BYD Sealion 7

Bmxcar

On 9/6/2025 at 11:43 AM, Ake109 said:

Really ah, for a 15k price diff, have to give up ~60% horsepower, 10kWH battery capacity, nappa leather, HUD (and dunno what else).

Not worth it leh. If cannot stretch that last 15k shouldnt be buying a 200k car anyway.

The Cat B SL7 oredi wasn't exactly very shiok to drive. Somemore now down on power by 60%....haha...enjoy the scenery 

Prices are so crazy now. The BIG base.. so $20k cheaper for Cat A and $700 a year cheaper road tax… doesn’t sound a lot. RELATIVE to total.

its less than 10% cheaper than Cat B SL7 price…

Why settle… already paying the $200.. 

they priced the Cat A quite high, price difference basically COE price gap nia.

Latest: VES cutting EEAI also cutting.. 10k higher next year.. its going to the moon!

Edited by Yixiang1

On 9/8/2025 at 6:06 PM, Volvobrick said:

Very suitable for lao nang drivers.... 

Most, if not all, BYD buyers are switching to EV for the first time 

Naturally sure scare this scare that. So safety in numbers is the best bet. Maciam how folks naturally flock to toyota 

So a Cat A SL7 will sure sell like hot crispy jln kayu prata....no matter how slow it is

On 9/8/2025 at 8:04 PM, Soya said:

Most, if not all, BYD buyers are switching to EV for the first time 

Naturally sure scare this scare that. So safety in numbers is the best bet. Maciam how folks naturally flock to toyota 

So a Cat A SL7 will sure sell like hot crispy jln kayu prata....no matter how slow it is

Why not. It's a valid concern.

Polestar may go bankrupt soon lol

https://www.barrons.com/articles/polestar-stock-ev-going-concern-cdc0cd3a

On 9/8/2025 at 8:17 PM, Lala81 said:

It is a valid concern for anyone going EV for the first time hence that's why I say a slow Cat A EV at 200k will still sell well

Polestar's problem is that it is simply too expensive n not special enough. When I first saw the Polestar 4 at the motor show it looked like a 250k car to me. Not bad, slightly premium feel from the usual china EV but nothing outstanding

When the SE said it was close to 400k I laughed n wished him good luck....(really i did coz he's gonna need it trying to sell it more ex than a Macan EV)

On 9/8/2025 at 8:17 PM, Lala81 said:

Does it mean Traffic Police is going to lose support for their fleet of PS2s? 🤣

But, actually, if one bothers to google a bit, Polestar's plummeting stock prices is nothing new to EV only brands. Rivian, Lucid and many Chinese EV brands (NIO, XPENG etc) are also experiencing the same thing as world-wide demand for EVs cool. There is just less hype and hot money pouring into these EVs brands as what we witnessed post COVID. 

One would also have to see who are the backers of Polestar and why this company can continue to burn cash. Volvo Cars still has a 18% stake with the other majority held by Geely. The worst that can happen to Polestar is they get delisted. Geely is also likely to ask Volvo Cars to absorb Polestar as a performance sub-brand, and with Geely as a majority stake-holder, they can write off the losses so that the P&L impact to Volvo Cars's books doesn't become a drag. 

At the end of the day, to us customers, Polestar will simply cease to be an independent brand, but its continued existence will be up for re-interpretation. 

On 9/6/2025 at 7:27 AM, Soya said:

O-100 11.8s....LOL

That's like bullock cart speed in the EV world 

yeah.. even with 380nm with 2 tonnes weight.. u have to be really smitten to part with 194K to get a cat A car that is 130bhp.

On 9/8/2025 at 8:31 PM, Soya said:

It is a valid concern for anyone going EV for the first time hence that's why I say a slow Cat A EV at 200k will still sell well

Polestar's problem is that it is simply too expensive n not special enough. When I first saw the Polestar 4 at the motor show it looked like a 250k car to me. Not bad, slightly premium feel from the usual china EV but nothing outstanding

When the SE said it was close to 400k I laughed n wished him good luck....(really i did coz he's gonna need it trying to sell it more ex than a Macan EV)

pricing overseas just as ridiculous? or just singapore. 

On 9/6/2025 at 11:43 AM, Ake109 said:

Really ah, for a 15k price diff, have to give up ~60% horsepower, 10kWH battery capacity, nappa leather, HUD (and dunno what else).

Not worth it leh. If cannot stretch that last 15k shouldnt be buying a 200k car anyway.

But I tell you, many will buy the joker Cat A Sealion.

On 9/8/2025 at 8:31 PM, Soya said:

400k MSRP is it? PS4 now about $290k after discounts/overtrade all in. Cheaper than Macan EV lah. 

On 9/9/2025 at 2:55 PM, Tohto said:

But I tell you, many will buy the joker Cat A Sealion.

@Tohto I dunno leh. The price difference is really too small at 15k and 700sgd per year road tax savings.

You lose 57% power, nappa leather seats, HUD and not just battery capacity but because that blade battery fewer cells, your charging speed for both AC and DC is also down. Then you carry the same dead weight of that 308hp capable motor.

For 15k. You have to be in that unique position of die die want a Sealion 7, but cannot afford 215k but can loan max to 200k position sweet-spot (more like bitter-spot). I think they should have priced it at 190k. A 25k difference still can talk. Unless they think bringing it within 15k of the Atto 3 and M6 will tank those sales.

I will wait and see how much Cat A SL7 they sell. Very curious how it turns out. I might be reading my fellow countrymen all wrong.

Its a sign of how pee-sai small our market is, that BYD cant be bothered to presumably change that few lines (someone correct me if its a BIG BIG programming job) to let pee-sai have a 150hp Cat A Sealion7.

Edited by Ake109

On 9/9/2025 at 5:14 PM, Ake109 said:

@Tohto I dunno leh. The price difference is really too small at 15k and 700sgd per year road tax savings.

You lose 57% power, nappa leather seats, HUD and not just battery capacity but because that blade battery fewer cells, your charging speed for both AC and DC is also down. Then you carry the same dead weight of that 308hp capable motor.

For 15k. You have to be in that unique position of die die want a Sealion 7, but cannot afford 215k but can loan max to 200k position sweet-spot (more like bitter-spot). I think they should have priced it at 190k. A 25k difference still can talk. Unless they think bringing it within 15k of the Atto 3 and M6 will tank those sales.

I will wait and see how much Cat A SL7 they sell. Very curious how it turns out. I might be reading my fellow countrymen all wrong.

Its a sign of how pee-sai small our market is, that BYD cant be bothered to presumably change that few lines (someone correct me if its a BIG BIG programming job) to let pee-sai have a 150hp Cat A Sealion7.

Cat A Juniper is 300kg lighter than SL7.

if u are talking about cat A category for that kinda proper mid sized car, i think only Tesla will feel significantly less compromised. 

On 9/9/2025 at 5:26 PM, Lala81 said:

Cat A Juniper is 300kg lighter than SL7.

if u are talking about cat A category for that kinda proper mid sized car, i think only Tesla will feel significantly less compromised. 

And Tesla bothered to make it 150ps instead of lazy use same 134hp programming as Nepalese SL7.

On 9/9/2025 at 3:01 PM, Lethalstrike said:

400k MSRP is it? PS4 now about $290k after discounts/overtrade all in. Cheaper than Macan EV lah. 

Dunno la. SE say one. Probably some part timer employed juz for the motorshow n bodoh bodoh quoted sticker price 

In any case at 290k (probably test drive unit aka "management car") it's still too expensive....

On 9/9/2025 at 5:35 PM, Soya said:

Dunno la. SE say one. Probably some part timer employed juz for the motorshow n bodoh bodoh quoted sticker price 

In any case at 290k (probably test drive unit aka "management car") it's still too expensive....

I noticed the more 'conti' brands tend to do this. Have a list price or sgcarmart price much higher than what they will quote you on showroom.

Meanwhile, the 'non-conti' brands tend to do it the other way, advertise the non-GTD COE, low trim prices.

On 9/9/2025 at 5:35 PM, Soya said:

Brand new. Display unit is most likely the showroom units without mileage.

Usually test drive car or journalist car they will say the usual management unit. 

image.thumb.png.d2162ea33fb1a64ac0c8abe325979efc.png