Ahwhye 5th Gear February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 (edited) On 2/7/2024 at 10:47 AM, Watwheels said: Ave 12 is the more popular choice. Ave 2 less popular. LoL ave 2 mainly caters for woodland residents and some woodland industrial area, while ave 12 caters for woodland, sembawang and many yishun residents and woodland sembawang senoko industrial areas, quite a few times i purposely avoid using ave12 and use admiralty road west or ave 3 to reach bke. Edited February 7, 2024 by Ahwhye ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:03 AM, Ahwhye said: ave 2 mainly caters for woodland residents and some woodland industrial area, while ave 12 caters for woodland, sembawang and many yishun residents and woodland sembawang senoko industrial areas, quite a few times i purposely avoid using ave12 and use admiralty road west or ave 3 to reach bke. It is the mindset. Drivers die die want to use that road. Navigation system also give directions to that road. So jam lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtis 4th Gear February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 Actually, the move in my view is good. Removes uncertainty. But it takes time for ppl to get used to it, after years or even decades of having the mixed use lanes at their current locations. I have observed that even after 1-2 months of the mixed use lane changing to right turn only, some drivers are not following because it has been ingrained in them that they can go straight, plus there is a lane in front of the right turn lane, right after the traffic junction. Actually, the issue can be mitigated, by drawing a chevron road marking in the right turn lane immediately AFTER the traffic junction. So that it is obvious that you can't drive on straight in the right turn lane. Not sure if my explanation is clear, limitation of using words to describe. Anyway, my peeve is that LTA cannot automatically assume that all mixed use lane will become right turn lane. A traffic study needs to be done. In some cases at least in my area, there is very little traffic turning right and having 2 turn right lanes is just unnecessary and slowing down the cars going straight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 10:44 AM, Beehive3783 said: No use one la.. many will still chiong to the front of the right turn lane to cut in, seen so many already. Yeah lah. Black sheep will still be there. I'm talking about the distinct lane directions now compared to the previous old indecisive ones. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 10:15 AM, Tianmo said: You like that say means you never kena those MFs cars with no signal stalk one. First car wants to turn right, but never signal his intention, and drive on the lane that indicates go straight and turn right. Every car behind want to go straight, also driving on this lane because can go straight, and then tio red light. When light turn green, this MF doesn't move because he wants to wait for arrow, then from 2nd car onwards behind all shout KNN and starts to change lane. You never kena before right? Of course still is driver problem, because KNN CBK no signal. But CBK say this lane turn right leh, you want go straight why follow behind me? Of course kana.. I am referring to those last min fine or because the 2 turning lane is more empty and can go further ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:31 AM, Jtis said: Actually, the move in my view is good. Removes uncertainty. But it takes time for ppl to get used to it, after years or even decades of having the mixed use lanes at their current locations. I have observed that even after 1-2 months of the mixed use lane changing to right turn only, some drivers are not following because it has been ingrained in them that they can go straight, plus there is a lane in front of the right turn lane, right after the traffic junction. Actually, the issue can be mitigated, by drawing a chevron road marking in the right turn lane immediately AFTER the traffic junction. So that it is obvious that you can't drive on straight in the right turn lane. Not sure if my explanation is clear, limitation of using words to describe. Anyway, my peeve is that LTA cannot automatically assume that all mixed use lane will become right turn lane. A traffic study needs to be done. In some cases at least in my area, there is very little traffic turning right and having 2 turn right lanes is just unnecessary and slowing down the cars going straight. LTA so lazy and always want to have an easy way to do things. Even they would tell you the 2 turning right lanes is necessary and beneficial based on their simai sai data and study at the junction, they do not listen to end users feedback at all. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:59 AM, yishunite said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/discretionary-right-turn-traffic-junctions-red-amber-green-arrows-change-lta-3217336 I think was that NUS student died accident that cause them to do wholesale shift... well personally I dont think its necessary, 1 or 2 accidents at 3am thanks to drunk driver and they change our entire system 24 hrs per day every single junction where possible because of those tiny number of incidents, meanwhile you now have completely empty roads (some impossible to speed because they are so close to another junction or in ulu estate where traffic is super light) all with red light control What was the cost to taxpayer? This why gahmen need more GST loh Yes you're right, LTA is really made up of idiots with no common sense. The right turn arrow should be installed at big junctions with blind spots and obscured views due to whatever reason. Instead they install the red turn arrows at every tom dick and harry junction, like the small junctions you mentioned. Those junctions have no blind spots with clear view of oncoming traffic, what are the red turn arrows for? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 I support this move. Most of the time, drivers don’t have common sense 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 12:32 PM, Beehive3783 said: Yes you're right, LTA is really made up of idiots with no common sense. The right turn arrow should be installed at big junctions with blind spots and obscured views due to whatever reason. Instead they install the red turn arrows at every tom dick and harry junction, like the small junctions you mentioned. Those junctions have no blind spots with clear view of oncoming traffic, what are the red turn arrows for? Like i said, LTA like to have easy way to do things, they do not use their brain to think if it is necessary or it is working or not. Anyway, i doubts those people in LTA have brains when i look at how they managed all the traffic lights and road design on our roads. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 1:28 PM, 13177 said: Like i said, LTA like to have easy way to do things, they do not use their brain to think if it is necessary or it is working or not. Anyway, i doubts those people in LTA have brains when i look at how they managed all the traffic lights and road design on our roads. Just study hard for a degree, ace the interview to get in, then yes sir yes sir three bags full for a rosy career 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 2:39 PM, yishunite said: Wrong. 99.999% of the time driver behaves correctly. Those millions spent on changing traffic light was to account for the 0.001% times they dont I don’t argued with your number as it is baseless. Most drivers are incompetent. By removing the discretion, it will be a safer road for all of us. A lot of times, our drivers is worst than kopi-o license Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
iceraider 3rd Gear February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 If LTA dont change and accident happen, ppl gonna complain and say LTA fault for not foreseeing such prob. Then now LTA changed most junction and ppl also complain why LTA changed. Even with the changed, there are still so many goondus drivers who jus turn when light turn green for straight only.. i jus saw one two days back and the van driver was ferrying handicapped person somemore. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 What I have problem with. is the lane with go straight/right turn marking. Then the go straight bcum green, while the right turn is still red. And the idiot in front of you wants to turn right and is too fking lazy to signal. Then many cars are stuck behind him, wanting to go straight. The stupid signal light timing should be green all at the same time, when there's such a lane to mitigate selfish, inconsiderate idiots. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 3:14 PM, Kb27 said: What I have problem with. is the lane with go straight/right turn marking. Then the go straight bcum green, while the right turn is still red. And the idiot in front of you wants to turn right and is too fking lazy to signal. Then many cars are stuck behind him, wanting to go straight. The stupid signal light timing should be green all at the same time, when there's such a lane to mitigate selfish, inconsiderate idiots. IMHO. I want to capture one incident to send to TP. So far no chance. 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 3:14 PM, Kb27 said: What I have problem with. is the lane with go straight/right turn marking. Then the go straight bcum green, while the right turn is still red. And the idiot in front of you wants to turn right and is too fking lazy to signal. Then many cars are stuck behind him, wanting to go straight. The stupid signal light timing should be green all at the same time, when there's such a lane to mitigate selfish, inconsiderate idiots. Too bad LTA don't see and think what you see and think on shared lane. They still stupidly set the light timing one green one red and jam up all the cars on that lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 3:52 PM, 13177 said: Too bad LTA don't see and think what you see and think on shared lane. They still stupidly set the light timing one green one red and jam up all the cars on that lane. Most of the time, it is a CBK issue. It has nothing to do LTA. The easy way out is to remove these lanes. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 3:52 PM, 13177 said: Too bad LTA don't see and think what you see and think on shared lane. They still stupidly set the light timing one green one red and jam up all the cars on that lane. It's worse when there's heavy traffic. So the guy in front refuse to move bcuz he wants to turn right. The cars behind try to filter out, but no chance, bcuz the left is constantly moving. Then he got no choice but to wait. Then now the straight going turns red, and turn right goes green. Of cuz, he's going to stop there bcuz he wants to go straight, and the cars behind want to turn right cannot, Must wait until next green. What a stupid way to design traffic junction. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:15 AM, Tianmo said: You like that say means you never kena those MFs cars with no signal stalk one. First car wants to turn right, but never signal his intention, and drive on the lane that indicates go straight and turn right. Every car behind want to go straight, also driving on this lane because can go straight, and then tio red light. When light turn green, this MF doesn't move because he wants to wait for arrow, then from 2nd car onwards behind all shout KNN and starts to change lane. You never kena before right? Of course still is driver problem, because KNN CBK no signal. But CBK say this lane turn right leh, you want go straight why follow behind me? Pray they get rotten fingers so they can say they can't touch the signal stalks. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...