Slowcat 1st Gear November 5 Share November 5 Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 5 Share November 5 On 11/5/2025 at 9:07 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. For charging cost, look at your home and office charger operator and do the math lo. Charging rate can differ btw operator up to 20 cents/kwh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear November 5 Share November 5 On 11/5/2025 at 9:07 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. Tyre change is entirely up to you. The prices between premium brands and budget ones vary by more than double. There's no need for EV labelled tyres either. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic November 5 Share November 5 On 11/5/2025 at 9:07 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. If you need to ask about running costs at current car prices (unless you clock 50k km a year), you should not buy a car.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 5 Share November 5 SL7 has a relatively dim rear running light. I noticed this few weeks ago, pointed it out to my wife. She agreed also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 5 Share November 5 (edited) On 11/5/2025 at 9:07 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. From an actual owner of SL7 (Premium ver., not the awd). Car does about 15 kwH for 100 km. (can lower, I drive straining very hard not to overspeed and kena demerit, i noticed if u do 80 and below, drops to 13 and below on highways) 1 kwH is about 66 cents. Add in charging inefficiency of 15% (this is what I see from my own car) 1kwH is about 76 cts Basically it will cost you 1 dollar per 10km for electricity unless you have landed property.** 1st 2 yr or 3yr (cant rem), BYD gives you 25% charging discount so maybe 75 cents per 10 km. Change tyre cost? Take the dimensions, call Leong Seng or your favourite tyre dealer. I expect about 1.4k to 1.6k per set if you want higher end like Michelin. **Yes you want drive this porky pig, dont expect to save petrol costs vs a Yaris cross or Sienta. Advantage is in the maintenance, not the fuel. Edited November 5 by Ake109 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowcat 1st Gear November 13 Share November 13 Hi all, thank u for the views. As of now the options are 1. SL7 2. Renew my COE on my XT 3. SL6 - Hybrid or maybe a Harrier Hybrid Main concern for SL7 is the range in Malaysia, as I go up the east coast quite regularly to Rompin / Pekan. Will do further research. Thanks again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 13 Share November 13 On 11/5/2025 at 12:14 PM, Zerstorer said: Tyre change is entirely up to you. The prices between premium brands and budget ones vary by more than double. There's no need for EV labelled tyres either. I read comments that non EV tyres wear out faster cos they aren't built for EV, which are are typically much heavier and cater for the high torque. Any truth to this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 13 Share November 13 On 11/13/2025 at 1:37 PM, Solar said: I read comments that non EV tyres wear out faster cos they aren't built for EV, which are are typically much heavier and cater for the high torque. Any truth to this? i guess so. i drove like a madman cornering like crazy in a model 3... didnt see any wear. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 13 Share November 13 @Solar On 11/13/2025 at 1:37 PM, Solar said: I read comments that non EV tyres wear out faster cos they aren't built for EV, which are are typically much heavier and cater for the high torque. Any truth to this? No, not true. All tyres have their load rating. As long as you buy a model with sufficient load rating for your EV weight, its fine. One unique aspect of EV tyre is the sound insulating foam inside the tyre, unless you are super princess and the pea cannot tahan wind noise (and our 90kph limit really doesnt get much windnoise unlike zee Germans and their autobahns), that foam is extra cost, weight and another failure point (the foam can detach or crumble inside tayar). 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 13 Share November 13 (edited) On 11/13/2025 at 12:03 PM, Slowcat said: Hi all, thank u for the views. As of now the options are 1. SL7 2. Renew my COE on my XT 3. SL6 - Hybrid or maybe a Harrier Hybrid Main concern for SL7 is the range in Malaysia, as I go up the east coast quite regularly to Rompin / Pekan. Will do further research. Thanks again. If you want to option 3 and buy SL6, I would say please go test the J7 hybrid. I tested SL6 and J7 back to back and think the drivetrain for the J7 is better. New RAV4 coming next year liao, can also wait for that. Edited November 13 by Ake109 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 13 Share November 13 On 11/5/2025 at 9:07 AM, Slowcat said: Hi all, I am a ICE driver contemplating change to SL7 next year May when my COE ends. Like to know from current owners how much in $$ terms is the running cost for charging and servicing like change tyres etc? I do understand that servicing numbers may be non-existent as BYD comes with packages but eg change tyres (special tyres?) etc. Also monthly charging costs for say 15k to 20k a year kinda mileage. Appreciate any info. Thank you. This bro has a lot of SL7 beedios. I believe it’ll be useful in your decision making Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear November 13 Share November 13 On 11/13/2025 at 1:37 PM, Solar said: I read comments that non EV tyres wear out faster cos they aren't built for EV, which are are typically much heavier and cater for the high torque. Any truth to this? Higher torque and weight will definitely wear out tyres faster, however it also depends on what types of tyres you are using. Some EV manufactures do not even supply their cars from factory "EV" rated tyres but simply UHP tyres which are suitable for the load rating and torque. The only thing "EV" rated tyres tend to have is lower noise due to both tread pitch and foam liner as well as a formula for lower rolling resistance. There are numerous tyre tests online which show that the differences between EV and normal tyres are much closer than the marketing claims. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 25 Share November 25 Anyone driving the SL7, going onto 1 year soon? How fast are the tyres wearing out? I want to change to better Michelins (SL7 premium on staggered setup). But like size damn odd, not many tyre models fit the oddball 245/50/19 fronts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 25 Share November 25 On 11/5/2025 at 12:40 PM, Lala81 said: SL7 has a relatively dim rear running light. I noticed this few weeks ago, pointed it out to my wife. She agreed also. So is Atto 3. Among other cars at night, this model rear lights appear dimmer. Still notice the car with the lights but just dimmer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 25 Share November 25 On 11/13/2025 at 12:03 PM, Slowcat said: Hi all, thank u for the views. As of now the options are 1. SL7 2. Renew my COE on my XT 3. SL6 - Hybrid or maybe a Harrier Hybrid Main concern for SL7 is the range in Malaysia, as I go up the east coast quite regularly to Rompin / Pekan. Will do further research. Thanks again. Personally among your options. I would picked Harrier Hybrid, given Toyota's long term portfolio, reliability and parts availability and servicing shouldn't be a problem. If your XT still provides you the reliability and economical compare to buying a new car, I would pick the renewal option. Not that I don't trust Chinese cars but their portfolio has yet to be proven and I don't get over hype over their features because I prefer essentials and more reliable features. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 26 Share November 26 On 11/25/2025 at 11:45 AM, Ake109 said: Anyone driving the SL7, going onto 1 year soon? How fast are the tyres wearing out? I want to change to better Michelins (SL7 premium on staggered setup). But like size damn odd, not many tyre models fit the oddball 245/50/19 fronts I changed my 3.5 month old stock tyre (mileage 3285km) - Hankook S3 Evo EV. Couldn’t tahan the itch. Yours 1 year liao, can change lah haha. For your staggered size, only PZ4 or P7C2 I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 26 Share November 26 On 11/26/2025 at 4:33 PM, Theoldjaffa said: I changed my 3.5 month old stock tyre (mileage 3285km) - Hankook S3 Evo EV. Couldn’t tahan the itch. Yours 1 year liao, can change lah haha. For your staggered size, only PZ4 or P7C2 I guess. Its damn f' up. My cockball size, have Hankook S3 Evo EV for front, and Hakook S3 Evo SUV for rear..... KNS The others are damn old models like Michelin PS4 SUV. All the 2018/2019 old models. My car is 2 mth old lah. But I itchy itchy also. I know I wont be able to than till 20 or 30k km de. So researching now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...