Malaysia VEP discussion.

Hammerhammer

On 7/28/2024 at 11:29 PM, Benarsenal said:

Yes so why can't they do similar to Autopass for Singaporeans going into Malaysia. So much easier to implement.

I don't drive into Malaysia myself anyway but just thinking about efficiency POV.

Whose efficiency POV?

Autopass is built on our 1G cashcard.  Road tax and insurance information needs to be updated annually.

VEP is built on TnG RFID.  It only requires renewal every 5 years (as compared to ours annually).

On 7/29/2024 at 12:29 AM, Benarsenal said:

Yes so why can't they do similar to Autopass for Singaporeans going into Malaysia. So much easier to implement.

I don't drive into Malaysia myself anyway but just thinking about efficiency POV.

Both requires a lot of information to be provided. Between a tag that is mailed to you and pasted to your headlamp and an autopass that needs to be collected in person, is there a lot of difference? Doesn't bother me much (i am more concerned about data security).

VEP RFID can be used to automatically pay RC and road tolls via TnG wallet, in terms of functionality and convenience, it probably beats Autopass. 

On 7/29/2024 at 12:29 AM, Benarsenal said:

IMHO.
Not sure how much data Autopass capture but my reading on VEP, sure capture a hell lot of data.😆
I think the data is useful when it comes to summons.
VEP is like create a LTA in Malaysia. 😆

On 7/29/2024 at 7:12 AM, Voodooman said:

Both requires a lot of information to be provided. Between a tag that is mailed to you and pasted to your headlamp and an autopass that needs to be collected in person, is there a lot of difference? Doesn't bother me much (i am more concerned about data security).

VEP RFID can be used to automatically pay RC and road tolls via TnG wallet, in terms of functionality and convenience, it probably beats Autopass. 

There is a difference. Autopass is a card you carry on your person, so there's some flexibility. If they want they can make it an e-card/app on your phone. 

Enforcing an installation of hardware on personal car feels like there could be so many potential problems. If you get into a minor accident and your headlight/windscreen is damaged then you have to go through the whole hoo-ha of application and installation again.

On 7/29/2024 at 9:03 AM, Benarsenal said:

There is a difference. Autopass is a card you carry on your person, so there's some flexibility. If they want they can make it an e-card/app on your phone. 

Enforcing an installation of hardware on personal car feels like there could be so many potential problems. If you get into a minor accident and your headlight/windscreen is damaged then you have to go through the whole hoo-ha of application and installation again.

There is no perfect system, there are tradeoffs in every policies.  I am sure the Msian drivers also kpkb on our Autopass when first implemented.  

Don't disagree with the inconvenience of broken headlight but it is what it is. Truths be told, I rather deal with such rare occurrence once in a blue moon than having to update Autopass every year, as pointed out by IL6.  

VEP almost transparent tag really doesn't bother me at all. I see more benefits than inconvenience (and it has happened to me).  If they scrapped VEP RFID one day, I am pretty sure I will sign up for TnG RFID or something similar.

Edited by Voodooman

On 7/28/2024 at 2:40 PM, Voodooman said:

I am aware but they have built a TnG RFID system for local use (like TnG card earlier) and of course it makes perfect sense to allow VEP RFID to tap on the same payment infrastructure.  We can use at CIQ and also to pay tolls on highways, if not, they will need to built another payment system just for VEP. 

It is a clever and cost effective method simply cos of the scale and the low cost of RFID tags... it's always the execution that leaves a lot to be desired... oh well... otherwise we'll be part of them already lar...

London enforces their Congestion charge with cameras that recognize number plates... which was what Malaysia tried to do at first but for some reason that broke down (probably a mixture of corruption & immature technology)... this would have been a piecemeal programme specifically designed to only work at the two land borders between Singapore & Malaysia... and it wouldn't have solved any of the problems it was supposed to since Singaporeans changed cars so rapidly when it was implemented... capturing the car plate did not help with capturing the driver nor the owner since there was no database...

Singapore also explored cameras but the technology was in its infancy when we had the ERP and hence gantries were tested to work the fastest flawlessly at speed (although people still slow down on approaching the gantries)... London eschewed such gantries I think cos of their heritage building codes and space constraints within the central London areas... 

So really RFID technology is the current most effective method...

The current system requires the owner to upload the official owner data set from LTA which means that regardless of driver, the owner of the car will be nailed for any offences... the Malaysian side leaves you to figure how to split the fine with whoever you claimed drove your car... hence it's more comprehensive and less prone to evasion of offences... the downside is your data is with a foreign government... although in reality, that's exactly the case whenever we travel around the world with our passport details being captured automatically by the machines all over the world...

However as I have said, the execution is really very poorly done... but I guess it will get done eventually like the TnG RFID system for the locals... 

On 7/29/2024 at 11:28 AM, Fcw75 said:

Want to go in don’t complain. Can always choose not to go in or by other means ma.

It is ok to rant but some of the comments I hear on FB and elsewhere are quite uncalled for, reflecting a sense of entitlement. 

Don't drive better and leave JB roads to cheongsters like us 😂.

On 7/26/2024 at 4:31 PM, Unfazed said:

Never try never know. Also ok if they reject. Not as if I stick it on permanently on a wrong place. I'm already being very obedient enough hor with this silly VEP thing. But I can still accommodate certain standards of stupidity as I'm just less stupid. When deal with stupid system, we cannot keep thinking we are clever. 😉

If peel off and the stick on the headlight, can tell the difference compared to temporary sticking without peeling the tag from the backing.

From the reports which I have read so far, seems they are quite particular about the photos submitted.

On 7/27/2024 at 8:17 AM, Mkl22 said:

What do you expect stupid system created by stupid people. JPJ like our LTA run by clowns. 

That's Malaysia Boleh for everyone. At most, tak boleh make until boleh lor. Actually the rest no need complain so much one lah, can't read then on the spot peel off stick lor. Those jin scared one, either mai apply mai drive in lor like some said. Those jin obedient one will early early do lah, agar agar the angle sui sui before stick lah, come forum ask this that lah, ask my sticker stick like that sui bo lah. Then voila, JPJ slip syst change again and everyone goes lady gaga. 😉

Our people always like that one, haven't go onto the ground already gong got this that...we machiam gonna be like real like that. Ok lor, see how many cars they willing to turn back lor, we got lose anything or not? Let them test our gullibility. 😁

I say, they want us apply we just apply lor, they never reply lagi better, I just print out my acknowledgement go in. We apply mah, we didn't get reply mah. 🙂

On 7/29/2024 at 7:12 AM, Voodooman said:

Actually read this thread so many complaints on execution,

What do we need to submit for personal data for VEP? 

Major concern is data theft, as i do want to consider driving in once in a blue moon. 

On 7/29/2024 at 5:58 PM, Unfazed said:

That's Malaysia Boleh for everyone. At most, tak boleh make until boleh lor. Actually the rest no need complain so much one lah, can't read then on the spot peel off stick lor. Those jin scared one, either mai apply mai drive in lor like some said. Those jin obedient one will early early do lah, agar agar the angle sui sui before stick lah, come forum ask this that lah, ask my sticker stick like that sui bo lah. Then voila, JPJ slip syst change again and everyone goes lady gaga. 😉

Our people always like that one, haven't go onto the ground already gong got this that...we machiam gonna be like real like that. Ok lor, see how many cars they willing to turn back lor, we got lose anything or not? Let them test our gullibility. 😁

I say, they want us apply we just apply lor, they never reply lagi better, I just print out my acknowledgement go in. We apply mah, we didn't get reply mah. 🙂

Singaporeans all kiasee. Too well trained and not daring or Kwai lan enough. Must always follow law. That’s why our scholars always get makaned. Need more of the scholars to go overseas to work to get some iron in them. 

On 7/29/2024 at 6:00 PM, Lala81 said:

Major concern is data theft, as i do want to consider driving in once in a blue moon. 

Just go la. As long as rm50 can settle I consider it as holiday tax! 🤣

even you have VEP, if they want to collect their pocket money they will find ways and means. 

On 7/29/2024 at 6:00 PM, Lala81 said:

Your car's complete registration data = license plate number, engine number, chassis number, COE number & insurance policy number

Your personal data = name, date of birth,  NRIC number, passport number, address, mobile number, email address.

Basically whatever is on your car and your passport lor... nothing you haven't surrendered whenever you travel anywhere in the world...

It's just in the nature of Singaporeans to complain, among which are those who do go in and break all the traffic laws, especially in relation to speeding, and so don't want something like this implemented, and they think that if they're intransigent about the application process, it will go away... most of us just want to respect the law in a foreign country and get on with our lives... so these of us comply and apply but unfortunately the execution is really quite seriously problematic... giving rise to a lot of angst and uncertainty... 

As Bro Unfazed said - got acknowledgment letter can already lor... after all we have all the email threads showing no reply from the Malaysian authorities... what else do they want us to do? Now the ball is in their court - tidy up their own house... don't say Singaporeans don't respect their laws and don't bother to apply, etc...

On 7/29/2024 at 6:27 PM, Mkl22 said:

Just go la. As long as rm50 can settle I consider it as holiday tax! 🤣

even you have VEP, if they want to collect their pocket money they will find ways and means. 

Aiyah... bro... you got money, good for you lor... don't spoil market for the rest of us lor... otherwise every time go in abang also expect RM50 hor... very siong for me leh...

On 7/29/2024 at 6:44 PM, teomingern said:

Your car's complete registration data = license plate number, engine number, chassis number, COE number & insurance policy number

Your personal data = name, date of birth,  NRIC number, passport number, address, mobile number, email address.

Basically whatever is on your car and your passport lor... nothing you haven't surrendered whenever you travel anywhere in the world...

It's just in the nature of Singaporeans to complain, among which are those who do go in and break all the traffic laws, especially in relation to speeding, and so don't want something like this implemented, and they think that if they're intransigent about the application process, it will go away... most of us just want to respect the law in a foreign country and get on with our lives... so these of us comply and apply but unfortunately the execution is really quite seriously problematic... giving rise to a lot of angst and uncertainty... 

As Bro Unfazed said - got acknowledgment letter can already lor... after all we have all the email threads showing no reply from the Malaysian authorities... what else do they want us to do? Now the ball is in their court - tidy up their own house... don't say Singaporeans don't respect their laws and don't bother to apply, etc...

Didn't realise so much information is given out. 

Then no thanks for me. I thought it's just passport number which is still acceptable. 

Won't surrender NRIC number etc unnecessarily.