number of pax. You do not need to provide the train name and number as the counter staff will read out to you for confirmation. He/she will also advise you on ticket availability and the next possible route if fully booked. You can do a spreadsheet with just above details if you want to look more pro. The counter staff normally speak good english, and you can converse in mandarin if you spot them wearing chinese name tags. After a few days of madness, you will get the hang of it dont worry. But as the chief planner, you will be under stress to pull the trip off haha. To spruce up the trips, you can check for use of free bicycles at certain places if your family can cycle well. And can join those group tours of specific interests lasting a few hours at certain places to make the trip memorable. Plenty of them, in english also have. Just need to do more homework. 

Not with 2 little kids bro... heh heh...

On 4/20/2023 at 9:51 PM, teomingern said:

Not with 2 little kids bro... heh heh...

Understand. If you have young kids then the needs would be different. But to have memorable times, the experience must be immersive for the kids to remember for long. Do not just keep travelling from point A to point B everyday, else your kids will only remember the rushing to catch train part of the trip haha. I mentioned cycling as it is really an experience to do in different terrain as here. I ever took an extended family including an old woman to Nagano area and sneaked in a short cycling segment across those rice field setting flanked by snowy mountains on both sides. The scenario was definitely breath taking and those who went remember me to this day especially the old woman who surprisingly able to keep up with the group. Similar would be going to instant noodle museum to do personalised instant noodle cup. Is like when visiting angmo countries must visit their wineries to do wine tasting events etc. Intro the kids to japanese food would be another way to make the trip memorable for them, eg eating conveyor belt sushi which are cheap and good there, or those takoyaki and all kind of bentos. Even eating in those small restaurants with only counter seats. Something that they can relate when they are back in Singaore. With many youtube videos on activities suitable for kids, should not be too difficult to arrange.

On 4/20/2023 at 9:52 AM, teomingern said:

I guess different strokes for different folks... actually I'm just doing one item a day... cos the travelling time out from my base is about 2-3 hours one way... so each region I see only 4 things... which I think is enough... got enough time to spend properly at each place or item and don't need to rush to get out of hotel and rush back to get a certain train... basically, a more relaxed holiday... if an area has a few items that's cos they're all nearby or along the train route... so they're grouped together and each item probably doesn't take much time to go through... and again for clusters - some items are really optional... over-plan a bit to see if got time then do all...

I am same like you. A fairly relaxed itinerary. For large prefectures and non big cities, I prefer driving as most of the nicer places take too many transfers of trains and infrequent buses, especially in winter, to reach. 

The driving just provide better flexibility eg stopping at random lookout points. Can still have a light itinerary. 

As it is, I am now driving around in Nihon for a holiday. 

Don't know if it is my luck, but both times I rented a small car, but they just give me a larger one. 

On 4/20/2023 at 4:56 PM, teomingern said:

I can tell you that you will surely miss 20% of the planned train timings because of unexpected delays. So it will be good to plan when is the next best train and subsequent connections. 

Happened to me when I landed too. The immigration process took way longer than I expected. Replan on the fly. 

Many super noisy Korean tourists now in Japan. Their loud abrasive voices really disrupt the peace and quiet of the smaller Japanese towns. When the PRCs are let loose, I cannot imagine the chaos.